We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful newer hotel. Great service. Breakfast issues”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hartford Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sutherlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 12 April 2014

This is a newer Best Western hotel with very good rooms and overall facilities. The service was excellent and Naomi is especially noted for her exemplary service and thoughtfulness. The only issue we had was with breakfast. They are cheapskates when it comes to breakfast, with the smallest coffee cups on the planet, attendant controlled food items to dole out just one sausage or one or two slices of bacon. There have put all their money into the physical facility and are squeezing their budget on the food costs. This is a pet friendly hotel, but unlike other Best Westerns with no charge for your pet, they charge $20 per night.

Room Tip: A quiet room near the far end of the hotel near the grassy area on the ground floor is perfect for t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwwcpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon K, Manager at Best Western Plus Hartford Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thank you for staying with us! As you noticed, our facilities were completely remodeled a few year back and everything here is fairly new! Naomi is an invaluable part of our team and I am sure she will be thrilled to hear that she helped to make your stay one to remember! It always makes us feel extra special when you remember our names.

We apologize that you were not satisfied with your breakfast. Our coffee cups are standard size cups. We had noticed that if we had the bacon and sausage out on the breakfast bar, there was a lot of food waste. Many people would take more protein than they could eat, and half of it would end up in the garbage. I am sure if you had requested for extra protein, the omelet chef would have happily accommodated your request. We want all of our guests to be full and happy for the day’s travel ahead. In addition, if the omelet from the omelet bar was alone on the dish, it would be a very lonely omelet. So we like to offer sides of bacon, sausage, and/or country potatoes to keep it company. The omelet bar is just another little plus we like to give our guests. We believe Hot & Fresh with personal service is the way to go. It provides our guests with Real Cracked eggs (Never powder or liquid) and fresh vegetables rather than just a line buffet of cold, pre-made food usually found in a standard continental breakfast...all with a smile. ;) I will talk to the omelet chef about putting a little more sides on the omelet dish so the omelet has lots of friends.

In regards to the pet fee, it is actually an average amount. We have researched pet fees at other hotels and have come up with the most reasonable amount. We took into account what other hotels are charging and also calculated the cost to clean the room with the necessary cleaning agents and extra time the housekeepers need to clean the room. The room is cleaned extensively after a pet has stayed with us. As you experience our rooms are VERY clean. Our housekeepers give extra attention to pet rooms to leave no trace of a pet. After a guest leaves the room with their pet, the room is stripped and the carpets are shampooed. Every surface is cleaned to bring the room back to a level that makes the room appear and smell as though it was just like any other room. No trace of pet hair or dander.

We appreciate your feedback and take your comments seriously to improve our hotel and staff. Thank you again for staying with us! We hope that we can improve your stay next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (749)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

540 - 546 of 749 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2014

We have family in Sutherlin. There are a few other choices in town, and plenty in Roseburg, but we have had consistently great stays at this BestWestern. The rooms are clean, roomy and there is a real, cooked right there, breakfast in the morning! There's a deli-market, fast food and drive-thru coffee right next door. Easy on and off the 5.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank norcalhummingbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon K, Manager at Best Western Plus Hartford Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Thank you for your kind words. The staff and I are pleased to hear your family was happy with their stay! Our rooms are always exceptionally clean. Our housekeepers are rock-stars and work very hard. Thank you for noticing that our rooms are very roomy. Our chef cooks everything from scratch right in front of you for a more enjoyable breakfast experience. We only use fresh-cracked eggs and fresh vegetables. We do not use powders or substitutes! We are conveniently located near several restaurants to offer our guests a variety of dinner choices as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We enjoyed this place so much on our way down to California that we booked it for our return drive. It was a great place to stop. Clean, well-run, and quiet. The rooms were comfortable as were the beds. Nice touches like artistic displays of the washcloths, fresh cookies on check-in and made to order breakfasts. Would we stay here again? Absolutely. The only negative is that because it is a small community there are few places to eat. Pizza from Abbey's was superb.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank picky154944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon K, Manager at Best Western Plus Hartford Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

We are happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you next! Our Housekeeping always keeps the rooms exceptionally clean for our guests. We try to add subtle style touches to our rooms that are pleasing to our guests and also include little amenities like cotton ball and cue tips...You know, all the things we always forget to bring. We know our guests are usually very hungry after a long day’s drive and so we like to have Fresh Baked cookies ready as a little snack to tide them over until dinner! Please let us know your favorite cookie, so we will have it ready for your next time. Our Cooked-To-Order breakfast uses only fresh cracked eggs and ingredients. I am pleased to hear you chose to stay with us on your return trip. We will continue to provide the same excellent service that is expected of us on your return trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

This is one of my favorite hotels in Oregon--friendly staff, delicious cooked to order breakfast, very clean rooms, comfortable bed--what more could you ask for! You pay a little more but get so much more.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank lyndadocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon K, Manager at Best Western Plus Hartford Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thank you for staying with us...Again! We are happy you were happy with your stay. Our goal is to provide our guest with the Best Value and keep our customers as comfortable and happy as we can during their stay. We try to provide our customers with as many amenities as possible. Our Cook-To-Order breakfast is a favorite with our guests and keeps you coming back for more! Our housekeeping staff is pleased that their hard work is noticed and appreciated. Our pillow top mattresses allow our guests to rest as comfortable as possible. We hope to see you again soon! Thank you again for staying with us. We will see you again soon! Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Very nice, well kept, clean, great staff, good location for folks traveling I-5. The breakfast has all the normal things you find in a complimentary breakfast, plus, a person that will prepare hot items such as eggs, pancakes, omelets, etc. The property is very clean, the outside looks entirely new. The pool is good, and there is a Dutch Boys and McDonalds next to hotel. It's a great spot overall.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon K, Manager at Best Western Plus Hartford Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

I’m glad you enjoyed all our amenities! We try to provide as much as we can for our guests at the best value possible. All the cook to order items are fresh. The eggs are fresh cracked as well. No powders or liquids are ever used. Our property was recently remodeled to give it a fresh look. Thank you for noticing! Our housekeeping is held to a high standard. The housekeepers take great pride in what they do. This is seen in our exceptionally clean rooms and friendly staff. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Stayed here after a week camping trip with a toddler. The hotel was super clean and the staff was very friendly. The pool for the little one and the spa for the adults helped ease the our camping sore spirits, the free warm cookies didn't hurt either. Breakfast was good and there were several great choices even for a picky three year old. My daughter loved it so much that she begged us to stay another night. I wish we could have too. I highly recommend for a traveling family. You can't beat the value.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Michele F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon K, Manager at Best Western Plus Hartford Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Our staff is always pleased to assist guests any way they can and take pride in keeping the hotel and its rooms spotless. We are glad you enjoyed our Indoor Pool & Jacuzzi! Having them indoors lets us keep them open All Year Round. Since guests are snack-ish when they get off the road, our FREE Fresh Baked cookies are just a little something to tide them over until dinner. I will pass your compliments along to our baker. She bakes the cookies Fresh Daily. Our cook-to-order breakfast is always a favorite with Families. Children love our chocolate chip Mickey Mouse pancakes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

This hotel was by the one the THE BEST ever that we have stayed at. The rooms were spotless, the beds were the THE most comfortable ever and the made-to-order breakfast was awesome! We would stay here again ANY time we are in the Roseburg, OR area. This may be a few miles north of town, but it IS worth the extra few minutes of drive time.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon K, Manager at Best Western Plus Hartford Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Thank you for thinking we are “The Best.” Our housekeepers take great pride in their work. They are the best at what they do. We are glad you had a comfortable stress free night’s sleep on our pillow-top mattresses. Our cook-to-order breakfast is always fresh and hot! Thank you for taking the extra TEN MINUTES to drive to our hotel. We are glad you think we are worth it! We hope to see you again in the near future and are once again happy you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutherlin
11.1 mi away
Best Western Garden Villa Inn
11.2 mi away
Windmill Inn of Roseburg
12.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Roseburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#8 of 16 in Roseburg
61 reviews
11.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Roseburg
Comfort Inn Roseburg
#4 of 16 in Roseburg
129 reviews
18.5 mi away
Wildlife Inn
Wildlife Inn
#1 of 2 in Winston
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hartford Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hartford Lodge

Address: 150 Myrtle St, Sutherlin, OR 97479-9493 (Formerly Best Western Plus Hartford Lodge - Sutherlin / Roseburg)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Sutherlin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sutherlin
Price Range: £88 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Hartford Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best VALUE in the Roseburg Area! CLEANEST Rooms. INDOOR Pool/Hot Tub. FREE Cooked-to-Order breakfast! Just 5 Miles North of Roseburg, Oregon! LESS than a 10 minute drive! We are located just off of I-5 at exit 136. At the BEST WESTERN PLUS Hartford Lodge in Sutherlin, Oregon. We pride ourselves in our guests complete satisfaction, every day. Included for each guest at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Hartford Lodge is a full cooked-to-order breakfast as well as our signature Hartford Lodge Breakfast Buffet. We have an indoor heated pool and hot tub, fitness center, free Wi-Fi, onsite laundry facility, and a business center. Each guest room offers a microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, flat screen television, cable, HBO(R), and a DVD player. We are a pet friendly hotel with dedicated pet rooms. While you are in the Sutherlin area, be sure to visit the Wildlife Safari in Winston, Oregon, an award winning, globally known wildlife park nestled right here in southern Oregon! Also stop by Crater Lake National Park, home of the deepest lake in the country. The beautiful Umpqua River, which runs only through Douglas County, is another Oregon gem with a visit. Whether you are looking for an adventurous white water rafting exertion, a serene waterfall hike, a fruitful fishing trip, or a peaceful picnic, the Umpqua River is something you shouldn't miss! We are just minutes away from countless local southern Oregon vineyards and wineries, including, but not limited to: Reustle Prayer Rock, Henry Estate, and Melrose Vineyards. Our location makes for easy access to many nearby companies and corporations in the Sutherlin and Roseburg areas. We are a short jaunt from Allstate, Murphy Plywood, Orenco Systems, Premier West Bank, Umpqua Bank, Bi Mart, and Century 21. We are also a short drive from Roseburg Forest Products, Charter Communications, Costco, and KPIC TV. Stay with us at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Hartford Lodge in Sutherlin, Oregon to experience affordable luxury and the cleanest hotel rooms you've ever stayed in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Plus Hartford Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing