We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Refreshing Change”

The Bistro at Water's Edge
Ranked #31 of 69 Restaurants in The Dalles
Price range: US$5 - US$15
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
213 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“A Refreshing Change”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We were looking for a restaurant where we could avoid greasy, heavy food and this place was exactly what we wanted. We had salads (one smoked salmon cobb and one chef salad). The salads were so big we couldn't finish them. There was beer and wine available as well as coffee, tea, and juice drinks. It was a good antidote after three days on the road.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DoubtingNag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    14
    8
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fresh, friendly, delicious!”
Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

I highly recommend this as a nice stop for fresh, delicious food and a beautiful atmosphere. The entire facility is modern, immaculate and placed in a breathtaking setting. Staff was very friendly. Just great all around! If we lived in the area, I would be a regular at the Bistro, spa and fitness center!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pugs3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacific Northwest
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice option, unique selections.”
Reviewed 6 July 2013

What I liked about this place:

Great food options. Flatbread, sandwiches, Indian curry was the special of the day. Easy to find something for everyone.

Good beer/wine selections, coffee was really good as well.

Bright and open with large windows

It has a patio option that looks out to the river, but it was pretty windy the day we were there.

Friendly service.

The only problem we encountered when we ate there was that the food wasn't real hot, just warm. Not sure if this is normally a problem but its certainly not a deal breaker. Would recommend, and will eat here again!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank BillieJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallesport, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service”
Reviewed 5 July 2013

I have been here A LOT. It's a great place to meet friends since it's close to bridge at The Dalles Dam. The food is very good! It's made when you order and it's So Fresh. Local ingredients make it even more tasty. You can special order/change things too-the people who work here are SO nice! They always go out of their way to serve/help. I use a cane to walk, and after my friends leave I'll sit for awhile-it's very nice. Twice, I've had one of the servers offer to carry my take out to my car-and they did. You cannot beat that kind of service!
Come by and try the Delicious Food!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MargyS_62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brush Prairie, Washington
Level Contributor
189 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Nice sandwiches, nice atmosphere, nice wait staff”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

creative sandwiches, large!, and the espresso was above average. Them menu was chosen to be not your typical sandwich shop...a refreshing change to the routine.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank EclecticAero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bistro at Water's Edge also viewed

 

Been to The Bistro at Water's Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing