We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Umpqua Wine Region”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hartford Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sutherlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Great place to stay for wine tasting. Quick and easy off of I-5 with none of the Roseburg traffic. Newer facility with quality tile floors in bathroom and granite counter tops. Strong Wi-fi signal that never faltered which we have found lacking in other places during this vacation. We will definitely stay here again when touring the Umpqua wineries.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon K, Manager at Best Western Plus Hartford Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for your words of praise. We are conveniently located near several wineries. The Umpqua wineries are raising in status very quickly. They are the "Napa" of Oregon. Our wi-fi signal is always strong and we are a newer hotel that carries a high standard in every aspect. When you come back for wine we hope you visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (758)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

545 - 551 of 758 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014

Took a vacation for a few days to get away and chose to come to the Best Western Plus Hartford Lodge. Never stayed here before, but I am so glad that I did. Naomi greeted me and that reception started a great stay. The room was clean, comfortable and the service was exemplary. Everyone on staff was friendly and helpful. I enjoyed having a hot breakfast cooked to order by Sergio and his smile to start the day off. It was great weather, got to see parts of the area I had not seen before and having a place to come back at the end of the day that was quiet and relaxing was a PLUS! I highly recommend the Hartford Lodge. I will stay again in the future!

Room Tip: I stayed in the middle and found it to be very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon K, Manager at Best Western Plus Hartford Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Naomi and Sergio are invaluable parts of our team and I am sure they will be thrilled to hear that they helped to make your stay one to remember! It always makes us feel extra special when you remember our names.Guest satisfaction is always our goal. Our complimentary breakfast includes a cooking station with our chef, who can make made-to-order waffles, eggs and pancakes. We only use fresh-cracked eggs, no powders! We hope to see you again next time you pass our way. We’ll have a hot omelet waiting for you next time your here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Had planned a night at the Oregon coast on our way back from Seattle but with the traffic delays and heavy rains, we decided to head home instead. There is a nice Italian restaurant in Sutherlin & remembered there was a Best Western there also so decided to stop for the night. This hotel is wonderful! Very clean, lots of amenities and a fabulous hot breakfast. The beds/linens were comparable to the Marriott if not better and they actually have a separate makeup table area in a corner of the bedroom with all sorts of amenities to make our stay even better than most. Not sure why more hotels don't add this! We will be telling everyone to check out this hotel if they have a need to stay in the area. There is also an indoor pool and spa but we didn't have a chance to try it out. Perhaps next time.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Georia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon K, Manager at Best Western Plus Hartford Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Thank you for staying with us! Our rooms are always spotless because of our amazing housekeepers. Thank you for noticing all the extra amenities our hotel offers throughout your stay. We offer only the best to our guests! Our rooms are top notch and our indoor pool & Jacuzzi is open year-round. We hope you enjoyed the custom omelets cooked right in front of you by our chef with fresh-cracked eggs; pancakes and eggs the way you want them! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Having family in Sutherlin will bring us back many more times to this particular hotel..I can actually see the "Plus" extras that I usually can't spot..Lots of room with a nice decor and plenty of spaces to put luggage, and "stuff" we just can't live without while traveling.
Great comfortable bed with fluffy bedding, I didn't want to get up in the mornings!

We always travel with our pooch so we had a pet friendly room..Our room (122) however had a stinky dog odor smell upon entering..Not usually a problem we've encountered in "pet friendly" accommodations...Also $20.00 nightly pet fee seems a bit steep.

We sure do enjoy the breakfast room with cooked to order eggs...Many choices along with fresh fruit..Do wish they would get a better quality of breakfast meats though. We had a swim and jacuzzi this time , all excellent..The staff were very friendly and helpful..We look forward to our next stay..

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank TwoTeaTotalers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

This is a newer Best Western hotel with very good rooms and overall facilities. The service was excellent and Naomi is especially noted for her exemplary service and thoughtfulness. The only issue we had was with breakfast. They are cheapskates when it comes to breakfast, with the smallest coffee cups on the planet, attendant controlled food items to dole out just one sausage or one or two slices of bacon. There have put all their money into the physical facility and are squeezing their budget on the food costs. This is a pet friendly hotel, but unlike other Best Westerns with no charge for your pet, they charge $20 per night.

Room Tip: A quiet room near the far end of the hotel near the grassy area on the ground floor is perfect for t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwwcpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon K, Manager at Best Western Plus Hartford Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thank you for staying with us! As you noticed, our facilities were completely remodeled a few year back and everything here is fairly new! Naomi is an invaluable part of our team and I am sure she will be thrilled to hear that she helped to make your stay one to remember! It always makes us feel extra special when you remember our names.

We apologize that you were not satisfied with your breakfast. Our coffee cups are standard size cups. We had noticed that if we had the bacon and sausage out on the breakfast bar, there was a lot of food waste. Many people would take more protein than they could eat, and half of it would end up in the garbage. I am sure if you had requested for extra protein, the omelet chef would have happily accommodated your request. We want all of our guests to be full and happy for the day’s travel ahead. In addition, if the omelet from the omelet bar was alone on the dish, it would be a very lonely omelet. So we like to offer sides of bacon, sausage, and/or country potatoes to keep it company. The omelet bar is just another little plus we like to give our guests. We believe Hot & Fresh with personal service is the way to go. It provides our guests with Real Cracked eggs (Never powder or liquid) and fresh vegetables rather than just a line buffet of cold, pre-made food usually found in a standard continental breakfast...all with a smile. ;) I will talk to the omelet chef about putting a little more sides on the omelet dish so the omelet has lots of friends.

In regards to the pet fee, it is actually an average amount. We have researched pet fees at other hotels and have come up with the most reasonable amount. We took into account what other hotels are charging and also calculated the cost to clean the room with the necessary cleaning agents and extra time the housekeepers need to clean the room. The room is cleaned extensively after a pet has stayed with us. As you experience our rooms are VERY clean. Our housekeepers give extra attention to pet rooms to leave no trace of a pet. After a guest leaves the room with their pet, the room is stripped and the carpets are shampooed. Every surface is cleaned to bring the room back to a level that makes the room appear and smell as though it was just like any other room. No trace of pet hair or dander.

We appreciate your feedback and take your comments seriously to improve our hotel and staff. Thank you again for staying with us! We hope that we can improve your stay next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We have family in Sutherlin. There are a few other choices in town, and plenty in Roseburg, but we have had consistently great stays at this BestWestern. The rooms are clean, roomy and there is a real, cooked right there, breakfast in the morning! There's a deli-market, fast food and drive-thru coffee right next door. Easy on and off the 5.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank norcalhummingbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon K, Manager at Best Western Plus Hartford Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Thank you for your kind words. The staff and I are pleased to hear your family was happy with their stay! Our rooms are always exceptionally clean. Our housekeepers are rock-stars and work very hard. Thank you for noticing that our rooms are very roomy. Our chef cooks everything from scratch right in front of you for a more enjoyable breakfast experience. We only use fresh-cracked eggs and fresh vegetables. We do not use powders or substitutes! We are conveniently located near several restaurants to offer our guests a variety of dinner choices as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We enjoyed this place so much on our way down to California that we booked it for our return drive. It was a great place to stop. Clean, well-run, and quiet. The rooms were comfortable as were the beds. Nice touches like artistic displays of the washcloths, fresh cookies on check-in and made to order breakfasts. Would we stay here again? Absolutely. The only negative is that because it is a small community there are few places to eat. Pizza from Abbey's was superb.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank picky154944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon K, Manager at Best Western Plus Hartford Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

We are happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you next! Our Housekeeping always keeps the rooms exceptionally clean for our guests. We try to add subtle style touches to our rooms that are pleasing to our guests and also include little amenities like cotton ball and cue tips...You know, all the things we always forget to bring. We know our guests are usually very hungry after a long day’s drive and so we like to have Fresh Baked cookies ready as a little snack to tide them over until dinner! Please let us know your favorite cookie, so we will have it ready for your next time. Our Cooked-To-Order breakfast uses only fresh cracked eggs and ingredients. I am pleased to hear you chose to stay with us on your return trip. We will continue to provide the same excellent service that is expected of us on your return trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutherlin
11.1 mi away
Best Western Garden Villa Inn
11.2 mi away
Windmill Inn of Roseburg
12.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Roseburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Roseburg
Comfort Inn Roseburg
#4 of 16 in Roseburg
132 reviews
10.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#8 of 16 in Roseburg
65 reviews
18.5 mi away
Wildlife Inn
Wildlife Inn
#1 of 2 in Winston
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hartford Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hartford Lodge

Address: 150 Myrtle St, Sutherlin, OR 97479-9493 (Formerly Best Western Plus Hartford Lodge - Sutherlin / Roseburg)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Sutherlin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sutherlin
Price Range: £81 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Hartford Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best VALUE in the Roseburg Area! CLEANEST Rooms. INDOOR Pool/Hot Tub. FREE Cooked-to-Order breakfast! Just 5 Miles North of Roseburg, Oregon! LESS than a 10 minute drive! We are located just off of I-5 at exit 136. At the BEST WESTERN PLUS Hartford Lodge in Sutherlin, Oregon. We pride ourselves in our guests complete satisfaction, every day. Included for each guest at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Hartford Lodge is a full cooked-to-order breakfast as well as our signature Hartford Lodge Breakfast Buffet. We have an indoor heated pool and hot tub, fitness center, free Wi-Fi, onsite laundry facility, and a business center. Each guest room offers a microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, flat screen television, cable, HBO(R), and a DVD player. We are a pet friendly hotel with dedicated pet rooms. While you are in the Sutherlin area, be sure to visit the Wildlife Safari in Winston, Oregon, an award winning, globally known wildlife park nestled right here in southern Oregon! Also stop by Crater Lake National Park, home of the deepest lake in the country. The beautiful Umpqua River, which runs only through Douglas County, is another Oregon gem with a visit. Whether you are looking for an adventurous white water rafting exertion, a serene waterfall hike, a fruitful fishing trip, or a peaceful picnic, the Umpqua River is something you shouldn't miss! We are just minutes away from countless local southern Oregon vineyards and wineries, including, but not limited to: Reustle Prayer Rock, Henry Estate, and Melrose Vineyards. Our location makes for easy access to many nearby companies and corporations in the Sutherlin and Roseburg areas. We are a short jaunt from Allstate, Murphy Plywood, Orenco Systems, Premier West Bank, Umpqua Bank, Bi Mart, and Century 21. We are also a short drive from Roseburg Forest Products, Charter Communications, Costco, and KPIC TV. Stay with us at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Hartford Lodge in Sutherlin, Oregon to experience affordable luxury and the cleanest hotel rooms you've ever stayed in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Plus Hartford Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing