We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food. Great value.”

Cousins' Restaurant & Saloon
Ranked #3 of 69 Restaurants in The Dalles
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food. Great value.”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Appetizers and drinks are discounted during happy hour(s). Staff was friendly. Marionberry pie was delicious!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank dtaperfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    191
    84
    14
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Northwest
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Still the Best”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

If you want great comfort food this is the place for you! We have been eating here for years when we drive through and the quality is always the best.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank NorthwestBaseballmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
437 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Great Family Stop”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Great salad and wonderful service. Menu had something for everyone in our group. Stopover after kids basketball game. Quick and clean.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank LLP1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
180 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Good service, disappointing food. Great specials in bar area.”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Went to Cousin's for a comfort food fix, but we were both left disappointed by the food. I had the mac n cheese, and it was obvious it had been sitting out a while before it arrived on the table. The cheese sauce was congealing and the rigatoni was cold til I stirred it up. The five cheese sauce was bland and watery, as well. My better half had the chicken fried steak, which had a weird, overpowering taste of ham to the gravy that overpowered everything else. The mashed potatoes and gravy it came with were also bland. Not all was bad, though; a bowl of French onion soup was quite flavorful and properly smothered in Swiss cheese. The hot bread and fresh churned butter that came with the meal were amazing - we ended up getting a second mini-loaf, it was so good.

The service was always prompt and friendly, and drinks were refilled before they were empty. The "grandma's farmhouse" atmosphere was fun...total roadside Americana. The bar area had dinner specials far better than the main dining areas - there were $5 burgers and cheap pints available if we'd eaten in that part.

Next time we visit we'll eat in the lounge and see if we have better luck with the food.

Helpful?
Thank GlobalVagabonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escape L, General Manager at Cousins' Restaurant & Saloon, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
We appreciate your review of your dining experience with us. As we have said before, we truly use each and every review as a learning tool and yours is no exception. We pride ourselves on providing home-style cooking at affordable prices for our neighbors and visitors alike and are sorry that we weren’t able to do that for you. We are happy to hear that you will return and give us another chance to provide you with not only great service but great food too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, WA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Extremely warm, friendly, service”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We entered the restaurant and immediately heard, "welcome cousin". Nice way to start a meal. We were seated, ordered and served in a timely fashion. The meal was good and the price was fair. Weeks after we got back home, we got a postcard in the mail from our "Cousins". I won't forget this restaurant and will go back as often as possible. Great marketing!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tilt00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cousins' Restaurant & Saloon also viewed

 

Been to Cousins' Restaurant & Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing