We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Why stay ANYWHERE else?”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sunriver Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunriver Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sunriver
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Why stay ANYWHERE else?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

A true DESTINATION resort. Everything you need is right here. Whether for couples, family, friends or even if you want solitude by yourself, this place has it all - Activities, relaxing, shopping, dining. The SHARC was a great addition to Sunriver for fabulous swimming area - free for resort guests. Pool, lazy river, water slides.... it was a blast. Short distance from Sunriver Lodge - we rode our bikes -- a mile? from the room. There are plenty of bikes to rent either by hour, 1 day or 2 days, or bring your own. LOTS of paved trails that are fairly flat throughout the resort. The Village has great restaurants, shopping. There's a full-stocked grocery store. Our room only had a cube refrigerator (like for a dorm) and no microwave (I suggested that it would be a nice addition). We purchased milk, cereal, fruits to cover breakfast. Room service available but we felt it was pricey - 20% gratuity plus $4 delivery. But for those who want to use that option, it is available for breakfast, lunch, dinner. The grocery store in Village has a fabulous deli - great lunch option for sandwich etc. We saved the restaurant dining for dinner. Village Pub and Grill was our favorite - great menu selection, excellent food and friendly service. The deck with our room had rocking chairs - perfect for relaxing. Parking lot at lodge buildings may be full, but area is so private, it's hard to tell there are others nearby! We had a spa at the end of our building. PERFECT water temp - not too hot, not too cold. We used it a lot. Marina is great. Take a canoe or kayak trip 6 miles down the gently flowing Deschutes river. There's signage where to get out and hop the shuttle ride back to Marina. Entire "float" from start to finish about 2 hours and worth every penny. Wildlife, scenery along the way.... peaceful beautiful. Seriously, why stay ANYWHERE else?

Room Tip: All rooms in the lodge are wonderful. You are so close to everything. Park the car when you arrive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CasualTraveler51488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunriverResort_12, Lodge General Manager at Sunriver Resort, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for so many outstanding comments regarding your entire stay at Sunriver Resort. We are extremely happy to hear that you were able to take advantage of the many wonderful activities offered in Sunriver. Possible activities you may want to consider during your next stay at Sunriver Resort include golf at any of our four golf courses, a relaxing day at Sage Springs Club & Spa, or dinner at our award winning Crosswater Club which is exclusive for Sunriver Resort guests and Crosswater members.

We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back at some point in the future!

Sincerely,

Scott Ellender
Lodge General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,963 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,107
    502
    214
    94
    46
See reviews for
897
486
43
299
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

Unit 69 had everything we needed, except patio furniture. The kitchen was very well equipped, and there was a DVD player and i-pod players. Very large rooms and 2 master bedroom suites. The tile tub-showers were a little difficult to get into for my wife because of the high sides of the tile tubs. Overall, the Sunriver resort has everything for the family.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunriverResort_12, Lodge General Manager at Sunriver Resort, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your positive feedback regarding your recent experience at Sunriver Resort. Please know that we will share the details of your feedback with the owners of 69 Quelah.

It will be our pleasure to extend a warm welcome back!

Sincerely,

Scott Ellender
Lodge General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

First time to Sun River Resort. We came for golf, sun, and relaxation. We were not disappointed. The beds were comfy, room was perfect for a couple, and the golf was challenging. can't wit to go back!

Room Tip: Make sure you make a preference for a shady side or sunny side when you book a room. Even though ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunriverResort_12, Lodge General Manager at Sunriver Resort, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing such positive comments regarding your recent vacation at Sunriver Resort. We were so glad to hear that you were able to fit in some golf during your stay. In addition to our Crosswater Club and Meadows & Woodlands Golf Courses, please know that we also have a spectacular par-3, 9-hole golf course called Caldera Links which was designed by Bob Cupp who is the same golf course architect who designed our Crosswater Golf Course.

Sincerely,

Scott Ellender
Lodge General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
108 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

We found a last-minute deal for the long July 4th weekend, and tried out Sunriver Resort for the first time. Can't believe we waited so long to come out! We were in one of the buildings close to the lodge (building 113-118) and it was very convienent for walking to food, the pool, spa, etc. Lots of cars in the parking lots, yet somehow it never felt that busy, no matter where we went.

We did bring bikes, but my husband's broke the chain, and even with fast and friendly service (and cheap) from William at the bike barn, we still were unable to ride for most of our trip. We're ok with it, walking was fine, and we could take either the shuttle or our car to further points like the marina.

The room was nice - comfortable king bed, great view onto the golf course, well appointed bathroom. Pillows were a little small and flat, but not awful. Housekeeping service was very quick. Small fridge in our room (not advertised) and coffee/tea set up made for easy breakfasts on our porch.

Dining options were spendy, although the food was very good. More choices (like Mexican and Italian) at the nearby "Village". Marina pricing for canoe/raft rentals high, go to one of the shops in the Village for better options IF you have a way to attach it to your car.

The only disappointment we had was the staff. Overall, resort staff was friendly and helpful - front desk, housekeeping, Bike Barn, even maintenance crew had a smile for us - EXCEPT for the waitstaff. We ate at both the Owl's Nest and Village Grill, and had terrible service. 15 minute plus wait just to get water and a menu. Service with a frown. No refills, no "can I get you anything else". For a resort town, it's hard to believe this is OK.

Room Tip: Check out the map on their site, and find the areas you want to be closest to - lodge, pools, etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank physicsmom04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunriverResort_12, Lodge General Manager at Sunriver Resort, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your positive feedback concerning your recent stay at Sunriver Resort. I will be sure to recognize William at our Bike Barn for his fast and friendly service along with our Front Desk and Housekeeping teams. I would also like to apologize for the poor dining experience that you encountered in our Owl’s Nest Bar & Grille. I would however like to acknowledge that the Sunriver Resort does not own or operate the Village Bar and Grille located in the Village Mall.

Thank you again for your detailed feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future!

Sincerely,

Scott Ellender
Lodge General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Forks, ND
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Had a great stay at Sunriver. Canoeing, strolling through the village, eating at several of the restaurants there. Great access to other Cascade mountain opportunities for hiking and touring by car. Don't miss the various attractions and national monuments that explore the region's volcanic geology.

Room Tip: River Lodges are very nice. Great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AzureFlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

We stayed a week in a large vacation rental home in Sunriver. The home was very clean & the housekeeping service was prompt & helpful. Our teens loved the freedom to go to the pool, play basketball, tennis, volleyball, or bike on paved bike trails without parental Oversight. You can safely go anywhere in the Sunriver community by either walking or biking. The food at Hola restaurant was very good. Bend is only 20 minutes away and the Old Mill Mall has lots of great restaurants & good shopping. Our extended family of 10 loved our stay in Sunriver and definitely plane to return

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed at 4 Red Hill Lane through Bennington Properties. This was our third time in Sunriver (all summer visits) and was absolutely fantastic as usual. The house itself was very nice with the exception that it had no ceiling fans in the entire house and we had to have the property management company loan 2 floor fans to us. The SHARC swimming facility was great and our kids loved it. The miles of bike trails were great as usual and our house even came with bikes! Hats off too to Bennington Properties who had exceptional customer service both before and during our stay

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Swyershopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunriver
11.2 mi away
Tetherow Lodges
Tetherow Lodges
#3 of 44 in Bend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
8.8 mi away
WorldMark Bend - Seventh Mountain Resort
12.3 mi away
Mount Bachelor Village Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Wall Street Suites
Wall Street Suites
#1 of 44 in Bend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
13.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bend
14.4 mi away
The Oxford Hotel
The Oxford Hotel
#2 of 44 in Bend
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunriver Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunriver Resort

Property: Sunriver Resort
Address: 17600 Center Drive, Sunriver, OR 97707
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Sunriver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sunriver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunriver Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunriver Resort, located 15 miles south of Bend in Central Oregon, is a AAA Four-Diamond award winning property. The Heart & Soul of the Great Northwest, Sunriver Resort is a year-round outdoor enthusiast's dream with golf, spa, tennis, swimming, horseback riding, canoeing, fly fishing, skiing and snowboarding at Mt. Bachelor Ski Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunriver Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunriver Hotel Sunriver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing