We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to drop in”
Review of Clock Tower Ales

Clock Tower Ales
Ranked #8 of 69 Restaurants in The Dalles
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Clock Tower Ales is a new pub in The Dalles, Oregon. They offer pizza, salads, sandwiches, wraps and many appetizers. They are working on their own brews but until they perfect them they offer many wonderful brews, all on tap. It's a bright and happy place with great pizza and beer. The bartender, a friendly young lady, was happy to discuss local fishing and other recreational opportunities in the area. We thoroughly enjoyed our pizza and our visit to Clock Tower Ales. We will definitely be back the next time we pass through. Really fun place.
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
234 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Great place to drop in”
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

We stopped by twice this weekend and had some of our favorite Mack and Jack African Amber. The second time we both ate and had a salad and a wrap. Both were very good and the wait staff was right on time when needed. The staff were very friendly also. We will go back again.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank GuyWagon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    97
    46
    7
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Go for the beer and atmosphere, not the food”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

This is a fun place to have a beer and socialize. The old Masonic Hall has been transformed into a local favorite gathering place. Trivia night is well run, and the variety of room sizes is a plus. I haven't had a meal there that I've enjoyed, however. The coffee is expensive, and the sandwiches are big but not very good. The last sandwich I had was a chicken breast that was thick and tough. It was actually hard to eat.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fromthedallesOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Dalles, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Slowwwwwww, poor service”
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Waited 1/2 hour just to get a drink and some
Menus, and another 15 minutes before we even saw another wait staff member..... If I wanted to sit and just be ignored, I would have stayed home.

Helpful?
Thank Wave_rider7676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgway
Level Contributor
73 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good place on a sunny day”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We read about this place in Trailer Life in a travel article and decided to stop in. Situated on a corner location with outdoor seating in front, the place is easy to find and there's ample street parking. Service was good and selection of brews was large. A fun place for groups to meet or to have a lunch. We were happy we took the time to find this place and enjoy lunch there.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LazyCatRidgway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great piece of history with a big TV!”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We wanted to find a place to watch the Duck game. Not only does the historic site captivate, but the big screen TV hosts many popular games.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank CALORNEV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Clock Tower Ales also viewed

 

Been to Clock Tower Ales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing