We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of The Dalles Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Dalles Inn
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in The Dalles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Happy Valley
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The Dalles Inn is in a convenient downtown location with very clean rooms and super comfortable beds. We had several contacts with the staff over a 3 day period, and they were always very friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast is in a restaurant type atmosphere with a better than most selection. Although we did not use the pool, it looked inviting. There was a nice selection of DVDs available to rent if you felt like a movie.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our ground level outside room. Even though it was only a small parking lot away from the...
See more room tips
Green Features: Appreciate their "green" policy. As with many motels, it is your choice for reuse of sheets and towels (could have used a towel bar to hang bath towels for reuse.). They also use energy efficient lights.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fearsmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    218
    68
    21
    9
See reviews for
124
189
42
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This is my second time here. The bed and pillows are very comfortable. I usually bring my own pillow when I travel, but was totally happy even though I forgot it! The breakfast is very good-they even have waffles. I will return.

Room Tip: I was in 327-which was on the street side and I could hear highway noise. I'd recommend trying t...
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank KittyGritty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The Inn is a modern hotel with the usual amenities including a pool. The breakfast room used to be a restaurant and is quite comfortable, with booths. Super clean rooms, super comfortable beds, great downtown location. Nice decor. Very helpful staff who gave us a 10% off coupon for Baldwin Saloon for dinner. A great choice for travelers to The Dalles.

Green Features: This is an environmentally-friendly hotel, which is important to many travelers.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Forcrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Mateo, California
1 review
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The most comfortable pillows ever! If you're going to a wedding at St. Peter's Landmark church, this is where you want to stay. We ate next door at the Clocktower and across the street at Burgerville! Both excellent! View of the Columbia River! AC was quiet.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizrieke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Came to the Dalles area and needed a place to sleep for the night. And felt like not getting a cheap room but spending a little extra. This place had some nice pictures and certificate for 2014. So i knew it would be great, well it was the room was big and clean and pool was great.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McCall, Idaho
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Older hotel with some updates. Finish work in rooms is not great so takes away from overall tidy look (mostly in bathroom). Otherwise very clean with wi-fi. Fridge didn't work, we needed the fridge so we were moved to an upgraded room with no charge. Also very clean and much roomier than just a single queen. Soap and shampoo are dispensers on the shower wall so if you like a bar of soap bring one or ask for a couple extra little bars. The shower head was an adjustable type that worked very poorly and was clogged with minerals and made it a bit tricky to shower. Breakfast area was very clean and tidy but very limited, only hot dish was a waffle or toast, didn't see any fresh fruit. Over all adequate stay but with some small tweaks this would be a clean and nice place to stay at a reasonable rate.

Room Tip: See full review.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snomom52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

My four year old son and three year old lab came with me for a quick overnight. Clean, friendly, comp warm breakfast, warm outdoor pool. Very nice and look forward to staying again. Lisa and Renee were especially accommodating.

Room Tip: All I saw were good
See more room tips
Green Features: Acceptable practices. And now we need a few more letters.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DH713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Dalles
1.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites The Dalles
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge
Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge
#4 of 9 in The Dalles
267 reviews
17.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Balch Hotel
Balch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dufur
225 reviews
2.7 mi away
Celilo Inn
Celilo Inn
#2 of 9 in The Dalles
553 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cousin's Country Inn
Cousin's Country Inn
#3 of 9 in The Dalles
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dalles Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dalles Inn

Property: The Dalles Inn
Address: 112 W 2nd St, The Dalles, OR 97058-1706
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > The Dalles
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in The Dalles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Dalles Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A wonderful hotel in the historic downtown district of The Dalles. Stay in the heart of the Columbia River Gorge with its many outdoor activities. Stroll the charming streets of the historic downtown taking in the history and dining in the local restaurants. Enjoy complimentary continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi, fitness center, and seasonal outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Dalles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dalles Hotel The Dalles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing