We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent Stay!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Celilo Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Celilo Inn
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in The Dalles
Certificate of Excellence
Florence, Oregon
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

We booked this place through a LivingSocial deal........it was everything they promised. The room was very clean well appointed, clean, no froo-froo frangrances to trigger a migraine!!

The staff was super friendly and very helpful. They were very knowledgable of the area restaurants and recommended some excellent choices. Excellent, fresh ground coffee in the mornings in the lobby. cooffee service in th rooms too, just really good cooffee in the lobby.

We will be looking forward to staying here again.

Room Tip: Our room was on the outside facing the Columbia River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katherinejones49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry W, General Manager at Celilo Inn, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Very happy that you will be returning. We will have the coffee on!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    200
    39
    10
    5
See reviews for
59
291
37
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
seattle
Level Contributor
136 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Didn't get a chance to experience the small bagels, but most everything else was wonderful and exceeded expectations. Clean, quiet, well planned rooms at a great price. We had one of the smaller rooms in the back row and were very pleased. Two small areas for improvement: Better in room coffee and upgrade the pillows. Aside from that, all good.

Room Tip: The cheapest rooms are more than adequate. Keep your windows closed at night for the most quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seattlenativemike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry W, General Manager at Celilo Inn, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for staying with us! And, taking the time to give a review. We will look into the coffee item.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Everyone working here is great--desk people, housekeeping, GM. Breakfast is fine, though the staffer didn't know that there were also real-sized bagels to be served. Both days we only got the cheerio-sized minis.
The view is great and location wonderful. Clean, smallish rooms. Nice shower. discount coupons for area restaurants.

Room Tip: I prefer the upper row.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank headingaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry W, General Manager at Celilo Inn, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for your nice comment for our staff and the General Manager. Let us know when you will be returning, so we can hide the small bagels from the breakfast set up. Look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Would definitely stay here again and recommend to others. Chris was a welcoming and entertaining host. We were greeted with a complimentary glass of wine and a nice view from the patio. Room was a little on the small side but had all the amenities.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry W, General Manager at Celilo Inn, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. I will share your kind comment to Chris!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

I have not actually stayed at Celilo Inn. I made a reservation to try out Celilo as I have been working in Dallesport. I came down with laryngitis and had to cancel. I was not able to give the 48 hours required notice. I did call 24 hours in advance. Celilo would not refund my money. I completely understand if they could not re-book my room that I would be charged but I think the offer could have been made to attempt to re-book my room. I have to be back in the area another 3 times in the next couple of months and will not be staying at Celilo.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scheurer_sharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry W, General Manager at Celilo Inn, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Your late cancellation charge was forwarded to management, who had tried to get in contact with you by phone. Seeing your comment, we will try to reach you through this communication. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

This was my first overnight in The Dalles and this inn will be my choice on the next trip. Things I liked: 1) the view of the dam complex is fantastic both day and night, 2) the glass of wine after a day of driving was a really nice touch, and 3) the toilet is an ADA type; raised and elongated. I hate trying to fit my fat behind on a doughnut squatted on the floor. Take a king room; more room and better view. You want to be in the lower tier of buildings. Breakfast was not impressive, but most free ones aren't.

Room Tip: Rooms on the lower level have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank forestrySeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry W, General Manager at Celilo Inn, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for staying with us. We are doing a few little changes to our breakfast. Please stop by and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
222 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

I agree with one of the other reviewers about not letting the road up to this great motel turn you off about staying here. We had a king room with a view and the view was great. The room was very clean and the bed was one of best we have slept on in a long time. The breakfast I would call as a light one but could be adequate for light eaters. The staff was friendly and very polite. When we come back later this summer for some bicycle rides (MTB) we will be staying here again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GuyWagon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry W, General Manager at Celilo Inn, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for the "off road" comment. The location was great when the property was developed back in the 50's, HWY 30 used to go right by it then. Come see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Dalles
3.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites The Dalles
2.7 mi away
The Dalles Inn
The Dalles Inn
#5 of 9 in The Dalles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge
Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge
#4 of 9 in The Dalles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
10.6 mi away
Balch Hotel
Balch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dufur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
21.8 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
#2 of 8 in Hood River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celilo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celilo Inn

Property: Celilo Inn
Address: 3550 E. 2nd Street, The Dalles, OR 97058
Region: United States > Oregon > The Dalles
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in The Dalles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Celilo Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dalles Celilo Inn Hotel in The Dalles Oregon has modern rooms and spectacular views. Our Columbia Gorge lodging features patio with firepit, fitness room and complimentary wine at check-in. Ask about our Winery Tour package: Special Rate for two people, Deluxe King View Room and Guided Wine Tour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Celilo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing