We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a disappointment~”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
GuestHouse Inn & Suites Eugene / Springfield
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Springfield
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a disappointment~”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I have stayed here before and have to say it is now very run down~ there is mold in the shower and the room and hallways have a dank musty smell. I had a kitchenette with no cup's or spoons? only 4 small plates and 4 large cereal bowls? No toaster. Kinda weird. The TV cable went off and on all morning ? The Ice machine were all out of order? 90 degree day. Pool was inviting but locked up? When I asked the front office they said it is open today until 1am. With the anticipation of swimming after our out door event a swim was warranted, My daughter did go buy a swim suit to swim when we got back the pool was locked. We went into the office to ask about it being locked was told it was closed for the season. Funny though when we left today it was open and folks were swimming??? Asked the front desk gal and she said it was open for another week?? We were bummed~ The place use to have a great continental breakfast which now is pure carbs? This use to be excellent place~ sad to see this place so run down! Location is good~ Staff are all mixed up and unable to answer the simple questions all trying to ask who I talked to None were informed of the current plan ie: the pool~~Also to add was that they lost our reservations we made last year~ their computer crashed? ~ Lucky for us~ I guess~ they had rooms available!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rowehall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie P, Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites Eugene / Springfield, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
I'm really sorry to hear about the confusion you faced with the pool. We were supposed to close it down after labor day weekend, but because we had so many guests asking about it and wanting to swim we made the executive decision to reopen the pool for another week. We should have been more communicative with the employees, something we are working very hard on getting fixed. We are working on getting more fruits into our breakfast. We are working on improving the hotel, were starting with new carpets and security cameras, hopefully you will stop by and give us another chance in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    15
    23
    25
    29
See reviews for
33
23
18
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

Read the earlier reviews and was a little bit nervous but we were pretty satisfied here. We arrived late in the night but there was someone at the desk to check us in with no problem. The property still uses an old-fashioned key! The rooms are a little small but the beds are comfortable and the pillows were nice fluffy and firm. Everything looked quite clean-no funny smells, AC works, big flat screen TV. Free Wi-Fi - I'm getting a pretty good signal right now. Toiletries included shampoo and conditioner (no body moisturizer) There is a continental complimentary in the morning. BEST OF ALL, THEY HAVE BLACKOUT CURTAINS!
No fridge or microwave in the room, BTW but there is a restaurant attached to the motel and a Shari's restaurant across the street. Complimentary breakfast in the morning included yogurt, make your own waffles, biscuits and gravy, fruit, packaged oatmeal, assorted beverages- pretty good for free. Looks like they may allow pets because I saw a jar full of dog biscuits at the check in counter.
For the price, it was great. Just remember it's a 2 star motel, not the hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie P, Front Office Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites Eugene / Springfield, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you so much for your positive review, I'm glad to see all your needs were met while you stayed with us. We actually just switched shampoo/conditioner types and added a new type of body moisturizer to put in all of the rooms! And yes, you can bring a pet, it's a one time fee of $25 for the stay! Again, we really appreciate your encouraging words, we are looking into new carpets and working on improving other areas of the hotel, hopefully you will come check it out! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roma, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights for a Ducks game. Arrived in Eugene around 8:30 am. We were a bit nervous on arrival because we didn't know if rooms would be ready for a quick nap before game time. Thankfully, we were able to check in early and get some shut eye before the 7:30 pm kickoff. The rooms were fairly clean and the bed was fine. The whole place did seem quite dated and might need a bit of a facelift. It was a bit noisy with people coming back late after a big win; which was to be expected. Close to all your major food chains so you didn't have to travel around too much. Overall, a nice enough stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tjs010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie P, Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites Eugene / Springfield, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Thank you for your positive review. We are currently updating the hotel. We hope you will come stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

They have a sign up that says "Excuse our renovation". Trouble is, the sign looks 30 years old. First room they gave us reeked of whiskey with maybe some cologne poured over it to cover it up. When I told the manager (with missing teeth) he didn't act surprised, but gave us another room. Rooms have no chains on doors and regular keys with room number etched in; any previous guest could make a copy. This is not part of the Shilo chain; they bought it away from the franchise. In a run down strip mall area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Briscoe J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie P, Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites Eugene / Springfield, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Thank you for your review. We are currently remodeling. As of right now we are painting the halls. Then from there we are going to update alot of things. We are very sorry for the issues. We do hope you will come back in the future and give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Springfield hotels

Hampshire
Level Contributor
117 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We used this hotel twice during our holiday in the USA. The primary reason we chose this hotel was because it had had a free shuttle to and from the airport. If there is nobody to drive their own bus then they arrange a taxi for you (free of charge). We were amazed that this service is offered 24/7 and we were certainly relieved that it was because our flight arrival at Eugene was 23.55hrs.

We found the hotel rooms to be spotlessly clean, large and quiet. OK the carpet in the halls maybe rather old but you don't sleep in the hallway!

Although we didn't use the pool it was nicely screened off from the car park and had numerous chairs to just sit and enjoy the sun.

Breakfast was the usual cold continental style which was fine at the price we paid for the room.

The biggest problem at this hotel are the staff who are on duty outside of normal working hours. They are just caretakers and are much less knowledgeable than the day staff. Upon our arrival (01.30 hrs) they were unable to find our booking which was the last thing we needed after we'd been up for over 24 hours. Fortunately they were able to give us another room. The lady on the following morning explained that there had recently been a computer problem and all the bookings taken via the central Shilo Inn website had been lost in the transfer however she was able to access our original booking from another system, something the night staff we unaware of.

We had similar issue on our second visit when we checked out early in the morning. Same guy and same problem, he couldn't find our booking even though we were checking out! He also said there was no taxi booked to take us to the airport which was untrue because we had watched the lady phone it through the previous afternoon. In the end we found our own name on the list he was reading and thankfully the taxi arrived on time. We also found that many of the breakfast items hadn't been put out because we were too early although I wouldn't consider 7.30 to be particularly early.

In conclusion we feel that the accommodation and cleanliness of the hotel is fine but don't expect things to be running smoothly outside of 9am to 5pm. Given this hotel appears to cater for people using the airport the night staff really should be more knowledgeable about the procedures at the hotel and somebody other than the night porter ought to get the breakfast items out earlier.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hampshire_TravelHog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie P, Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites Eugene / Springfield, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
We are very sorry for the inconvience.Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. The General Manager and I will solve this issues right away. We look forward to hopefully serving you in the future. We are very sorry and hope you will give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

I normally like Shilo inn's primarily due to their veteran's discount. In this case it was a mistake. I am not used to facial hardware and tattoos on the hotel staff. The gardener must have had a medial emergency because the shrubbery pruning s were left where they fell and were still there when we left the next day. Touch up paint at least, as well soap and water would work wonders on the woodwork and windows. The whole place needs a top to bottom cleaning and updated furniture. Don,t bother with the poor quality breakfast.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jngbrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie P, Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites Eugene / Springfield, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
we are sorry about the issues that came up while you were here. We are currently working on updating the hotel. We will be confronting the staff and the problems and working on fixing them. We hope you will give us another try in the near future. Again We are really sorry. and Thank you for bringing these things to my attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Dirty hallways, dirty carpet. Old & run down. Glad I did not pay full price of $109-$119. Wifi did not work in our room. Bathroom was recently redone which was nice. Cold biscuits & gravy, cereal for breakfast. Outdoor pool very cold. Staff was pleasant. Would not stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank I_luv_fit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie P, Manager at GuestHouse Inn & Suites Eugene / Springfield, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
We are really sorry about issues that accord during your stay. We are currently working on these issues and addressing them so they dont happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Springfield hotels
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Springfield/Eugene
Super 8 Springfield/Eugene
#2 of 14 in Springfield
452 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Eugene / Springfield
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 14 in Springfield
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springfield
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Eugene - Springfield
2.7 mi away
Village Inn
Village Inn
#9 of 14 in Springfield
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GuestHouse Inn & Suites Eugene / Springfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GuestHouse Inn & Suites Eugene / Springfield

Property: GuestHouse Inn & Suites Eugene / Springfield
Address: 3350 Gateway St, Springfield, OR 97477-1003 (Formerly Hotel Eugene-Springfield)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Springfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — GuestHouse Inn & Suites Eugene / Springfield 2*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Eugene-Springfield – If you're planning to stay in the Eugene/Springfield area of Oregon the Hotel Eugene-Springfield is the perfect location for your lodging; it is conveniently centered right off Interstate 5 with easy access to the bordering cities. An excellent choice for business travelers or vacationing families, Hotel Eugene-Springfield is without question one of the best values available in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your GuestHouse Inn & Suites Eugene / Springfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilo Inn Eugene Springfield Hotel Springfield
Shilo Inn Springfield
Springfield Shilo Inn
GuestHouse Inn & Suites Eugene / Springfield Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing