We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunriver - perfect for multi generation reunion!”
Review of Sunriver Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunriver Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sunriver
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
82 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Sunriver - perfect for multi generation reunion!”
Reviewed 28 August 2007

We recently had a family reunion at Sunriver. It exceeded all our expectations. There were 4 families - grandparents; one with a 9 month old, one with twin 8 year olds and one with 10 and 12 year olds. We each had a townhouse and our decks were all connected in the back. We would meet up in the afternoon and hang out on the decks and the grass area felt like our own private back yard. Either on the property or off there is so much to do in the area. We highly recommend the full day raft trip thru Sun Country tours. There is amazing hiking all around the resort and we all liked the walk around Paulina Lake and to the Obsidion Flow. At the resort our favorite part was the miles and miles of great paved bike paths. The gym is very nice and my scrub, vichy shower and massage was an amazing splurge.
For most meals we went off property. Our favorites were Merenda and Zydeco Kitchen. But we had one big family dinner and Justin was very helpful in making it work out. Ask him if he can give you without a charge the upstairs dining room with a couple of couches. It made our evening so easy because we didn't have to sit at a dining room table the whole night. The kids wandered our floor and we lounged on couches except when we were eating.

Weakest part of the property that we experienced....maid service is not too great. I happened to be there once and they asked me if I wanted the room vacuumed. What kind of question is that? Of course I want the room vacuumed. We were out of toilet paper and they left a roll but didn't put it on the toilet paper holder.

A gorgeous part of the country and a great place to be with different generations.

  • Liked — Nice property in a gogeous setting with so much to do on the river, forest and at the resort.
  • Disliked — Maid service could have been better.
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank dabuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,065 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,156
    531
    232
    97
    49
See reviews for
927
509
46
325
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2007

My wife and I and our 1.5 and 3.5 year old sons trekked to Sun River in June 2007 to attend a friend's wedding. Though a challenge to get to, we had a fabulous time in the high plain mountainous setting.

We chose to use miles to fly to Portland and drive 3 hours past mount Batchelor to the resort. We wanted to stay somewhere close in to The Great Hall where the wedding reception was scheduled to be held. We chose a 2/2 Tennis Village condo #20 from the kind folks at Sunset Realty [--------------]. The condo is far nicer than the pictures at [-------------------].htm suggest due to the wrap around windows allowing light in from all directions. The condos are spaced out enough and only two to a building so you still get the sense of being in the forest. We had three adults and two toddlers but the place can sleep a lot more comfortably due to everything folding out . This condo even had a toddler bed we pulled out of the closet for our 1.5 year old. We were very pleased with the cleanliness and upkeep of our unit. We were a 4 minute walk to the fun and heated pool, and a 4 minute walk to the Great Hall. The condo had well maintained bikes and we rented a kid seat and trailer at the nearby bike shop at the mall.

The resort grounds are gorgeous and it feels like a quaint city with miles and miles of bike trails. Many times taking your bike was faster than loading up the kids in the car seats driving and unloading them. The marina is well equipped for the casual or hard core rafter. The airport was a fun destination for the boys to watch the planes take off and land and see the glider soaring over head.

The temps in June were cool crisp and welcome. The pool was heated and even though the air could be a crisp cool 65, the high mountain sun and the heated pool made the swimming enjoyable for all.

  • Liked — Spaciousness, location
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank My_name_is_Paesan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2007

We stayed in this lovely resort for 2 nights. The grounds were well maintained and our room was spacious, clean and comfortable with views over the golf course to distant mountains.

There were plenty of activites on offer, but unfortunately, as we were there for such a short period, there was no available space for the activities we would have liked to try.

The restaurant in the main lodge served reasonable food but was pricey at $150 for 4 of us (2 courses +soft drinks.).Sunday brunch was a better but at $26 pp.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank cherryRUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2007

We stayed at Sunriver in June in a Lodge Village suite. For just the two of us it was wonderful having so much room. We could set up the computer downstairs and enjoy the cozy gas fireplace – loved that easy on-off switch! Didn’t really use the kitchen (really a kitchenette, since there was no oven), except for the refrigerator. Having 2 bathrooms (upstairs and downstairs) was nice too.

Even with temps in the mid-30’s at night we were still very cozy upstairs, as the heat rose. We loved the rustic décor, although we didn’t get to use the back porch since it looked out to a lawn with not much view and there were a lot of kids running around on the porch next door – really this resort is kid heaven with all of the activities. We did not take advantage of too much except the bicycle rentals and exploring the bike paths, which really gave you the full tour of the entire property. Especially scenic along the river trail. Restaurant at the Lodge was lovely though pricey. We noted that the décor could do with a judicious use of antlers.

One of our friends was upgraded to a River Lodge room looking out onto one of the golf courses and the view was drop-dead gorgeous -- you could see some of the practice rounds of the tournament on the course, one of the snow-capped mountains in the distance, and a great sunset. That room (it was a regular room, not a suite) was smaller but it was more elegantly appointed with an enormous bathroom and huge bathtub.

Central Oregon is an amazing place, and the “high desert” is an incredible phenomenon to experience. We spent some time exploring hiking trails in the Newberry National Volcanic Monument, driving along the Cascade Lakes Highway, and finding snow (in mid-June) hiking on Mt. Bachelor. We found that the town of Sisters had a much more interesting and quaint downtown than Bend – a bit further away, but definitely worth the trip. Be ready for the high desert extremes in temperatures -- layers are the way to go. Wish I had brought a hat (improvised with a bandanna scarf around ears) when the wind blew in the higher altitudes.

Even though we didn’t take advantage of all of the family-centered activities that Sunriver had to offer, and spent more time outside the resort, I would stay there again because it was such a quiet and pleasant place with such comfy rooms. And you have to love those automatic fireplaces!

  • Liked — Fireplaces
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank GreenMermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon/Washington
Level Contributor
91 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2007

We just returned from another great stay at Sunriver Resort. We visit several times each year, and have yet to be disappointed.

We have stayed in the River Lodges several times, but most often we rent individual homes. The resort has so much to offer, and there is never enough time to enjoy it all.

The bike paths are great for getting around either on bike or on foot. Going for an early morning walk or one around dusk are great time to see the wildlife. The deer and squirrels are amazing!

Both the north and south pools are enjoyable. The larger water slide at the south pool is always a hit!

Sage Springs Spa is always a must stop for us. I usually book appointments as soon as I know our travel dates. The spa is a destination in itself! I have come to Sunriver with girlfriends for specific spa getaways also.

The Village is a great place to relax in the evenings. In the summer months there is often live music that is geared toward the entire family. Kids love to do bumper cars and miniature golf as well. The village is a great place for a familes to just wander and take it all in.

There are numerous tennis courts throughout the resort, and you can take private lessons as well. The pro is very good, and great for all levels.

Sunriver is the perfect location to base yourself to see the other sites in the area. It is only 90 minutes from Crater Lake, about 15 minutes from downtown Bend, and an easy shot out to the Cascade Lake Highway towards Mt Bachelor and the South Sister, among other sites. Very close to the resort itself is the High Desert Museum, the lava caves, and lava butte.

Sunriver is a great vacation destination any time of year. It is also a great place for family gatherings. We already have several other stays at Sunriver booked for the upcoming months, we enjoy it so much.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Mtngrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2007

I would disagree with the AAA 4 star rating for this property. The area is beautiful but it left a lot to be desired for service. It seemed everywhere you went the service was terrible. For example I was second in line at the coffee shop and it took 20 minutes to get my order. We booked a 3 bedroom condo only to find out that it did not have air conditioning. With the temperature being 95 degrees the day we arrived it was a necessary item. The people at Sunriver reaccommodated us only after a long discussion with their customer service people. They moved us to a one bedroom loft and charged us $100 more per night.

The Meadows golf course was very nice. Garrisons guide service was good for fishing. The gym was pretty good.

I cannot see myself coming back to Sunriver. For $300 a night I did not see the value.

  • Liked — The surrounding scenary can't be beat!
  • Disliked — Dated accomodations. Poor service.
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank tmcherv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2007

The hotel and resort is very family friendly. The restaurants are full of whinning kids. rooms are pretty cramped and a little beat.
Restaurant food was OK, but at least it was expensive.

Woodlands golf course really sucked on July 1st. Lot's of temporary tees and really bad greens. They did not warn us and charged us the full $500 per night per couple which included the golf.

Crosswater was in excellent shape primarily because they will be hosting a Senior PGA Major there later this summer.

This visit was not a good value.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunriver
11.2 mi away
Tetherow Lodges
Tetherow Lodges
#3 of 44 in Bend
519 reviews
8.8 mi away
WorldMark Bend - Seventh Mountain Resort
14.4 mi away
The Oxford Hotel
The Oxford Hotel
#2 of 44 in Bend
1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bend
12.3 mi away
Mount Bachelor Village Resort
14.8 mi away
Wall Street Suites
Wall Street Suites
#1 of 44 in Bend
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunriver Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunriver Resort

Property: Sunriver Resort
Address: 17600 Center Drive, Sunriver, OR 97707
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Sunriver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sunriver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunriver Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunriver Resort, located 15 miles south of Bend in Central Oregon, is a AAA Four-Diamond award winning property. The Heart & Soul of the Great Northwest, Sunriver Resort is a year-round outdoor enthusiast's dream with golf, spa, tennis, swimming, horseback riding, canoeing, fly fishing, skiing and snowboarding at Mt. Bachelor Ski Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunriver Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunriver Hotel Sunriver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing