We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, and nicely priced.”
Review of Motel 6 The Dalles

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Motel 6 The Dalles
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in The Dalles
Surrey BC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean, comfortable, and nicely priced.”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Newly remodeled in the 'modern' Motel 6 style, this place has been given the laminate wood floors, furniture with no drawers, and the flat screen TV treatment. Thankfully though, it still had a table and chairs, and not the silly diner booth thing I have seen elsewhere. I guess that the wood floors are easier to maintain, but I really prefer carpeting.

Pros...
-Good price.
-Friendly and quick check in.
-Clean and comfortable.
-Appliances all worked well.
Free Wifi was useful.

Not really cons, but things that kind of brought it down..
-Being right across the road from the freeway made it kind of noisy.
-Pretty small bathroom.
-Sink and mirror in a bit of an awkward spot immediately inside the door, in the way of the door.

For me, 3/5 stars is what I would rate a place that merely meets my expectations for the price I paid, this Motel 6 beat those expectations enough to move up to 4/5.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    26
    35
    7
    9
See reviews for
31
25
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prineville, Oregon
Level Contributor
59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We have stayed several times here and this time we were very pleasantly surprised to find that the hotel has been updated. New carpet in the halls, nice and very clean. The rooms are updated in the "new" Motel 6 chain decor modeled after European motels. Rooms are freshly painted with new linens, curtains, flat screen tvs, micro and fridge.Price remains at the same which is a very reasonable " senior" rate and with free WIFi. Fresh hot coffee in the lobby 24X7 and a friendly staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cowboy070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plummer, Idaho
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

A very basic, "No place else to stay" hotel. Fair price. No clocks or wall hangings in room. Phone was cutting out to front desk. Towels were better then the Super 8 in the same town. Microwave and fridge if you need it. AND working flat screen TV! Also better then Super 8 in same town. Sheets and towels were clean, but the floors could use more attention. Needed some deep cleaning/vacuuming. It met our middle of the night need for sleep.

Room Tip: Quiet ground floor room next to car dealership.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLE0864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Arrived on the last day of a car show in town. Hard to find a room but they were available here. The sticker shock was the price had been upped to $89.00 for a single room. It totaled out to $98 including tax! The desk manager explained that prices went up because of the car show. I thought this better be the best Motel 6 ever. It was an average Motel 6 although the room did have a microwave and refrigerator. Breakfast was minimal and it would be better to move on and get a real breakfast. Staff was friendly and helpful. I learned a lesson that if possible avoid event towns unless you are there for the event.

Room Tip: First floor away from highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Checked into the Dalles Motel 6 around 10 p.m. after a long drive nearing the end of a 3 week road trip. Had to take a single bed queen for three of us (myself, my wife and teenaged son) but fortunately we had a camping cot with us. Small, utilitarian, but clean room with everything we needed, which was essentially just a place to sleep. Overall, nothing spectacular, but what you expect when you stop at a Motel 6. The exit door to the parking lot was a bit of a security concern – the push bar assembly was half-detached, which meant getting in and out a bit of a challenge, but it wouldn’t have taken much to break in. One major highlight – this Motel 6 has the FASTEST wifi I have ever seen in a hotel – nearly 30 MBps! That would be a major consideration if I was staying more than a single night.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Surprisingly cute (small) room which my wife described the room as "immaculate." Wi-fi is free and reasonably fast. The outdoor pool is heated. AC was effective. Fridge and microwave in room. You get soap but no shampoo or conditioner. Front desk clerk was friendly. The five stars is for value for the money.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeremyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Check in was pleasant and fast. Ground floor room with a window looking at our car. This Motel 6 offered a few more towels than the one in Willows, CA. The carpet is probably due for replacement, perhaps a laminate flooring would be in order. Two queen beds were comfortable.
We picked up dinner and a bottle of wine from the deli in nearby Safeway.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadianCruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Dalles
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites The Dalles
1.5 mi away
The Dalles Inn
The Dalles Inn
#5 of 9 in The Dalles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
3.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge
Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge
#4 of 9 in The Dalles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
15.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
6.3 mi away
No photo provided
The Lyle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lyle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 The Dalles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 The Dalles

Property: Motel 6 The Dalles
Address: 2500 W 6th St, The Dalles, OR 97058-4161 (Formerly Huntley Inn 73)
Region: United States > Oregon > The Dalles
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in The Dalles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 The Dalles 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Motel 6 The Dalles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Six The Dalles
The Dalles Motel Six
The Dalles Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing