We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Facility But Misses the Mark”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Portland Tigard
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Tigard
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“New Facility But Misses the Mark”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

As a frequent business traveler, I routinely use Priceline to select a hotel near my meetings, away from noisy freeways, and tend to select 2-3 star hotels in suburbs with free parking. If satisfied with my visit, I return frequently. This hotel is newish, has a decent set of weights and machines, a pool, and a "bistro" in its center.

However, it misses the mark!! No newspaper is outside your door free in the morning. No free breakfast is provided. And lastly, they play games with the food prices in the Bistro. They price everything at "convenience" levels. So if I want to have breakfast sandwich, they charge about $6, about 3 times the McDonald's rate. If I want to buy a sandwich, the price is $10 with a beer at $6. So do you think I am stupid?? I just get in my rental car and drive a short distance to Stanford's to have a $4 craft beer with a real $5 sandwich.

In sum, it is a nice facility with a lousy value proposition. I will go elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonessquared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    74
    23
    4
    3
See reviews for
40
34
7
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

This hotel on the outskirts of Portland has a welcoming front desk, limited service from the Bistro in terms of when meals are available (breakfast), and Starbucks for the coffee. A bar/grill restaurant is about 1Km down the road which was very popular and provided good meals.
There is internet access freely available in the Bistro/front desk area which is reasonably well set up. The flight check in said we were checked in but that wasn't the case so not sure what was wrong.
Rooms are spacious, clean and with a lounge settee included was more than adequate for a 2 night stay. The a/c fan was very noisy but with a recent dump of snow was needed. Matters made worse by a lack of blankets on the bed but found in wardrobe - why not already on bed makes you wonder.
The gym and pool are an extra bonus and certainly useful for the business traveler.
All in all an adequate business type hotel but could provide a bit more with the Bistro option.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BickleNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita Falls, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Positives: Hotel appears to have been remodeled in recent past; rooms include flat panel TV's, nice furniture which includes easily accessible outlets at headboard and desk. Very clean, friendly staff. Free internet, with good connection and decent speed. Easy to get to and from. Small "convenience" store area with water, soda, etc for purchase.

Negatives: Most Courtyards I've stayed at have a on site restaurant that has a breakfast buffet and table service at night. Not here. The former restaurant area is now an extended lounge area with some tables, and a service bar that offers light meal service. Menu items include several soups / chili, a couple of sandwiches, flat bread pizza, and for breakfast several items like french toast and scrambled eggs. Order and pick up at a counter. After a long flight in, did not really look forward to chili with a slice of texas toast with melted cheese on it and a soda for just over $11.

Overall: I like the hotel itself, but would probably want to look at other dining options for meals. Current on site dining option just isn't that great. Nearby Holiday Inn Express offers free morning breakfast option.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JMMtx1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
922 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Its a place set up for the business traveler. Its close to the Highway, making a easy on and off access. They lobby looked new to me and the staff meet me with a smile. Check in was easy and the rooms were like most Courtyards. You seen one you seen them all. I did not like the placement of the TV, but the room was close to all the others. My view was of the busy road, so i just looked the other way. Ended up driving to Wine Country and so glad I did. Its about 1 hr away, but if you have time take the trip. thumbs up for this place.

Room Tip: I was in room 404. It overlooks the busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, wa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

I stayed two nights recently at this hotel. It has been recently updated, so includes the bistro options, which are great. The location was also very close to our office in Lake Oswego, OR. As previously indicated, the hotel is just off I-5, so access to Portland or 205 is great. Food and happy hour was great. The beer selection includes local micro brews. Rooms were clean, and the internet was fast, which really helps when traveling for business. Next time I am in the area, I will be staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edandjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We stayed for 3 nights and had a great experience. The size of the rooms made it very comfortable and allowed for our family to spread out and relax. We had an issue with our remote for the television on the first day and the front desk had maintenance up to our room within minutes of our phone call. They fixed the problem, and about an hour letter we received a card at our door apologizing for the issue and inside was a gift card for the restaurant for our family. Price was great, we will definitely return when back to Tigard.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tagmata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Easy access to I5 yet quiet (we were on west side away from freeway). Received a very good rate for a last minute reservation. Easy checkin and checkout, people are friendly and the rooms are clean. No issues whatsover. Easy access to Portland on I-5 -- about ten minutes up the freeway. There are not many restaurants within walking distance (there is a Burgerville and a Starbucks that are very close); however, there are many good restaurants within a short drive. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChipOffTheBlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tigard
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland/Lake Oswego
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel At Bridgeport
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Portland South/Lake Oswego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Washington Square
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portland South - Lake Oswego
3.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland - Tigard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Portland Tigard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Portland Tigard

Property: Courtyard Portland Tigard
Address: 15686 SW Sequoia Pkwy, Tigard, OR 97224-7160
Region: United States > Oregon > Tigard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Tigard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Portland Tigard 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Portland Tigard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Portland Tigard Hotel Tigard
Courtyard Tigard
Tigard Courtyard
Tigard Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing