We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never again!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Sunriver Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunriver Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sunriver
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Never again!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

Don't waste your time or money! My husband and I came hoping for a relaxing weekend away from the city. The website and reviews we had read all spoke of how Sunriver was beautiful, serene and a nature lover's dream so we wanted to spend our anniversary here. We were truly disappointed. The resort was over run with families and children, so it felt like being at Disneyland. You couldn't even be at the pool to relax because of how noisy it was. It felt crowded and over run, not the peaceful relaxing place we envisioned.

The first night in our room we were woken up by a family checking in at 11:30pm. The walls are so thin that we could hear them slamming doors, jumping and running up and down the stairs and yelling. I called to notify the front desk and they said they'd send someone out. After 30 minutes without a change, I called again. The front desk clerk said "well, they just checked in, so give them some time to settle down". Excuse me?! I didn't pay all this money so that I could share a room with a family of 5. I paid for a private room with the expectation of sleeping through the night. Their total lack of sensitivity and indifference to my complaint was inexcusable. I was basically told to just deal with it. I asked to move to a different room the next morning and I was moved across the village to the area closer to the pool. The noise level was pretty much the same. The construction of these buildings is poor and I felt cheated for paying as much as I did because the value is so low. I wish I had stayed somewhere else!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bakermj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunriver_Resort, Manager at Sunriver Resort, responded to this review, 16 November 2011
I am so sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations during your most recent visit. We strive to create the perfect environment for all of our guests and it’s extremely disappointing to learn that was not the case during your stay. Please know that we take your feedback seriously and it will certainly be shared with the team. I hope you will consider visiting us again. We have a variety of accommodations, including our deluxe River Lodge rooms and private homes and condominiums at Caldera and Crosswater, that I am confident would be a great fit for your relaxing weekend away! Please contact me directly, it would be my pleasure to assist you in selecting your accommodations.

Krista Miller
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,967 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,109
    503
    215
    94
    46
See reviews for
898
487
43
301
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

What a lovely weekend spent in the picturesque Sunriver Resort. Stunning mountain views for 360 degrees don't disappoint. We have been coming to Sunriver Resort every couple of years for the past 10 years and have always had a pleasant and relaxing experience. The staff, the lodge, and the delightful Sunriver Village are what you would expect of a top rated resort. The lodge remains elegantly rustic. The lodge guest rooms have undergone some updates, but could use a bit of spiffing up though they were certainly clean and comfortable. The Village itself is undergoing renovations at the present time and will be quite stunning when finished. We had a delicious meal at The Meadows at the lodge and the service was outstanding. If you are looking for a quiet spot to unwind I would certainly recommend Sunriver Resort. There is something for everyone here from golfing to spas and depending on the time of year skiing, swimming, fishing, hiking, white water rafting and the list goes on!

Room Tip: Upper level rooms are spacious with vaulted ceilings, fireplaces, and decks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debwost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

We've been coming to Sunriver, as a family for 6 years, and my husband himself for over 20 years. Every part of Sunriver is a welcoming, memorable experience...from the miles of bike riding trails, to horseback riding, enjoying the views of the river and mountains, eating in the Meadows restaurant or watching a game in the Owl's Nest, dipping in the hot tubs and heated pools, snacking on goodies at Goody's, or just lounging in the beautiful lodge rooms or houses. We've done it all there (except golf, which is funny - but we aren't golfers) and do it all again and again every time we go and never want to leave. It is one of our most favorite places!! You will not regret a visit to Sunriver!!

Room Tip: River Lodges are the nicest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
118 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2011

We've heard from many people about this place and visited there very briefly on a long drive return trip from Walla Walla, Washington to San Diego, CA. It was everything I hoped it would be. Quiet, natural, rustic lodge, gorgeous golf course. We had a river lodge room with a balcony overlooking the estuary and golf course. We went to the Owl's Nest Bar and ordered food to go and sat on our balcony watching the sunset and drinking a bottle of L'Ecole No. 41 Luminesce. It was heavenly. The bed was big and comfortable. The bathroom with separate tub and shower was luxurious. The next morning we had a terrific breakfast in the dining room and shopped in the very well appointed gift shop. We definitely want to return.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

Great resort with great summer weather - 70's daytime, high 40's/low 50's at night - no A/C needed!
We rented a nice house with a hot tub for relaxing after an active day.
Everybody got to do whatever they liked including golf, biking, hiking, rafting, kyacking, horseback riding, spa, pool or nothing.
We loved the free resort transportation system that could handle 1 person or all 6 of us.
The shopping area was simple, but everything we needed.
Highlights were Crosswater golf, the sunset dinner atop Mt. Bachelor and our whitewater rafting trip up in Bend.
Restaurants are good but not great.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjcasey73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walla Walla, Washington
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

We had been to Sun River each summer for more than 20 years when my husband passed away four years ago. it was necessary for me to return and walk the same trails and visit the same special restaurants and places we had shared for so many years. The weather was perfect and the staff made my journey special.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

We stayed at Wildflower 32 and had an excellent stay. It is a 2 bedroom, 2 bath unit that can sleep up to 6 people. It has both bedrooms and bathrooms on the bottom floor and the dining room, kitchen and living room all on the second story. The second story is very open and can entertain a lot of guests. The master bedroom is nice with its own deck overlooking the golf course. The second bedroom had a double bed and a bunk bed. There is also a sofa bed. The unit had everything you needed for your stay.

We love coming to Sunriver whether it be in the summer with the great weather and all the bike trails or coming in the winter to go to Mt. Bachelor. We will be back and highly recommend staying at Sunriver Resort.

Room Tip: Ask the reservation service about what rooms they have available for your needs and cost. They have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunriver
11.2 mi away
Tetherow Lodges
Tetherow Lodges
#3 of 44 in Bend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
8.8 mi away
WorldMark Bend - Seventh Mountain Resort
12.3 mi away
Mount Bachelor Village Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Wall Street Suites
Wall Street Suites
#1 of 44 in Bend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
13.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bend
14.4 mi away
The Oxford Hotel
The Oxford Hotel
#2 of 44 in Bend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunriver Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunriver Resort

Property: Sunriver Resort
Address: 17600 Center Drive, Sunriver, OR 97707
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Sunriver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sunriver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunriver Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunriver Resort, located 15 miles south of Bend in Central Oregon, is a AAA Four-Diamond award winning property. The Heart & Soul of the Great Northwest, Sunriver Resort is a year-round outdoor enthusiast's dream with golf, spa, tennis, swimming, horseback riding, canoeing, fly fishing, skiing and snowboarding at Mt. Bachelor Ski Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunriver Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunriver Hotel Sunriver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing