We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
McKenzie Orchards Bed and Breakfast Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$135
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites(Springfield)
US$199
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$179
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$322
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Village Inn(Springfield)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (76)
Filter reviews
76 results
Traveller rating
69
5
0
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
69
5
0
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsperfect hostsblue rivermain floorparadise roomview of the riverlane countygas fireplacegreat conversationfresh berriespublic areasspent two nightsnext morningstay there againroom was spaciouskarenaccommodationseugene
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 76 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2010

We've stayed at a number of Bed and Breakfast inns over the last 10 years, and I can honestly say that this B&B became our favorite, nearly instantly... The inn is absolutely gorgeous - Tom and Karen designed and built the place in 2009, and you can see that they spared no cost. The common areas are large and well furnished, and it's built in a way that you can either go and hang out there and feel welcomed, or you can stay very private and keep to yourself without the feeling that you need to tiptoe around the place like you sometimes will feel at other B&Bs.

The bedrooms are large, and the bathrooms are something else (two-person showers, and all...). We happened to go in March, so were able to check out other rooms that weren't occupied - every one of them was large, with a fireplace and large bathroom. We stayed in the Olallie Creek Room, which I'd recommend if your up for it.

In terms of the hospitality, here's the best way that I can discribe it... The purpose of our trip was to meet our daughter who goes to school in WA state, and who was coming into Eugene to visit a friend that goes to Univ. of Oregon. After sharing this with Tom, he had my daughter and friend to the inn for breakfast (both days that we stayed), even though they weren't staying at the inn. The food was excellent, the company was excellent as well. We got great tips from Tom and Karen on things to do - the Eugene area exceeded our expectations in this way as well, it is a great destination.

Honestly, this is a great stop. We will definitely find reasons to come back.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarylZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2010

If you are looking to get away from everything and just relax, this is the place. Tom and Karen are awesome - help you when needed and make you feel welcome but not overbearing. We were there for Valentine's Cooking class & dinner. Might not have been a lot "to do" if we didn't have the cooking class & dinner.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michelletai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2009

This is the nicest B&B I've ever visited, so I'm writing my first review here. It has spacious, open and airy lounges and rooms - plenty of room to stretch out and breathe! Although the inn is a private home, it was built expressly to be a bed and breakfast inn. Hosts Tom and Karen designed the large bedrooms and sitting rooms for maximum comfort and furnished it in simple elegance. Everything here is big and beautiful - even the closets! The inn's style is contemporary, fresh, and full of surprising touches. We stayed in the honeymoon suite that had an amazing spa tub with colored lighting effects. Oh, and the FOOD! Everything was made on the premises (from scratch)! I know I want to go back and try one of the occasional cooking school events the inn offers. Although we didn't use it, we saw a large screen TV in a downstairs lounge/conference room. Situated with views of the McKenzie River, the inn's rural surroundings are peaceful, quiet and beautiful. It's off the beaten track, but Springfield and bustling Eugene are conveniently nearby.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tlb91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2009

We were thrilled with the B&B from the moment we sent foot on the front porch. Tom and Karen are the perfect hosts. The home is huge, spacious, luxurious, spotless and we loved the contemporary architecture and decor. The place is full of gorgeous original art, warm and lively in every room. Fireplaces in every room. So much room and privacy was really relaxing. I would love to have had more time to just hang around. They made us feel completely at home. The food and extras were generous, interesting and wonderful. The home is right on a beautiful river with lots of wildlife. We saw deer, turkeys and even a fox! thanks for a fabulous stay!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ahoymatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2009

We had an unexpected detour to Eugene because of a minor car problem, and we were bummed about missing a night on the coast until we found McKenzie, which was an amazing & luxurious find! It was recommended by a nearby innkeeper whose place was booked for a party that night, so we were the only guests in this brand-spanking-new place, and had our pick of 5 bedrooms. We chose a roomy one on the 2nd floor with a lovely view of the greenery in the huge backyard that leads down to a river; we walked out there to watch the sunset and then came back up for a delicious light dinner. Karen & Tom are really friendly & ready with recommendations, but they also had a nice sensitivity about giving us our space alone. No TVs in the rooms, but a FABULOUS small screening room downstairs, where we got our fix of the Mad Men DVD we'd brought, and I think we could've made popcorn down there, too. One of the coolest and most surprising things about this place was the jacuzzi tub in our bathroom, which has colored lights that you can set to stay a solid color or to change! We'd never seen anything like it before, but got a quick lesson from Tom about how to program its lights, timer, jets, etc. Such a great indulgence! In the morning Tom offered us a kayak to float down the river, but it was a little cold and rainy, so we hit the road after a great breakfast with huge bowls of blackberries. One of the highlights of our road trip from LA to Vancouver!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank How-ToCrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews