We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch your head”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in The Dalles
Certificate of Excellence
Carefree, Az
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Watch your head”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We had three adults. We were put in a room with a king bed and a sofa bed. The room was behind a stairwell. It was cramped. Only one person could move around at a time.

It is a bit hard to find. A sign indicating a left turn after eneting the commercial area would be helpful.

The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Resque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    88
    36
    9
    8
See reviews for
80
88
13
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pleasant Grove, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Comfortable and clean rooms, but the staff is what made our stay wonderful. Metta and Caprice went out of their way with incredible and friendly service. They offered assistance in anything we needed. Felt like family.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitzie_allred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_staff, Manager at Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for the great review! I am glad you felt at home at our property. I will forward your review to Metta and Caprice. We hope to see you here again soon!

-Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermiston, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

it's located in a weird location and takes a little extra effort to get there. It's tucked away from the main roads but is right next to the freeway on ramp but don't worry you DON'T HEAR a thing in these rooms! No cars, no doors, no other guests! The little room is quiet but full of furnishings and little extra space. Breakfast is above average. Staff very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank She_Taz68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_staff, Manager at Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time and wrting a review of our hotel! we are glad you had an enjoyable, and quite stay at our property. We hope to see you here again soon!

-Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Nice location, big rooms, accept dogs - no dog run associated with the property. Staff had no idea of city parks for dog walking, staff had no idea of restaurants other than the fast food joints with neon signs. A nice breakfast is offered. The staff failed to offer accessories for making morning waffles.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yellowbilledtours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Orchard, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Cheers: desk personnel were terrific. Kudos to breakfast hostess Caprice, she is a jewel. Mattress has a 'trough' suggesting its reaching the end of its service life. It's fine for one person not two.

Room Tip: Please check into a fresh mattress for room 212. Thanks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeannie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_staff, General Manager at Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. I am very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and were pleased with our staff. I agree, Caprice is awesome!

I have made a note to the maintenece departemnt to examine the matress in your room, and we will address the issue as soon as possible. Hope to see you here again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
330 reviews
210 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

We were not looking for a resort or anything really high priced as we traveled across Oregon yesterday evening. The inns closer to Portland seemed to be so high priced. I was very happy when I found the Comfort Inn on TripAdvisor at a decent price.

The inn looks very much like other Comfort Inns, but what really made it stand out for us was the exceptional service and attention of the check-in clerk. I am on crutches, so he gave us one of the best suite rooms in the inn right next to the exit door, so I didn't have to walk far to get to my room. The room had a few housekeeping issues that we promptly reported to the desk clerk, and he called us up on the phone to tell us how sorry he was that it happened. He told us that he was going to reduce our rate by $40.

We slept comfortably there and would return.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank karoleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_staff, General Manager at Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. I am very pleased that we were able to accomodate you while you were on crutches. I hope you make a speedy recovery!

I would also like to apologize about the couple of housekeeping issues in your room, I am glad we were able to make it up to you guys. I hope to see you here again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
isle of wight
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Nice Hotel, lovely Location, room nice, and very clean, Breakfast okay,Bed very comfortable, Staff very helpful, didn't like the room we had,so they changed it for us .The Dalles is a nice area, very near the Dam, and Bridge, would recomend

Room Tip: Try and get room at front
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stevemag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_staff, General Manager at Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. Yes, we do have a great location. 40 wineries in the Gorge, water rafting, wind sailing, rodeos, the list goes on and on. Please stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Dalles
3.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites The Dalles
2.2 mi away
The Dalles Inn
The Dalles Inn
#5 of 9 in The Dalles
513 reviews
18.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 8 in Hood River
193 reviews
19.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
0.6 mi away
Celilo Inn
Celilo Inn
#2 of 9 in The Dalles
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge

Property: Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge
Address: 351 Lone Pine Dr, The Dalles, OR 97058-9737
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > The Dalles
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in The Dalles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Hotel The Dalles
Comfort Inn The Dalles
The Dalles Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing