We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Very nice place to stay"”
Review of Depot Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sumpter
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Depot Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sumpter
Crescent, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“"Very nice place to stay"”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Arrived after a long day on the bikes to a very friendly owner. The weather was very bad and he immediately had us put our bike under the cover in the front. The room was very clean and very well maintained. We will stay again and look forward to going back in snowmobile season.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rlmksmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We wanted to stay in John Day after a long day on the bikes. No rooms as firefighters were in town. Got online and booked the Depot in Sumpter. Great little mining town frozen in time. The Depot was super friendly and took pictures of our bikes to post on their facebook page. This town and hotel are definitely on our list to return. Also the road from Sumpter to Ukiah is one great ride. All in all a great experience that we would not have had if John Day had not been full up.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We went with our car club to see the fall leaves and the Sumpter steam train run. The owners of the inn went above and beyond to make sure everything was perfect. They let us have a campfire right in the middle of the parking lot and helped us get the wood for it. What fun. The rooms were clean quiet and comfortable. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fred51766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nampa, Idaho
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Some friends and I went up to Sumpter for some ATV riding. They camped and I stayed here. The business is run by the owners, who live on-site. I only had contact with the wife and she was always friendly and helpful, and provided us with some trail maps. My room had 2 queen beds, mini fridge, microwave, coffee maker and flat screen TV with basic Dish Network program package. The room was clean, well maintained and the bed was comfortable. The room rate was very reasonable.

Room Tip: I was in room 15 at the end of the building on the second floor. An ATV trail runs past this end of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rick3015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Expectations were low when we pulled into the lot as we saw it was full (no vacancy) and obviously an older location. We ended up being pleasantly surprised with a very clean, very comfortable, very quiet (surprisingly so) room for the night. Wireless Internet was fast, the shower had great pressure, and the people were friendly.

What else is needed for a solid rating?

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank paradigmwg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caldwell, Idaho
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

From the minute we showed up to the hotel the owner was one of the most friendly person we have ever met. She made us feel at home and made sure we were always taken care of. We needed a quiet get away and this was the place. The room was clean and always taken care of. We will be back. Thank you again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 54tammy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sumpter
18.4 mi away
Geiser Grand Hotel
Geiser Grand Hotel
#2 of 10 in Baker City
781 reviews
19.3 mi away
Best Western Sunridge Inn
Best Western Sunridge Inn
#1 of 10 in Baker City
905 reviews
19.7 mi away
Always Welcome Inn
Always Welcome Inn
#7 of 10 in Baker City
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
The Bridge Street Inn
The Bridge Street Inn
#4 of 10 in Baker City
184 reviews
19.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn Baker City
Rodeway Inn Baker City
#6 of 10 in Baker City
124 reviews
19.5 mi away
Super 8 Baker City
Super 8 Baker City
#3 of 10 in Baker City
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Depot Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Depot Inn

Property: Depot Inn
Address: 179 S.Mill Street, PO Box 36, Sumpter, OR 97877
Region: United States > Oregon > Sumpter
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sumpter
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Depot Inn Sumpter, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing