We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel OK, industrial location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cousin's Country Inn
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in The Dalles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed one night at this motel on a hot night in June. We got a room facing the highway, a gas station and so on. Not a very inspiring location even though it is near the very beautiful Columbia Gorge. On the other hand, it is very fast to go on and off the highway and reach nearby attractions.
The room was clean, noisy air conditioner as mentioned by another post. What I am not a big fan of is the sink being outside the bathroom in the room.
The price of the room does not include breakfast, but you can purchase it for a reduced price at the restaurant.
We ate dinner at the restaurant and it was pretty good, restaurant has a nice atmosphere too.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Monica078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escape L, General Manager at Cousin's Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. We appreciate your compliments on our cleanliness, location, and food. We do use each and every review as a tool to see what we are doing well and areas that need a little more attention. Thank you for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (567)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

402 - 408 of 567 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

Food was great, kinda weird to have peanutshells on the floor but easy enough to get past. Pool was nice and refreshing. Our room was really quiet.
There were alot of dogs around, but I nevere saw any messes! Very enjoyable!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Diane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Value for holiday weekend. The location is close to food, shopping and easy access to freeway.
The front desk was very supportive to my request for a room change. The
rooms could use updating, especially the back building, or least be less in
price. Our first room was exceptionally outdated and showed it's age. Our view was tall weeds and grass that grew higher than the bottom of the window. Dark, dingy and depressing.
We had to return to the front desk several times throughout the stay due to the keys would not work. I was told to throw the key away, and return when I needed more. This did not make me feel real secure. I would suggest the key system be updated.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Ginele H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escape L, General Manager at Cousin's Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you for review and nice words about our front desk staff. We work very hard to accommodate our guest’s needs and are happy to hear we were able to move you to a more suitable room. Our apologies on the inconvenience with your room keys. They can be very sensitive to car key locks, cell phones and magnetic items and sometimes these things can cause them to deactivate. I want to reassure you that your safety is very important to us and when the front desk makes new keys for your room, the old ones will no longer work. Again, we are sorry for the inconvenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We booked on-line, sight unseen on a road trip through Oregon (not knowing the area). All in all, no complaints -- everything was very clean, and everything worked. We had dinner in the restaurant on the premises, and the food was good, and portions more than enough. Our room faced the highway and it was a hot, humid night. So we had the choice of windows open listening to the interstate freeway, or windows closed listening to a really loud air conditioner... it just didn't sit well after hours and hours of driving -- it was really hard to relax. Try to get a room in the back; that would be much better. Staff was great, service was great -- just a very busy place, which made it hard to unwind.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Gail C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escape L, General Manager at Cousin's Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Cousins Country Inn. As you mentioned we are a very busy place that is conveniently located near the Highway. We certainly understand that the air-conditioners and highway traffic can make it hard to unwind and for that we do offer complimentary ear plugs. We are sorry that you didn’t have a more relaxing stay, but we are hopeful that you will give us another chance. Thanks for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

decided to stay here because of price. everything was pretty good. breakfast was okay. not big on the whole welcome cousin thing but hey it is a theme type place. pool was okay, a little small but okay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank orbigfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Although stay was an unplanned rest stop during a road trip, this inn did not disappoint. The property has a cosy, country and barn feel, with clean rooms and good amenities. It is also very well-maintained for an inn and has the added convenience of an in-house restaurant.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Y880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The bed was so soft that I had to sleep on pillows on the floor. The bed cover and decorative pillow was dirty and dusty. The towels/wash clothes thread bare. Had the room booked for 2 nights but left early.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nannette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escape L, General Manager at Cousin's Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We feel terribly that you had such a terrible nights rest! Mattresses are a tough one for us; as one that is too soft for some is too hard for others; but you definitely should not have to sleep on the floor. We will have our staff check and make sure there was not a malfunctioning frame so that other guests do not have the same issue.
In addition, I want to assure you that cleanliness is a priority for us and we apologize that your room was not up to our standards. As we have said before, we learn from each and every review and yours is no exception!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Dalles
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites The Dalles
3.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge
Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge
#4 of 9 in The Dalles
294 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Dalles Inn
The Dalles Inn
#5 of 9 in The Dalles
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
The Lyle Hotel
The Lyle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lyle
29 reviews
11.8 mi away
Balch Hotel
Balch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dufur
246 reviews
15.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cousin's Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cousin's Country Inn

Address: 2114 W 6th St, The Dalles, OR 97058-3524
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > The Dalles
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in The Dalles
Price Range: £69 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cousin's Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Cousin's Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cousin`s Country Hotel The Dalles
Cousins Country Hotel
Cousins Country Motel
Country Inn The Dalles
The Dalles Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing