We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible service”

Columbia Portage Grill
Ranked #54 of 69 Restaurants in The Dalles
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lyle, Washington
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Horrible service”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

All 4 of us hated our meals and the service incredibly bad. Will never go back!

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank mcadamialover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    11
    14
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
95 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Not high on my list at The Dalles”
Reviewed 3 August 2011

This restaraunt has had many management and menu changes over the years, some good,some bad. Right now the theme is Cajun. The view is beautiful,the food is mediocre... The prices are kind of high as they have always been. We usually eat elsewhere when staying at the Shilo at The Dalles. Shilo should really take over this restaraunt,as it varies greatly for quality and is always kind of spendy. We don't mind spendy if everything is excellent,but here is kind of hit and miss. Our recent meal here was O.K. but nothing to write home about! There are better places to eat in The Dalles.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 5ptelk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Awful the chesse burger had mold on the buns, gumbo tasted like it was out of a can”
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Awful the cheese burger had mold on the buns, the house specialty tasted like the gumbo was out of a can. The food wasn't salted enough or seasoned. Disgusting I would never choose to eat here ever again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pastrygirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Jordan, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“great view”
Reviewed 30 July 2011

I did not find it hard to get a table. The service was slow but the food was good, and the view was excellent

  • Visited July 2011
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RuthAylworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Dalles, Oregon
1 review
“Portage grill now”
Reviewed 1 January 2011

As for the other review... they no longer have a salad bar, they havent for awhile, so maybe your facts are a little off. The portage grill has an amazing view and very high spirited staff. The cajan food is wonderfull along with the american entrees. The Creole prawns and the Newport halibut are two of my favorites.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ShaylaCoker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Columbia Portage Grill also viewed

 
The Dalles, OR
 
The Dalles, OR
 

Been to Columbia Portage Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing