We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Washington Square
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Tigard
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 2 September 2014

This trip was an annual school clothes shopping spree with my daughter and granddaughters. Started when our kids were in school! Unfortunately the fluxating prices have made the annual trip a bit tighter, as the cost to stay in August has risen substantially. We love the hotel, the staff and the service, but will need to start searching elsewhere due to the price hike.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank StanRene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott_Youngblood, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Washington Square, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear StanRene,
Thank you for your sustained loyalty and business. We certainly hope to keep you as our customers and certainly appreciate your concern with the ever-increasing prices that hotels charge. We will do everything we can to ensure that you find excellent value in our hotel next August and beyond.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,304)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

812 - 818 of 1,304 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2014

Stayed here with my kids and had mixed experiences with hotel and it's service.

The Good: Good location near shopping and mall area, really nice breakfast buffet included in rate, larger rooms with comfortable beds, large parking lot offering tons of free parking, and a great breakfast staff that were really welcoming, helpful, kept the foods stocked and the restaurant area very clean (they were spot on as far as employees go!!). Hotel was attractive and the setup made it great for keeping the rooms quiet.

The bad: Hot tub was too cold and could use a good scrubbing/discoloration on bottom (we have a hot tub and this can be corrected), front desk staff was hit and miss (some were really nice & helpful, others were not so welcoming & seemed as though you were bothering them), and housekeeping was not as great as I thought it should be with a hotel of this star level. Our room had what seemed to be a large piece of gum stuck to the carpet near the bed and when we opened the bedding bag for the pull-out, the blanket was dirty with what looked like blood on it. The sheet was already on the pull out which makes me think it was used before as most hotels do not keep these on permanently. When we called for replacement bedding (had to call twice) it took them 2+ hours before we got them which put us up past 12:00. Needless to say we were all very tired because of this the next morning. Wouldn't have complained about this but after the first call and waiting over 1 1/2 hours for the bedding to be delivered, I had to call again and go thru the whole explanation about how the bedding was soiled, whether or not it we needed 2 blankets and a sheet etc. I felt as though the front desk was bothered by the call and that we were being too picky by wanting new bedding.

Overall, our stay here was okay but not what I expected when staying at a star of this level. We travel often and have stayed at 2 1/2 star hotels that have a more helpful staff and cleaner rooms. I would stay here again if I got a great deal on a discount website but would not pay full price online. There are alot of better options in the area that have better service, cleaner rooms, and a working hot tub.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott_Youngblood, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Washington Square, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear Debbie H,
We appreciate your review and feedback. Your favorable mentions were very nice and we appreciate your compliments. However, the cleanliness and service issues you described are surprising and unacceptable. Please know that we will fully investigate and address the concerns you've reported.
Thanks for being our guest and we hope to earn your business again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014

My wife and I spent Saturday night before Labor Day here. There was very little that we liked about the experience. It was like being a drone in an ant colony. Lines everywhere. Not enough of anything to go around including water pressure in the shower! Food at the breakfast buffet was not worth eating and to make it even worse we had to wait in line to get it! We gave up on trying to order an omelet. The line was that long! Then good luck on getting a place to sit in order to eat the pathetic food we fought the lines to get. I was glad i grabbed a knife because I needed it to cut the pancakes! They were that tough! My wife said the coffee was good. There was no exhaust fan in the bathroom of our room. The parking spots were so narrow it was difficult to get the car doors open once we did find an open parking spot! The wait for the elevators was ridiculous! There was a pool made for maybe 15 people to use in comfort, yet there was at least twice that amount of bodies in it at all times! Overall not impressed.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott_Youngblood, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Washington Square, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Mr. Milburn,

Please accept my apologies for the conditions you've described. As you witnessed firsthand, the Saturday night of Labor Day weekend is one of the busiest nights of the year at an Embassy Suites. Spacious suites and a hot breakfast make ours the most desirable hotel brand for families, and couples or individual travelers can easily feel overwhelmed on such a busy occasion.

Regardless of whether we had two and a half times the normal number of occupants on a sold out night, the quality of our offerings must never waiver. To that end, poor food quality is never acceptable and I will be addressing your concerns internally. We truly appreciate your feedback and regret not giving you the experience you deserve. I would be delighted to discuss your concerns personally.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Arrived at the hotel late on a Sunday night. At first appearance the interior is outdated and reminiscent of the hotel from The Shining. The furniture and fixtures in the suites are mismatched and the only attempt to update was to purchase flat screen TV's. The WIFI would not work the entire week. The bar staff is friendly along with the morning front desk crew, but customer service is lacking everywhere else. One night my colleague and I finished business late and upon arriving at the hotel decided to give the onsite restaurant a try. The service was slow, inattentive, and we never received all the items we ordered. Our business in the area held us over by 2 extra days and we could only extend one of our reservations. Our attempt to return to the hotel was side tracked by a driver who rear ended our car while we were stopped at a red light. After our trip to the emergency room we returned to the hotel to remove my colleagues items from his room so he could check into another hotel. The front desk supervisor Mike informed us that his items were already removed from the room and instead of placing them into the luggage storage behind the front desk they were placed into my room. I explained to Mike that even though we work together neither of us felt comfortable with the items being placed into my room even after a do not disturb sign had been affixed on the door for a week. Instead of apologizing Mike informed us they just figured that would be ok. We asked to speak with a manager and we met with Joe Gonzalez who I later found out was the restaurant manager. Upon explaining the situation to Joe and stating the concern of having the items placed in my room even though a do not disturb sign was affixed to the door. Joe proceeded to say "Is that all" and then decided to lecture me on the checkout policy of the hotel. I explained how the checkout time was not an issue, but the fact someone else's belongings were placed in my room even with the do not disturb sign on the door. Again Joe stated is that all? I will never stay at this hotel again, but rather check into a Marriott location considering my platinum status. The way this management handles their customer service is subpar and appalling. Considering the location is a 30 minute drive away from downtown Portland (without traffic) and the price is comparable with downtown hotel locations I would recommend another hotel and cut out the nuisances.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bakes419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott_Youngblood, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Washington Square, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear Bakes419,
What a terrible experience and review... Your stay was very disappointing and frustrating and for that, I'm very sorry. We will make every effort address the issues you've described. We hate the idea of having upset a customer, as you clearly are, and we wish you safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights while visiting family in the area. Noticeably friendly staff, very nice complimentary breakfast and a nice gym also. We have 2 teenage sons so I prefer true suites (separate sleeping areas with a door) and embassy suites fits the bill.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Amybowie_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott_Youngblood, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Washington Square, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Amy,
Thank you for your terrific review. As a Senior Contributor to TripAdvisor, your kind remarks mean the world to us! We love families like yours and appreciate that you find the value and benefits that Embassy Suites brings to family travel. Please don't be a stranger and brings the boys back, soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014

We typically stay at hotels a step or two down from the Embassy Suites but are glad we made the change this time. Our daughter-in-law was having a C-Section birth for our second granddaughter. We were able to get the room at the rate negotiated with the hospital for visitors. Check-in was quick and easy. Staff were very accommodating and friendly. The entry was a small living area with a couch and 40" TV along with a desk where we used our laptop. The space between the living area and the bedroom had a small wet bar, a closet where a small frig and microwave and coffee maker were housed. The bedroom had two double beds (others have King beds) which were very comfortable, a closet, dresser (upon which was another 40" TV)and bed stand between the two beds. From 530PM to 730PM they had a managers reception with complimentary snacks and well drinks. The bartender was great as was Kelsey who waited on us then and at the complimentary made to order hot breakfast in the morning. Our only complaints were that the thermostat was hidden behind the door between rooms which we never closed and didn't find until near the end of our second day. The room was a little cold till we found it but I didn't want to complain. The other thing was a small but obvious stain on the toilet seat. I'm sure it was built up cleaning spray but I still did not like it. Our other Granddaughter loved the pool and played there a lot. We would stay there again and probably will.

Room Tip: Ask for a room reasonably close to the elevator or else you might have to walk quite a ways as it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Don312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott_Youngblood, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Washington Square, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Don312,
Congratulations on the birth of another granddaughter! Kelsey was delighted to read your comments and our Chief Engineer has already been to your suite and sent you a separate message.
We hope your next grandchild gets to enjoy the pool with your first and that we get to welcome you back for years to come. Safe travels and thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

My criteria: clean/comfortable room/bathroom, friendly staff, good location and reasonable price. Straight A's for the Embassy Suites in Tigard!! Checked in late on a Thursday pm and was greeted by friendly staff who seemed to be expecting our arrival. Suite was spacious and very very clean. Pool and jacuzzi very clean. Breakfast was excellent, food delicious, varied and plentiful. Breakfast staff extremely attentive and polite (even though it was a busy soccer tourney weekend and the place was packed). From the lady cleaning the elevator windows to the lady at the gift shop - everyone was super friendly and helpful. After breakfast, a couple family members enjoyed shopping next door at the mall while rest of us relaxed in our room. We were refreshed and ready for a day of site-seeing in Portland, just a short drive away. There is an elegance and professionalism about this hotel I appreciate so much - and yet everyone so down-to-earth and genuinely cheery. You are doing so many things right, Embassy Suites - we will be back soon. (only reason 4/5 for sleep quality is the extra cot and sofa bed mattresses were uncomfortable - could feel the springs and rather squeaky every time someone moved. evenso, i was thankful all six of us could be together instead of in separate rooms.)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Matthew5:8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott_Youngblood, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Washington Square, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Matthew 5:8,
We love your insights and truly appreciate you sharing them with the tripadvisor community. We hear your comments about the sofa mattresses loud and clear. To that end, we'll be replacing all of the sofas this winter with a much more comfortable model.
Thanks again for the great review and we can't wait to see you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tigard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Washington Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Washington Square

Address: 9000 SW Washington Square Rd, Tigard, OR 97223-4426
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Tigard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Tigard
Price Range: £86 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Washington Square 3*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The impressive Embassy Suites Portland Washington Square hotel in Tigard, Oregon is next to the Washington Square mall and only a short drive from downtown Portland. A complimentary full cooked-to-order breakfast is served each morning and in the evening guests are invited to the Evening Reception featuring complimentary drinks and light snacks. Guests enjoy the convenience of being near Portland and other area attractions such as Washington County vineyards, the Oregon Zoo, and Children's Museum. The hotel is also located near many Portland business corporate offices, perfect for business travelers and is equipped with over 24,000 square feet of meeting and event space to host business meetings and large events and receptions. Business facilities include a business center, meeting and conference rooms, printing and copying services, audio/visual equipment rental and banquet rooms. The 100% non-smoking, all-suite hotel boasts beautifully decorated spacious two-room guest suites. Each suite features a private bedroom and separate living room with a large well-lit work/dining table. The suites are designed with comfort in mind and include two cable televisions, two telephones, Internet access, refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. The hotel has an on-property Crossroads Restaurant & Bar serving a menu of fresh Northwest entrees for lunch and dinner. Room Service is also offered daily to guests. Guests of the Tigard hotel have access to recreational facilities including the indoor pool and fitness center. Complimentary shuttle service to nearby sites is also provided for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Washington Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Hotel Portland
Embassy Suites Tigard
Tigard Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing