We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sunriver Resort after Labor Day” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunriver Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sunriver Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sunriver
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Barbara, CA
Level Contributor
199 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Sunriver Resort after Labor Day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

We have visited this special place the week after Labor day for many years and have watched it progress through many stages of growth, most positive, some not so positive. The condo rentals are the best deals price wise as well as offering many free amenities such as bicycles and even an ocassional car. Bend is only 18 miles away if you feel the urge to seek more dining variety; but for a week stay, the resort and area restaurants are probably sufficient. The resort rooms are very well designed and fairly well maintained, though by the end of season, things are getting a bit ragged around the edges. The rooms in the main lodge are nicer and more expensive and not as quiet as the resort rooms. The rooms have only a small refrigerator, so rent a condo (or house) if you intend to cook. The main lodge dining room has a very nice menu and our meals were consistently very good and the servers are always quite friendly. The Mall is still experiencing major withdrawl in the poor economy; it struggled even during good times. The golf course is in excellent condition and the walking paths and roads are fairly well maintained. One big disappointment was to discover that the Trout House Restaurant was closed and has been replaced by Mexican fare. One of our favorite morning repeats during our past stays has been to walk or ride bicycles to the Trout House for fresh trout, eggs and homemade biscuits followed by a leisurely canoe trip down the adjacent river. Alas, neither the restaurant nor the canoe operation open until 11 after labor day. The airport runway is in good condition and the fuel prices are surprisingly reasonable for a resort airport.
The resort offers a free shuttle from the ramp to the resort.

Room Tip: West facing rooms in the riverside section have great sunset & mountain (Sisters) views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAPTAINCUISINE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,933 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,090
    496
    210
    93
    44
See reviews for
881
478
42
294
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

We rented a Circle 4 cabin next to that of our friends. It's an intimate (but not too intimate; you get your own place!) spot to be with another family: there's a shared lawn, small pool, safe biking, and it's fairly centrally located. The cabins are individually owned and decorated; you never know if you'll get the "country bear" theme or the "fly fisherman" theme but you can bet there'll be a theme of some kind. Who cares? You'll spend 98% of your time on a bike outside, tootling around the enormous resort.

A new pool complex is due to open next year. It's necessary; the two main pools are always packed to the gills on a hot day. Biking around Sunriver is easy and safe and fun, so everyone bikes everywhere. You'll therefore sleep very well each night. Consider biking the trail to Benham Falls; I did it on a street bike, never having mountain biked in my life, and I loved it.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misssnootysnoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

My wife and I went to Sunriver based on a friend's recommendation and we were not disappointed. We are from New York City and wanted a west-coast, active vacation. The room at the resort was clean, relaxing, spacious (especially with the cathedral ceiling) and was all we could ask for. We booked through JetSetter.com so we got an excellent deal as well. The amenities at the resort are second to none - golf, horseback riding, bike rentals, kayaking, hiking, restaurants, multiple pools, sprawling grounds. We found it very interesting that it is a mixed-use resort - part hotel, part residential community. Bend, about 15 minutes away, has some terrific restaurants and nice shops -- very nice place to spend a day or two. We highly recommend this resort to couples (like us) and especially for families -- there were many families there and they seemed to be having a terrific time.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GHC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed at Sunriver Resort for 3 nights in August, 2011 for summer vacation. It ws extremely great for our off-mode with biking, rafting, relaxing, walking, swimming, golfing, paying tennis and even looking at tons of stars in the sky at night. The rooms were perfectly cleand and reliable. My wife and girls were happy to stay there and they are already talking about revisit next year. Strong recommendation!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HarryYoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunriver_Resort, Manager at Sunriver Resort, responded to this review, 20 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Very happy to hear that you were able to find your "off" switch at Sunriver Resort and connect with the natural Central Oregon surroundings. We look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Sincerely,
Scott Ellender
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
137 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

This hotel situated on the Deschutes River is a more than a resort almost a small contained city as a collection of homes, condo's, hotel rooms and every other resort amentity that you can think of. You can stay at the lodge, or if you have a pet, stay at the Tennis Village where a pet will cost an additional $75 dollars per reservation. Many choices here from the 5 star vacation home with multi bedrooms to a hotel /lodge room in their main building. This resort has 5 restaurants, skiing close by at Mt Batchelor, SPA, pools, golf, airstrip, volcanic geology, biking, hiking, trails, etc. The Meadows restaurant is very nice with a great selection of wine and excellent service. The front desk staff is also excellent and very friendly. Great place to stay with family, pet, or a couples only weekend...

Room Tip: Become a member of their club and save 10% on rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 4snickers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

We have previously stayed in private house rentals here but stayed at the lodge village and had a great experience. It was close to the lodge for eating and bar, plus within walking distance to main of hub for shops and markets.
The rooms were on the golf course, very quiet and functional. A bit on the spendy side but about what you would expect for a resort type setting. Many ammenities (bike rentals, golfing, spa) in a gorgeous setting.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanEugene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland Oregon
Level Contributor
147 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

Normally we stay in one of the condo's at the resort. This time it was the week before Thanksgiving and it was nice and quiet. I love the walking/biking paths that are everywhere. I have also stayed in June during the Pacific Crest a few times. Even though it is much busier then, I have not had a bad experience. There is lots of space around each building and we would take our chairs and sit out of the grass. The Condo has a good kitchen, so we go to the sunriver grocery store and cook almost all our own meals. The restaurant that has outdoor seating by the golf course is yummy. There is also a gift shop which has unique gifts and I always end up buying something! I have not tried the spa yet, although I have booked a massuse in Bend who came to the resort and set up shop in front of our fireplace. We had 6 people staying that time and 4 of us had massages! The resort is surrounded with gorgeous views. Make sure you rent a bike and explore. I never fail to see a deer!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mgirrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunriver
11.2 mi away
Tetherow Lodges
Tetherow Lodges
#3 of 43 in Bend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
8.9 mi away
WorldMark Bend - Seventh Mountain Resort
12.3 mi away
Mount Bachelor Village Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
The Oxford Hotel
The Oxford Hotel
#2 of 43 in Bend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
14.8 mi away
Wall Street Suites
Wall Street Suites
#1 of 43 in Bend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
13.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bend
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunriver Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunriver Resort

Property: Sunriver Resort
Address: 17600 Center Drive, Sunriver, OR 97707
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Sunriver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sunriver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunriver Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunriver Resort, located 15 miles south of Bend in Central Oregon, is a AAA Four-Diamond award winning property. The Heart & Soul of the Great Northwest, Sunriver Resort is a year-round outdoor enthusiast's dream with golf, spa, tennis, swimming, horseback riding, canoeing, fly fishing, skiing and snowboarding at Mt. Bachelor Ski Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Sunriver Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunriver Hotel Sunriver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing