We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keith's Review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in The Dalles
Klamath Falls, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Keith's Review”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Had an excellent stay at the Shilo Inn, in The Dalles Oregon. The room was clean and well equiped. I stayed there for two nights. The staff was helpful and friendy. I had a great experience with Paula the night Auditor, she vary very friendly and helped with some questions I had. The breakfast was good and got my morning started in the right direction. I would definetly stay again.

Room Tip: North side rooms have a great view of the Columbia river
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Keith, Thank you for your great review about your stay with us here. I am glad that you had such a great experience. I will pass along your comments in regards to our staff as they appreciate to hear that they are doing a great job. We look forward to welcoming you again. Thank you, H. Baker General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    64
    67
    74
    44
See reviews for
66
89
21
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
The Dalles, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Very disappointed. Fitness room still under renovation, looks like for over 6 months now. Very outdated rooms, loud freeway noise and no noise reduction from room next door. Management could at least try to make rooms more comfortable with adequate pillows and towels.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Chandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Chandra P,

Thank you for your review. I sincerely apologize that your experience did not meet your expectations. I hope that you will return for a future stay when our fitness room renovation is complete. Sincerely, H. Baker, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these The Dalles hotels

The Dalles, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Rooms haven't been updated since the 80s. Two tiny towels and only 1 wash cloth in a queen room. Old hard pillows. Not at all worth the price. Restaurant is pricey and I could have burned my own fish at home for a lot less money. Too bad as the location has potential!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdgff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear JDGFF,
Thank you for your commenting on your recent stay. I sincerely apologize that we did not meet your expectations. We value your comments, as we are constantly trying to improve our guest’s experience. I sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity to be of service to you in the future.
Sincerely, H. Baker-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meridian, Idaho
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We stayed at The Dalles Shilo Inn on our way to the Oregon Coast. We were pleasantly surprised. I had not read any of the reviews before our stay, but we did not have any issues. The wi-fi worked great. We did not hear noises from other guests. The bed was comfy and we loved our room. The decor is dated, but our overall experience with this property was good. We would stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank djbtravis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Djbtravis
Thank you for your recent review and for being a valued Shilo guest. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Sincerely, H. Baker-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermiston, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here many times in the past, but I think we will probably look elsewhere from now on. Yes, the place is well worn,the spa is still "under construction",the bar had 4 stools (most occupied by off duty staff) and it looks like the hotel is going to close at anytime. I paid $176.00 for 1 night with a pet and the night before we stayed at Oxford Suites on Jantzen Beach for $129.00 with a indoor pool, a working spa and a much better hotel.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Matt M,

Thank you for your review and for being a valued Shilo guest. I sincerely apologize that our spa was not operational and for the inconvenience you experienced. We are currently undergoing a complete refurbishment of that area. I hope that you will give us a future opportunity to regain your confidence when we complete the spa renovation.

Sincerely,
Heather B.-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fall Creek, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I had always thought Shilo Inns were a higher quality location. The Dalles location is in need of updating. There was no wifi in rooms. The bathroom door would not latch, the next room's TV sounded like it was in our room, and everything looked very used. We had considered staying at the Super 8. I think it would have been a better deal.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Ken D,

Thank you for your review and for being a valued Shilo guest. I sincerely apologize that your experience failed to meet your expectations. Your comments are important and will be used to improve our guest experience. I sincerely hope that you will allow us another opportunity to regain your confidence in the future.

Sincerely,
H. Baker-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We have never stayed at a Shilo Inn and will hesitate to stay in any of their inns. Once we checked in we noticed that the outside "secure" doors which supposedly needed your key only needed to pulled opened. So for security there was none. The hot tub was unavailable, the business center in the lobby was out of service and my husband had to go to the bar to get ice since none of the ice machines were working. Our room was very dated but it was clean. The shower had hot water once you were able to "find" it! I have never had a hard time adjusting the shower dial for 5 minutes trying to find the hot water! The breakfast was good. You got one of three choices. Ours consisted of 1 egg, 1 pancake and 2 sausage links. You also were given 1 c beverage choice.. Overall, I will certainly avoid this place in the future.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2014emptynesters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thank you for your recent comment on your stay with us here in The Dalles. I am sorry to hear that you did not have a great experience. We are continuing to work on the Spa Fitness area so that it may be utilized once again by our guest, and do apologize that you were unable to take advantage of the area. Please contact me at your earliest convenience so that I may identify which room that you stayed in so that we may address the issue with the shower controls.

Thank you,

Heather Baker
General Manager
541-298-5502.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Dalles
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge
Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge
#3 of 9 in The Dalles
281 reviews
3.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites The Dalles
2.4 mi away
The Dalles Inn
The Dalles Inn
#5 of 9 in The Dalles
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
9.3 mi away
The Lyle Hotel
The Lyle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lyle
28 reviews
0.4 mi away
Celilo Inn
Celilo Inn
#2 of 9 in The Dalles
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles

Property: Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles
Address: 3223 Bret Clodfelter Way, The Dalles, OR 97058-9718
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > The Dalles
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in The Dalles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilo Inn The Dalles Hotel The Dalles
The Dalles Shilo Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing