We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real unexpected find”
Review of Celilo Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Celilo Inn
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in The Dalles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2012

After a day of exploring the Columbia River Gorge, we decided to spend the night in The Dalles instead of heading back to Portland or the coast. We were attracted to the retro MOTEL sign twinkling in the dusk and out of curiosity, drove up to see what it was like.

What a surprise! This was unlike any other motel I have stayed in. The young woman at the desk was extremely pleasant and accommodating, giving us a great rate on a room with a view of the dam and king bed, and informed us of the fire pit and complimentary glass of wine. (which I took advantage of) The real selling point for us coffee drinkers was the Stumptown coffee, granola, and fresh pastries in the morning.

No flowered bedspreads here, decor was modern and stylish with a comfortable bed and would not be out of place in an urban boutique hotel. The pool was being drained so I was unable to use it the next morning, but they had a very small fitness center which was fine.

We plan to revisit the area again as we loved it so much and wouldn't think of staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
celiloinn, General Manager at Celilo Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2012

Hi Chelsea,
Thanks for your stay and we are glad you enjoyed the facilties. We are sorry the pool was being cleaned that day, but hope you can come back and enjoy it next time. Hope you had a great tour of the Columbia Gorge!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (599)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

503 - 509 of 599 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2012

Four of us stayed at this completely renovated hotel that sits on the hill overlooking The Dalles dam on the Columbia River this lastg Sunday. We were treated to a complimentary wine tasting and grilled burgers with the works as a pre-concert festivity. We were not originally going to take the shuttle bus to the concert at Maryhill as it is an easy, short drive to the Maryhill Winery, and the price was a bit steep. The shuttle bus rate went down and so we took the bus and it was fun, fun, fun!
Complimentary continental breakfast with good coffee was super!
Our only suggestion: is to arrive at a reasonable rate to charge for the shuttle and stick to it. It is very frustrating to hear from other guests or clients that "only paid $XX" versus what was quoted to us even up to the point we checked in, and then the rate dropped a bunch! . It is a small issue, but worth noting. Other than that, we'll be back and thanks for the generous hospitality!

Room Tip: The king rooms up front have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichlandTripsrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

On the hottest day of the year (so far), it was like riding up to an Oasis! The staff in the lobby were wonderful and our room was perfect and cool!!!! The pictures did not exaggerate, the rooms are comfortable in size and the bed and linens..... we slept like babies. The pool was refreshing and the bus ride to the concert was the best! Our driver was competent, funny and patient! One of my favorite motorcycle trips by far. Have already recommended the Celilo Inn to friends! Great place -- thank you so much! Oh, and the burgers and wine before the concert were excellent!

Room Tip: #36 nice view and across from the pool :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhonda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We loved everything about the Celilo Inn-- it is clean, comfortable, with a reallly cool vibe. The rooms are great, although a little on the small side. We were in a jr. king, and the room size worked well for us. We had an amazing view of the river. The people are very nice, and there are a ton of little extras. They have live music some nights, and even a cookout with wine one night. The breakfast was simple but perfect for us (fruit, granola, pastries). It was a great stay.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank leslie003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

My husband and I went out to visit the Columbia River Gorge which runs between the states of Washington and Oregon. We stayed four nights at the Celilo Inn and enjoyed it very much. The room was clean and comfortable with an amazing view of the Dalles Dam - the pool was great for swimming and just sitting in the sun to read. Breakfast is served in the lobby - there is coffee available all day, and the staff was very helpful.

Room Tip: We asked for and got a handicapped accessible room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walpoleartlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

This is a recently remodeled motel. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. We stayed here prior to the Chris Isaak concert, and we were very happy! They provided a BBQ and wine prior to the concert. The extra special bonus is that they offer a free shuttle both ways. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmlibra06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We had a wonderful weekend at the Celilo Inn. It is nestled into the hillside above the Dalles Dam, and from the very nice patio you can also see Mt. Hood. We used it as our base to explore the Gorge, and in the two days we had, we were able to see petroglyphs, Maryhill Museum, drive back roads and visit the Dalles Dam. We chose Celilo Inn because we were attending a concert at Maryhill Winery and they offered a free shuttle. By the look of all the hundreds of people in line for the parking shuttle when we left on our bus, we made a good choice! The staff was so friendly and made great suggestions for places to eat. The rooms were excellently appointed, and the beds were very comfortable. We enjoyed the large shower and the real tile floor. And we liked the retro feel of the place; it has been beautifully rehabbed from the old MOTEL it was. Breakfast was adaquate and coffee and iced tea were out all day. We will definitely come back, and highly recommend!

Room Tip: Make sure to get a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Libby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Dalles
4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites The Dalles
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge
Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge
#4 of 9 in The Dalles
297 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Dalles Inn
The Dalles Inn
#5 of 9 in The Dalles
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
19.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
10.7 mi away
Balch Hotel
Balch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dufur
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celilo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celilo Inn

Address: 3550 E 2nd St, The Dalles, OR 97058-9669
Region: United States > Oregon > The Dalles
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in The Dalles
Price Range: £66 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Celilo Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dalles Celilo Inn Hotel in The Dalles Oregon has modern rooms and spectacular views. Our Columbia Gorge lodging features patio with firepit, fitness room and complimentary wine at check-in. Ask about our Winery Tour package: Special Rate for two people, Deluxe King View Room and Guided Wine Tour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Celilo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing