We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Washington Square
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Tigard
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 14 June 2014

When visiting Portland, my family and I usually stay in a downtown Portland hotel due to the proximity to the city, but decided on the Embassy after my inlaws suggested it. I'm so glad they did. While not in the city center, the location was terrific with the Washington Square Mall approximately 2 blocks away and a Target to the rear of the hotel and within easy walking distance. The Oregon Zoo, Rose Garden, Japanese Gardens and downtown portland were all a short, easy drive away. The complimentary breakfast was probably the best that I have ever seen with a made to order omelette station and a variety of breakfast meats, fruits, eggs, pastries, and bagels. The manager's reception in the evening, which is also complimentary, offered a variety of snacks and veggies that could easy be supplemented to equal a full dinner by ordering from the restaurant in the lobby. The cocktails served during the reception, which were also free, were very good and the table service during this time was awesome. Both breakfast and evening reception is held in their spacious, relaxing lobby and we had no problems finding ample seating for our larger party. Despite other reviews, we had no trouble with noise during our stay. We were on the 9th floor, 2 doors away from the elevator and we heard nothing. Our room was their standard suite, clean and well equipped with all necessary amenities and the beds and pillows were comfy. The enclosed indoor pool and spa were centrally located on the ground floor directly across the main elevators and main reception seating area so it was very convenient for our party to relax in the evening while one adult watched the kids and switch off. The staff we encountered were always friendly and very helpful. The amount of money we saved on breakfast alone was well worth the tony bit extra you pay at this hotel. This will become a regular spot for us when we travel to Portland.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main tower are closer to the elevators and lobby although may be quieter if located...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Queenorbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott_Youngblood, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Washington Square, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear Queenorbit,

Our staff will be celebrating during every departmental meeting today! Your kind remarks and newly found loyalty mean the world to us! We are so appreciative of your terrific review and can't wait to welcome you back to our hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,278)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

840 - 846 of 1,278 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2014

Like most of the Portland area, geography makes for some interesting ins and outs of a small parking lot. It's location was not an easy one to find your way around the area to get to other places, like restaurants in the vicinity.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelvetiaCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott_Youngblood, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Washington Square, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear HelvetiaCH,

Thanks for your review. Our parking and neighborhood orientation can be confusing for some guests. I'm very sorry for that frustration.

Thanks, too, for commenting on our updates in-progress. While we're very excited to be freshening things up, we'll remain focused on delivering a great hotel experience for every guest, every day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed here for a family wedding in the area. Great location, the staff was curteous and very helpful. Ample parking and easy to get in and out of lots. The rooms were large and comfortable. Breakfast was really good with large selection to choose from.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Darrie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott_Youngblood, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Washington Square, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Darrie B,
We're so glad you chose to stay with us while attending the wedding. Your feedback is always appreciated and we are certainly grateful for your business.
Safe travels,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Perfect place for shoppers and business travelers that have business in Beaverton area. (ie Nike or Intel) Easy access to Portland freeways. The property is a little worn but the staff is wonderful! Great service with smiley faces.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Theoldercouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott_Youngblood, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Washington Square, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear "theoldercouple,"
Thank you very much for your review and kind remarks concerning our team! We greatly appreciate your business and hope to serve you again soon.
Safe travels,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Wow, This Embassy Suite is awesome the best one I have stay in. The service from when you walk in the door until you leave is excellent. I got in late and the hotel was like 99% booked but they had my room that I ask for not like most of the Hilton hotels That was a first. The room was real clean smelled great, the breakfast was excellent the chief is a riot, he made the morning. The general manager was even out there helping out cleaning tables and helping with the food they were so busy,which was great. Highly recommend, when we come back will be staying there again.

Room Tip: 408 corner room, quiet, lots of room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott_Youngblood, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Washington Square, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear James R,

We can't thank you enough for your kind review! I hope it's apparent how much fun we have at work. I'm incredibly lucky to spend my days with an extraordinary team who takes our profession very seriously, but not ourselves.

We look forward to your next visit and Chef (Wild) Bill will be waiting (with bad jokes) for your arrival,

Safe travels,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This hotel is absolutely the best for families and people with dogs. Very helpful and friendly staff willing to go out of their way to meet customer's needs in every way. Our kids loved the breakfast items, with the hot ones changing daily. Adults loved the evening reception with complimentary drinks and snacks. The best part is that the rooms are large, one bedrooms with a small refrigerator and microwave area that closes up. The furnishings are super clean and beautiful and the pull out sofa is actually comfortable. Lots of areas for dogs to do their stuff with many access doors to outside. Very convenient to huge mall and excellent restaurants.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank dawnybb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott_Youngblood, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Washington Square, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Dawnybb,

Thank you very much for your great review! We love four-legged guests just as much as their two-legged companions! We're so pleased that you enjoyed your visit and can't wait to welcome you back!

Wishing you many happy returns,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I love staying at Embassy Suites, but now that I don't do so for work, I rarely do as they are a bit pricey for me. But, this hotel had a very good senior rate, so I jumped at it. It is a very nice place, as are all Embassy Suites. But, be aware that this hotel is near a major mall in the Portland area and it attracts a lot of families with children. We stayed on a weekend and on Saturday evening and Sunday morning there were many, many kids running around. The pool is supposed to be adult only after 10 pm, but my wife went down and found the pool full of kids well after 10. The evening reception and breakfast were crawling with young children. The pandimonium died down on Sunday night and Monday morning, but there were still a lot of kids at the hotel.

Room Tip: If you book online you can opt for a corner room for an additional charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grizz9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott_Youngblood, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Washington Square, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Grizz9,

Thank you very much for your feedback and helpful traveler tip. There were an awful lot of families with children this weekend and I'm so sorry for the added noise and activity.

Unlike most atrium hotels, we're fortunate to have an added tower of suites off the atrium. In addition to upgraded corner suites, all of our tower suites offer greater relief from loud families and excited children.

Lastly, I'm very sorry for permitting kids in the pool after 10PM. That choice was entirely mine, in an effort to tire out dozens of excited children so they'd be quieter when heading up to the floors. I'm truly sorry for the inconvenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tigard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Comfort Suites Southwest
#56 of 144 in Portland
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Washington Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Washington Square

Address: 9000 SW Washington Square Rd, Tigard, OR 97223-4426
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Tigard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Tigard
Price Range: £100 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Washington Square 3*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The impressive Embassy Suites Portland Washington Square hotel in Tigard, Oregon is next to the Washington Square mall and only a short drive from downtown Portland. A complimentary full cooked-to-order breakfast is served each morning and in the evening guests are invited to the Evening Reception featuring complimentary drinks and light snacks. Guests enjoy the convenience of being near Portland and other area attractions such as Washington County vineyards, the Oregon Zoo, and Children's Museum. The hotel is also located near many Portland business corporate offices, perfect for business travelers and is equipped with over 24,000 square feet of meeting and event space to host business meetings and large events and receptions. Business facilities include a business center, meeting and conference rooms, printing and copying services, audio/visual equipment rental and banquet rooms. The 100% non-smoking, all-suite hotel boasts beautifully decorated spacious two-room guest suites. Each suite features a private bedroom and separate living room with a large well-lit work/dining table. The suites are designed with comfort in mind and include two cable televisions, two telephones, Internet access, refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. The hotel has an on-property Crossroads Restaurant & Bar serving a menu of fresh Northwest entrees for lunch and dinner. Room Service is also offered daily to guests. Guests of the Tigard hotel have access to recreational facilities including the indoor pool and fitness center. Complimentary shuttle service to nearby sites is also provided for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Washington Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Hotel Portland
Embassy Suites Tigard
Tigard Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing