We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Perfect Get-away” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bird & Hat Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bird & Hat Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Stayton B&B and Inns
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Perfect Get-away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

We booked Bird & Hat B&B because of the rave reviews we'd read, and we were not disappointed. The place is darling with its lovely garden, tasteful decor, and comfortable feel. Jacqueline, the inkeeper, was gracious and accommodating. We called ahead to let her know of our dietary requirements, and she made us a scrumptious and beautiful breakfast in accordance with our needs.

After a hike at Silver Falls State Park and tasty meal at Ixtapa, recommended by Jacqueline, we took a lovely stroll around the downtown area of Stayton. It was a relaxing and enjoyable visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jandago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
16
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Usually, when I travel from CA to Canada, I stop in motels close to I-5. This time, I chose to stay in a small, independently run BnB called "Bird 'n Hat Inn" in Stayton, OR. I was just amazed by the reviews this place got so I checked it out.
It's a beautiful reniewed historical house with a very lovely garden. Everything is clean and well maintained, the owner is very friendly. I slept far better in there than in a loud and smelly I-5 motel, so I'll definitely be back. And it's not just the amenities... the breakfast put the crown on top of it all. So if you look for an overnight place close to I-5, it's well worth the 15 minutes extra time... you get personal hospitality for a price that beats most of the I-5 hotels.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skystone-vacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Oregon
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Booked last minute and was lucky to get a room for two nights due to a cancellation. The home is on the historic registry and the current owner has built on a beautiful attachment for their use. The attached unit blends perfect with the old and makes this inn look very grand. The original garden had been filled in during the 1980s but current owner recreated it. Absolutely gorgeous! Our 200 year old bed was comfortable, bathroom modern, and a closet provided a mini kitchen. Fridge, coffee, tea, plates. Hostess was welcoming, warm and gracious. Pets welcome. Price a steal. I'd return in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with an en suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
267 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

We were looking for a place to stay that was close to Silver Falls State Park- I wanted to take my husband hiking on the Trail of the 10 Falls... and this B n B fit the bill perfectly. Our room was called the 'Back' Room and had a private bath and its' own little private balcony. We hiked the afternoon we arrived, checked in, went to a nice dinner in town (Mexican food- restaurant called Ixtapa), then back for a quiet evening. The owner was called out of town on the day we were there, but the person left to care for the guests, was lovely (Susan), kind and informative. I woke up early and read for an hour on the balcony, it was peaceful and a great way to start the day. Breakfast was wonderful as was the company of other guests. We headed off the 15 miles to the park and did some more hiking... it was much better than staying in Salem and having to drive that much farther to get to the park.

Room Tip: We had the Back Room.. it was great. I found the mattress a bit firm, but hubby LOVED it. The early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CM_G279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle WA
Level Contributor
115 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

We were attending a large family event in Scio, Oregon, a small town with no hotels, motels, or B&Bs. We opted to stay at the Bird & Hat Inn in Stayton, not too far away and highly recommended on TripAdvisor. Jacqueline Kirby is now running the place by herself; we found her to be charming and thoughtful. The rooms are attractive, the bed was comfortable, and the breakfasts were lavish. The garden in mid-February was not in flower of course, but the garden layout was attractive and there were many tulips coming up.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryTraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

This is a nice BnB in a small town. Our host was very friendly, the room was clean and the location ok.

Dinner options seemed to be light in town, with only fast food to go for. As an alternative it was suggested that we pick some food up from Roth's and that we prepare a meal at the BnB, which was a good suggestion and it was kind to allow us to use the kitchen facilities.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank JohnRPearson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo, Oregon
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

I stayed there for a conference just overnight. The ladies running the place have the right balance of conversation and privacy. Each room is very nicely done with very comfortable beds in them. Just be sure to know that two of the rooms have bathrooms in them. One room has a private bathroom that is down the hall. So depending on your preference you can just ask about it when you book it. The house is on a quiet street and has a lovely garden and fish pond for guests to enjoy, as well.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. Just ask to be sure you are getting a room with a bathroom in it if you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jkhoekst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stayton
13.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salem
13.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Mill Creek Inn
14.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel in Salem
14.3 mi away
Silverton Inn and Suites
Silverton Inn and Suites
#2 of 2 in Silverton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
13.2 mi away
Oregon Garden Resort
Oregon Garden Resort
#1 of 2 in Silverton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bird & Hat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bird & Hat Inn

Property: Bird & Hat Inn
Address: 717 North 3rd Avenue, Stayton, OR 97383
Region: United States > Oregon > Stayton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Stayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bird & Hat Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Bird & Hat Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing