We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for one night”
Review of Motel 6 The Dalles

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Motel 6 The Dalles
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in The Dalles
PNW
Level Contributor
173 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Ok for one night”
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Our room looked like it had been recently redone. It was clean and the AC worked very well. Furnishings were nicer than most Motel 6's I have stayed at. It did look like the taping and plaster work was done by an amature but other than that the room was nice.

The hallway walls and floors were nowhere near as clean or nice as the room.

Convenient to the interstate and a few places to eat not far away.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RLB_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    26
    38
    7
    10
See reviews for
33
25
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

The receptionist was friendly. That's the only thing positive about the place. It was filthy and in need of repair. The tub had cracks in it, which almost disguised the hairs that were in it.The lighting was horrible. There was a lamp but no where to plug it in. I think there were four stations on the TV, none of which were entertaining or newsy. Breakfast consisted of coffee and the kids were each allowed one cup of cocoa. That was it! I was nervous leaving my vehicle in the parking lot overnight. I found the "security" door ajar every time I went through it

Next time we visit The Dalles, think we'll play it safe and stay at the Best Western in Hood River. It'll be worth the 20 mile drive for what we want top do in The Dalles.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danswife2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these The Dalles hotels

Prineville, Oregon
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We have stayed at this Motel 6 several times in the past 3 mos. We get a pretty good internet rate and although the rooms are on the small side, they are very clean and
comfortable. The only complaint is that yes, the hallway does not look clean. We've
seen them cleaning so think they just need to replace the carpet It is just fine for a
quick overnight...

Room Tip: Rooms seem better on the 2nd floor which is non smoking at this Motel 6 and on the west side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cowboy070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

I just read the other 3 reviews and have never had those experiences at this motel. We have stayed here probably 10 times or so over the years and have always had typical motel 6 experiences. As far as $60 goes, apparently there are few excess rooms in the Dalles. Everywhere is expensive.(there is a motel 6 in my town that raises its rates every weekend and lowers them during the week). I've never smelled cigarette smoke inside the motel, and never smelled urine in the building. It always seems clean to me. I can't comment on the noise complaint because I am hearing impaired. My wife has never complained though. We stay there because we are just looking for a place to sleep and then leave when we are there. If we were going to spend much time in the room I would probably look for something a bit roomier. The room had a microwave and a refrigerator. Coffee was available in the lobby. We will be back next time we need to stay a night in the Dalles.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slider05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

First, $60 for a Motel 6 is too much--they just aren't worth that much. I got there about 10:30 in the evening and started bringing my things into the room. The hallway to the room was filthy. Not dirty, but filthy. The room, however, was clean. My main complaint about the room was that it was very noisy. The AC/heating unit was very loud. I even wore earplugs and had trouble sleeping and was awakened several times during the night from it. I tried shutting it off and living with the heat but then, since it was within a stone's throw of the interstate, the traffic noise was very loud...even with earplugs. I also found the pillows too uncomfortable to use since they were too thick. Fortunately, I had a sleeping bag that I ended up using for a pillow.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else to get the best room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tatom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
177 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

I don't know why a hotel would have smoking rooms on the first floor and non-smoking on the second floor. Smoke rises! The entire second floor is designated non-smoking, yet it smelled like a smoked-up bingo hall.

I agree with previous reviews. The place could use a scrubbing. Compared to other hotels in the area, prices were really good and that is why we stayed there. I have stayed in worse places, so I cannot give it a terrible rating.

If you need a budget place because you don't want to sleep in the car... here you have it!

BTW: free coffee and tea in the morning in the hotel lobby; both items were awful.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CndTrvlr042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2011

I have stayed in many Motel 6 locations, so I don't expect the Waldorf-Astoria, but this was among the worst. The receptionist was a little gruff but friendly, but entering the first floor hallway, I was greeted by a strong smell of urine and unwashed bodies. The hall carpet looked like it hadn't been shampooed in years and was fraying. Upstairs was a little cleaner, and while my room was clean (except for a pubic hair and urine streaks on the toilet seat) but it reeked of chlorine bleach and, oddly, chewing tobacco (I didn't find any). The motel is close to the freeway and a busy railroad line, so the noise was fairly loud all night. Soap was provided, but no shampoo. The manager obviously does not read these comments or does not care, but I would recommend that this motel be avoided at all costs.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aachenville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Dalles
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites The Dalles
1.5 mi away
The Dalles Inn
The Dalles Inn
#5 of 9 in The Dalles
504 reviews
3.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge
Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge
#4 of 9 in The Dalles
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
17.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 8 in Hood River
189 reviews
0.9 mi away
Super 8 The Dalles OR
Super 8 The Dalles OR
#6 of 9 in The Dalles
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 The Dalles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 The Dalles

Property: Motel 6 The Dalles
Address: 2500 W 6th St, The Dalles, OR 97058-4161 (Formerly Huntley Inn 73)
Region: United States > Oregon > The Dalles
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in The Dalles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 The Dalles 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Motel 6 The Dalles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Six The Dalles
The Dalles Motel Six
The Dalles Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing