We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome find -- food and service require repeat visit!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Alleycat Grrrr-ub - CLOSED

Alleycat Grrrr-ub
Dining options: Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
188 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Awesome find -- food and service require repeat visit!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We found Thor's food truck / dining wagon last summer while riding bikes around the business park looking for an easy place to have dinner without the huge wait that some of the Sunriver village establishments command. What a great find!

The owner/chef, Thor, specializes in fish tacos, though other items are available. He makes each item to order but it doesn't take long. Food was terrific and Thor is meticulous about food freshness, quality, safety and cleanliness. He is a trained chef and also tells great stories if there isn't a wait.

Pricing was extremely reasonable. The food was so good that we sent our teen sons back the next evening, on their bikes, to grab dinner while we adults went out on our own. Outdoor seating on the picnic table is available. This is an epicurean food truck (Portlanders will feel quite at home!) so there is no indoor seating nor are there restrooms. On the second trip, sons reported that Thor ran out of fish so they had BBQ instead. Loved it.

We'll be back next week for our annual trip and look forward to visiting the Alleycat (didn't know that was the name!). Unmistakable log cabin trailer on the main business park circle. Go visit and support a local entrepreneur!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ohiofamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    1
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, OR
Level Contributor
287 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Five star food cart”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

This is a food cart rating not a restaurant rating. Great mahi mahi fish tacos. Wanted to tr the pulled pork burritos but they close at two. Give it a try. It is a little yellow cart near the shell station

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank KWAJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
62 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Thor's Fish Tacos Take the Prize!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Thor's made-to-order Mahi-Mahi fish tacos with a peppered aioli, tomato and fresh lime can't be beat. The tiny yellow food cart next to Hammertime on Venture Lane in Sunriver (there really is no address) sets the tone for the fresh, fresh, fresh ingredients and an ample variety of choices for breakfast and lunch. The best thing? When Sunriver is serving up a dose of hale/rain/snow in late spring, just grab your tacos, or pulled pork burrito (to die for), or Black Angus cheeseburger and head over to the Mountain Jug for indoor dining with your choice of vinyl on the turntable and a myriad (20+ is a myriad, right?) of local and regional brews on tap.

Thor also serves breakfast, cooked to order and, when summer eventually arrives in the High Desert, there are picnic tables, for your convenience.

This is why we call it Paradise.

Bon appetit!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ideas2Art
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
62 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Grab Your Grub & Head for the Growler Pub!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Thor's made-to-order Mahi-Mahi fish tacos with a peppered aioli, tomato and fresh lime can't be beat. The tiny yellow food cart next to Hammertime on Venture Lane in Sunriver (there really is no address) sets the tone for the fresh, fresh, fresh ingredients and an ample variety of choices for breakfast and lunch. The best thing? When Sunriver is serving up a dose of hale/rain/snow in late spring, just grab your tacos, or pulled pork burrito (to die for), or Black Angus cheeseburger and head over to the Mountain Jug for indoor dining with your choice of vinyl on the turntable and a myriad (20+ is a myriad, right?) of local and regional brews on tap.

Thor also serves breakfast, cooked to order and, when summer eventually arrives in the High Desert, there are picnic tables, for your convenience.

This is why we call it Paradise.

Bon appetit!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ideas2Art
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alleycat Grrrr-ub also viewed

 
Sunriver, Central Oregon
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing