We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST in town!”
Review of El Rey Mexican Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
El Rey Mexican Restaurant
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Springfield, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The BEST in town!”
Reviewed 26 May 2013 via mobile

The BEST Mexican food in town, hands down!! If you're in the area, hungry and looking for a tasty margarita or two...this is the place! The food is cooked just after you order, chips and salsa are tasty and the food and drinks are the best!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ruben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    2
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
335 reviews
240 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Best in Eugene Springfield area”
Reviewed 22 February 2013

I eat here about three times a week , everything is great and fresh . My favorite is the carne asana and chicken ala crema . Rudy the owner is a great guy , Carlos his main server is very attentive . Service is great , my ice tea is always refilled . If you get an alcohol drink be careful they are strong , wow . Iam not much of a drinker but if I want a good drink this is where I will go . Booths are a bit worn down but he only rents from landlord and does not detract from the great food .

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Awesome food, Amazing service, Great atmosphere, triple threat!”
Reviewed 23 August 2012

My girlfriend moved to Springfield a year ago and being the Mexican food fanatics that we are decided to try out the restaurants close to her new apartment. El Rey ended up being the first and the last. It was a really slow afternoon when we tried it for the first time, Rudy had a ton of great suggestions for different dishes, sat with us and chatted, was really personable and had a genuine interest in what we were talking about. The food came out quickly and was excellent. We have been back MANY times now and even if a fair amount of time elapses between visits Rudy still recognizes our faces and lights up when we walk in. You just don't find service like that anymore! Even if the place is dead or packed to the max the service is always great, food amazing, and Rudy will always stop by and have a quick chat. He's been in the food industry for a very long time and it shows, his recipes are top notch and he knows what people want when they go out to eat. Unfortunately we are moving away from the area but when we visit family and friends we will be sure to stop in and see Rudy!

Oh be sure to ask for the green salsa!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Traveler2256141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
90 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good food, attentive service”
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Rudy moved his restaurant from Dexter area into Springfield a few years ago. He still has a following of customers who come into Springfield for the good food, generous portions and friendly atmosphere. Family based business, food prepared using family recipes. Full bar available. Great margaritas.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve88765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseburg, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“GReat Food”
Reviewed 24 January 2012

I really enjoyed eating here, the prices were good and the food was hot and deliverel in great time

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Douglas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Rey Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 
Springfield, OR
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing