We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Washington Square
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Tigard
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Portland, Oregon
1 review
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

My wife and I chose embassy suites as the place to celebrate our 21st wedding anniversary,we booked our room on line with hotel.com and were told we would have a nice room to celebrate our anniversary. When we arrived we were told that they were all booked and could not honor our reservation. They said that they could give us a room in the newer part of the hotel,when we went to the room we could tell this was not the newer part of the hotel. Over all this was a completely disappointing stay.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mckirkwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott_Youngblood, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Washington Square, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Mckirkwood,

As the hotel's general manager, I want to personally apologize for your disappointing stay. We hate the thought of anyone's anniversary being lessened by their visit to one of our hotels.

Yours is an excellent example of the potential difficulty associated with 3rd-party online travel agencies. We encourage travelers to take advantage of the Hilton Family Best Rate Guarantee and place reservations directly with us. Your requests are then properly documented and understood at the hotel. We are provided with the contact information necessary to notify you, in advance, if there are any obstacles to honoring your requests. We're also better-informed so that we may take extra steps to ensure that you're delighted with your stay.

We are looking forward to your 22nd anniversary and the opportunity to make your visit memorable and enjoyable.

Safe travels,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    594
    383
    150
    52
    36
See reviews for
476
242
41
348
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Embassy Suites are perfect when you desire two separate sleeping rooms and this hotel didn't disappoint. With Target literally across the parking lot, it makes for easy purchases if you want to pick up something and bring it back to your room. The mall is super close to walk to as well and features the Cheesecake Factory which is always a bonus. Overall the hotel is getting a bit tired (carpet etc.) but it was clean and delivered what we needed. Breakfast was great however we skipped the omelette line up which was quite long given how many sports team were in house over the weekend. Afternoon snacks and cocktail reception are always great. Free parking is appreciated. We drove into downtown and it took approximately 15 mins which was great. I would definitely stay here again and I recommend it if you are visiting Portland. Perfect alternative to staying downtown where the rates are higher and parking is expensive.

Room Tip: Try and ask for a higher floor so that the noise from the lobby doesn't affect your guest room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momofthecs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott_Youngblood, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Washington Square, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Momofthecs,

Thanks for sharing your experience. We love that you enjoyed your visit and appreciate you taking time to write a review!

You've heard commuters say that timing their drive 10 minutes earlier or later can have a profound effect on their morning. This is true of an Embassy Suites breakfast, as well. Our peak weekend breakfast period is between 8:30 and 9:30am. If you're able to arrive a bit earlier or sleep a few extra minutes, it may make the omelet line worthwhile!

Thanks again for your kind remarks and please, please, please come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, Oregon, United States
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Most people would select this property for the location, right near Washington Square Mall. Family friendly. Lots of dining options nearby. Target store right behind. It is getting older but they do a great job keeping it looking nice. I am impressed with housekeeping and the great job they do at this older hotel. Always enjoy the managers reception, noticed the food is a little better when it isn't a Friday or Saturday night.

Room Tip: You don't really hear your neighbors, but upper floors have some good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott_Youngblood, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Washington Square, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Dear Sharon M,
Thanks for your kind remarks and valuable perspective. We are truly fortunate to have such a terrific location with the unique combination of retail, dining and recreational options you've noted. We're even more fortunate to have an outrageously focused and fun team to keep the hotel looking nice, deliver excellent dining experience, and strive to continually improve your experience. Thank you for staying with us and please come visit again, soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ammon, Idaho
1 review
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Everything was wonderful with our stay at Embassy Suites except the internet. It was way too slow and if you wanted a faster speed, you had to pay for it. Makes it difficult when you are traveling for work and need it to work.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank kenmel99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott_Youngblood, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Washington Square, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Dear Kenmel99,
We appreciate your terrific review and excellent feedback. Personally, I appreciate your comments regarding Internet bandwidth. We are piloting a new program with tiered Internet service, tailored to the specific needs of our guests. This affords us the opportunity to deliver "free" basic service which guests have come to expect from hotels, while balancing the considerable investment required for very high bandwidth for those travelers who need more for work or personal entertainment.
We will continue to refine this program to meet and exceed your expectations. in the meanwhile, we're grateful for your loyalty and praise. Safe travels,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prineville, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The hotel was sold out, both in terms of rooms and conferences. Perhaps over-sold. During our three day stay, there were a minimum of three simultaneous events at all times, and four on Friday afternoon. This caused conflicts for our event as conference rooms were available later than promised, or we were moved on a moment's notice, prohibiting a proper set-up and requiring re-positioning of supplies. An inadequate number of luggage carts resulted in long delays for unloading vehicles and a subsequent vehicle jam at the main doors. The three elevators were very busy with children headed to and from the pool, resulting in some long waits. But the worst problem with this property is the totally inadequate parking. What parking spaces exist are all very narrow, basically subcompact size. And there are just not enough spaces for the combination of guests and conference attendees! Weekend parking is a bit easier, since the adjacent office building has parking available on Saturday and Sunday.

Despite the problems of logistics, however, most other aspects of our stay went well. Staff were all friendly and helpful. Breakfast lines were tolerable despite the crowds, and there was plenty of hot food and coffee. The evening cocktail reception lines were short and the drinks O.K. Noise levels in the nine story common area are moderate to high depending on time of day, but the bedrooms are quiet. The rooms are clean and in good repair. Overall, this property is a good value.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Desert_Searcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott_Youngblood, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Washington Square, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Dear Desert_Searcher,
I am often surprised and delighted by the insight that savvy review authors bring with their observations. Your feedback is both insightful and actionable. Thank you for that.
We are sharing internal dialogue this week about your concerns regarding our busy conference center, availability of luggage carts and parking during busy events. By studying your feedback and needs, we are confident in our ability to improve processes and your next experience. We appreciate your support of our team and look forward to serving you again, soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

The service was good at the front desk and at breakfast. This is a very big Embassy Suites with lots of folks attending conferences at their center.

The room overall was good. We did have several pieces of broken furniture in room 641. They included missing springs on the fold out couch - we couldn't actually use the bed, broken legs on the desk, dripping shower, light fixture next to bed broken from wall.

Because the fold out couch was unserviceable (due to springs) we had to request two roll-away beds. The front desk had them up to us within 15 minutes - good service.

The breakfast was good, but the hot food (pancakes, eggs, potatoes) were cold. Great service there though.

The gym is very nice, but again ran into a broken tread mill that wasn't properly marked as 'out of service'. I reported it to the front desk.

We also used the pool - no issues there, but I can see it getting pretty crowded - like any hotel pool does.

Overall, pretty good hotel, it's looking pretty worn down and needs some more regular up keep -- it's a big hotel, so I'd suggest they look at their maintenance processes and increase the inspection intervals.

Service was very good.

Room Tip: I asked for and received an 'off-atrium' room from the front desk. Great service down there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bryan5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott_Youngblood, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Washington Square, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Dear Bryan5150,
Thank you for your well-written review and kind remarks concerning our service team. While I'm embarrassed and sorry that you encountered these conditions in the first place, your specificity helps us respond to these issues very quickly. Our mission is to upgrade your next review title to VERY Good Embassy Suites and you have my commitment that we'll achieve just that. Thank you again and safe travels,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eureka, California
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Our suite, as well as all public areas in the hotel, were very clean and in good condition. The staff we had contact with were all friendly and helpful. There was a long line for made to order omelets but other than that we were pleased with the breakfast variety and the cocktail hour.

Room Tip: Rooms in the North Tower are off a hallway that leads away from the atrium, and the noise that comes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMasaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott_Youngblood, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Washington Square, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear LMasaki,

We truly enjoyed having you visit us during spring break this week! Your traveler tip regarding the quieter north tower suites is excellent and our guests are better served as a result of your insight and feedback. As someone who stays at a lot of Embassy Suites, we especially value your feedback!

Enjoy your weekend and we hope to see you (both) again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tigard
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Suites Southwest
#58 of 142 in Portland
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Washington Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Washington Square

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Washington Square
Address: 9000 SW Washington Square Rd, Tigard, OR 97223-4426
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Tigard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Tigard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Washington Square 3*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The impressive Embassy Suites Portland Washington Square hotel in Tigard, Oregon is next to the Washington Square mall and only a short drive from downtown Portland. A complimentary full cooked-to-order breakfast is served each morning and in the evening guests are invited to the Evening Reception featuring complimentary drinks and light snacks. Guests enjoy the convenience of being near Portland and other area attractions such as Washington County vineyards, the Oregon Zoo, and Children's Museum. The hotel is also located near many Portland business corporate offices, perfect for business travelers and is equipped with over 24,000 square feet of meeting and event space to host business meetings and large events and receptions. Business facilities include a business center, meeting and conference rooms, printing and copying services, audio/visual equipment rental and banquet rooms. The 100% non-smoking, all-suite hotel boasts beautifully decorated spacious two-room guest suites. Each suite features a private bedroom and separate living room with a large well-lit work/dining table. The suites are designed with comfort in mind and include two cable televisions, two telephones, Internet access, refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. The hotel has an on-property Crossroads Restaurant & Bar serving a menu of fresh Northwest entrees for lunch and dinner. Room Service is also offered daily to guests. Guests of the Tigard hotel have access to recreational facilities including the indoor pool and fitness center. Complimentary shuttle service to nearby sites is also provided for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Washington Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Hotel Portland
Embassy Suites Tigard
Tigard Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing