We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golfers Beware”
Review of Sunriver Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunriver Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sunriver
Certificate of Excellence
Long Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Golfers Beware”
Reviewed 9 July 2007

The hotel and resort is very family friendly. The restaurants are full of whinning kids. rooms are pretty cramped and a little beat.
Restaurant food was OK, but at least it was expensive.

Woodlands golf course really sucked on July 1st. Lot's of temporary tees and really bad greens. They did not warn us and charged us the full $500 per night per couple which included the golf.

Crosswater was in excellent shape primarily because they will be hosting a Senior PGA Major there later this summer.

This visit was not a good value.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,228
    582
    256
    107
    61
See reviews for
1,041
537
47
341
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2007

After reading some of the reviews of Sunriver Resort, i just felt I had to make a comment. I first visited the resort over 10 years ago and it was supposed to be for a short 4 nite stay. While my husband was parking the car, I asked to extend our stay....I hadn't even checked in. We are from S. Cal, and maybe it's just the change of pace and scenery, but this place is heaven. We generally stay at the Lodge because it is just 2 of us, however, we have brought friends who have had comfortable stays in the condos. I do have to say though, the condos can be quite dated. If you're stay is in a condo or home, just be sure it is meeting your expections.

Back to the resort. This is cozy, comfortable laid back quiet place. The biking and hiking is unforgettable. The scenery and overall feel of the lodge and grounds are beautiful. The spa is quite nice and not pretentious. Rooms are all comfortable and updated, albeit on the smaller size.

The dining room serves exceptional food, and we even found a place in the resort for a low key breakfast. While the quality of the restaurants in the village are not great, they are okay.

Bend is a delightful town very close with great dining! If you desire a true respite from the rat race, but still love quality and class in your vacation surrounding, Sunriver Resort is the best place I have ever found.

  • Stayed August 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank feyest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodburn, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2007

i loved it so much, the stay was so comfortable!!!

  • Liked — It was just a wondeful quality stay with my family!
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank natureboywhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, WA
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2007

My wife and I have stayed at Sunriver in the past and had a great time with impeccable service as we remember it, but our most recent experience left little to be desired. Seriously, good luck finding any place to eat, and don't count on what they advertise as true. The resort boasts a family-oriented atmosphere, but we found it hugely tailored to the lifestyles of the golf community with little regard to a "family" atmosphere; the seemingly erratic and leisurely worker schedules make planning for a good meal at the lodge a next to impossible task. Our accommodations were nice as we stayed in a two bedroom condo (Wildflower) off the 12th green. Our arrival at the lodge after traveling by car for 6 hours with a 3 year old strapped into his car-seat was a prelude to how the remainder of our stay at Sunriver would go: we were astonished to learn our room was not ready. So, we drove around the area to kill some time and found our condo. Outside was a room service worker sitting on top of a pile of laundry taking a smoke break. This was why our room was not ready. Finally, after getting in to our condo just short of 6:00pm, we found the lodge menu. Trying to order for take-out was an impossible task; couldn't get through to the Owl's Nest after a busy signal for 20 minutes (which oh-by-the-way is not open until 2:00pm on the week days) which is famous for their Buffalo Wings (we later learned they no longer serve this critical item, ugghh!). So, I drove down to the lodge to pick up dinner from the Merchant Trader, which is advertised as open until 8:00pm, was in fact closed at 7:35pm. The front desk, albeit givng the impression they wanted to help, had no explanation as to why the place was not open as advertised. We also tried McDivott's Cafe at the Woodland Golf Course on Tuesday evening at 7:00pm, but they were closed (again, not as advertised). The long and short of this review is: It is not as advertised. If you golf, you will be catered to. If you, however, are not golfing, don't expect much from this place anymore. The customer service is in a downward spiral. We know it, we've experienced it.

Helpful?
Thank TravelliteOlympia_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2006

I had to come to this resort for a business trip. One thing I was very irritated by was the fact that in the conference room, wireless internet was not free. It was $15 to have wireless which is absurd! $15 is not much but when you are trying to get prepared to present to a group of people, the last thing you want to do is hunt down a person to get the Internet code (which did not work the first time - so I had to hunt them down again).

One very positive thing is how the staff is incredibly friendly and make you feel welcome.

The room got very cold at night so I left the inroom fire place on the second night which was very nice. If you are a golfer this is the place for you! A feature that I loved was how they had a card in the room where you could order breakfast to be delievered the next morning. It was 20 minutes late but it was a great feature to have. You can also order dinner in your room and I had a filet minon to die for. One thing I was surprised and a bit disappointed by was how the room did not have a refrigerator. That would have been a handy feature and given that the room was incredibly expensive, I thought and expected them to have one.

This is a very family friendly resort. There are tennis courts, bike paths, golf courses, swimming pools, and so forth. I also feel it would be a great place to get married (though I am sure it will cost a fortune!). It is a nice place, they just need to work on a few little things.

Bend, Oregon is not far and you can shop, go to restaurants and so forth there. The airport in Redmond is about 45 minutes away. There are also volcano parks nearby as well as hiking.

  • Liked — The in room fireplace, the beds were comfortable, and the ability to order great food in your room.
  • Disliked — Cost and no refrigerator.
  • Tips/Secrets — Be ready for outdoor activities because there are many onsite!
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank katiesftbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunriver_Resort, Marketing Manager at Sunriver Resort, responded to this review, 13 April 2007
Sunriver Resort is now proud to offer complimentary wireless internet access in our meeting and conference areas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunriver
11.2 mi away
Tetherow Lodges
Tetherow Lodges
#4 of 44 in Bend
551 reviews
14.4 mi away
The Oxford Hotel
The Oxford Hotel
#2 of 44 in Bend
1,172 reviews
12.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Bend
La Quinta Inn Bend
#15 of 44 in Bend
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
WorldMark Bend - Seventh Mountain Resort
13.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bend
11.1 mi away
Entrada Lodge
Entrada Lodge
#32 of 44 in Bend
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunriver Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunriver Resort

Property: Sunriver Resort
Address: 17600 Center Drive, Sunriver, OR 97707
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Sunriver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sunriver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunriver Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunriver Resort, located 15 miles south of Bend in Central Oregon, is a AAA Four-Diamond award winning property. The Heart & Soul of the Great Northwest, Sunriver Resort is a year-round outdoor enthusiast's dream with golf, spa, tennis, swimming, horseback riding, canoeing, fly fishing, skiing and snowboarding at Mt. Bachelor Ski Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunriver Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunriver Hotel Sunriver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing