We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pet charge is now $25”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Washington Square Hotel - Tigard
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Tigard
Seattle
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pet charge is now $25”
Reviewed 8 February 2007

We have stayed here many times before, but now that they charge $25 for pets, its beyond our price range. LaQuinta has no extra charge for pets, and Best Western charges $10.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    8
    9
    8
    12
See reviews for
5
10
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2006

I recently stayed at this hotel, and I had a great time! The staff was wonderful, always going above and beyond to help with anything we needed. The rooms and the facility was nice and clean. I would stay here again!

  • Liked — The Wonderful Staff
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JennyJamoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuna, ID
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2006

We stayed at the Shilo because it was the #1 rated hotel in Tigard. I'm not saying it was horrible, but it is average at best. The carpet was dirty in the room, there was noise in the hallways, and the staff wasn't very attentive (wasn't even at the desk half the time). Parking is little to non-existent, it's like Hemstreet just said "hey, there's a little hole in a corner, let's drop a hotel in there, in the smallest amount of space possible. We didn't use the pool/spa/exercise areas, but they didn't look all that appealing. Continental breakfast was like most. I'm never going to complain about a continental breakfast unless they run out of food, as I don't expect much. They also advertised that they had cribs/playpens available when I booked the room, but they had absolutely none at this particular hotel, and the front desk clerk looked at me like I was speaking Chinese when I asked about one. The nice thing is that there is plenty of dining, gas, and Washington Square Mall nearby. Probably won't stay there again

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkerbsbald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tigard hotels

Tualatin, Oregon
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2006

OK...maybe Shilo Inns owner Mark Hemstreet exaggerates a little in his commercials when he refers to Shilo Inns as "affordable excellence." But if you are travelling in the Pacific Northwest, be sure to consider the Shilo Inn chain. It may not be as well known as the national chains, but they are consistently good throughout.

This was my second time at a Shilo Inn after we vacated our apartment and prepared to move to Kansas (we stayed at the former Shilo Inn Resort at Lincoln City on the Oregon coast, which they sold to Chinook Winds Casino in 2004). This particular Shilo Inn shows a little bit of age, and the pale blue exterior may make the hotel feel a little dated, but the rooms are very comfortable.

One review notes that the spa/exercise area seems cramped. I would agree, but the area was well-maintained. Like many other smaller hotel chains trying to keep up with the Joneses (or even some larger hotels), the spa/fitness area may have been shoehorned into former living space.

The hotel is about 1/2 mile from the entrance to Washington Square Mall. Because you'd have to cross on an expressway overpass to get to the mall, don't walk across the bridge at night. Drive there, take a taxi or a bus...don't walk.

If you travel with a pet, here's good news: this Shilo Inn accepts pets. (I believe most Shilo Inns accept pets, but check their website or call the hotel before you make a reservation just to make sure.)

The Shilo Inn at Washington Square Mall may be less plush than the Embassy Suites at the mall, but it's a good value and a clean place to stay. If you are on a budget, look to Shilo Inn as a good place to rest your head for the night.

  • Stayed August 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAJ_JBM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 8 December 2005

The pictures on the web showed clean spa and fitness room. We realized they infact were too cramped, untidy and water-clogged to even go anywhere close. The room had a very stuffy and rancid odor about it. The carpets felt sticky. Linen looked worn out and old. We could not wait until we cancelled our next night's reservation and moved out early next morning- didn't care for the breakfast. To our relief, the bathroom was clean.
They had also allowed check-in at 12 noon at no extra charge.

Stayed December 2005
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maui, Hawaii
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2005

We stayed at this hotel a few months ago to get up to the city for one night. We had stayed at Shilo's before and usually had okay service so we'd thought we'd try this one out. We looked online and lets say the pictures do not show what it looks like. The lobby was nice and clean though cramped with just us and another group that wasn't with us. The front desk staff was nice and we checked in. The room we were given was so so small even for just 2 people. It was nothing as the photo showed. It also smelled of smoke even though it should've been non. Then upon check out we were charged $35 more than the rate we had thought. It was a horrible stay in a cramped smoky room. You are warned. Pay a little more to stay at the Embassey Suites, I will from now on.

Helpful?
1 Thank mgevan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tigard
1.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Washington Square
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland - Tigard
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn Tigard - Portland Southwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Southwest
Comfort Suites Southwest
#58 of 141 in Portland
155 reviews
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Portland Beaverton
2.4 mi away
Peppertree Inn
Peppertree Inn
#9 of 12 in Beaverton
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Square Hotel - Tigard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Square Hotel - Tigard

Property: Washington Square Hotel - Tigard
Address: 10830 SW Greenburg Road, Tigard, OR 97223-1409 (Formerly Shilo Inn - Tigard)
Region: United States > Oregon > Tigard
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Tigard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Washington Square Hotel - Tigard 2*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are going to get to be Franchised and have signed a contract with La Quinta and plan to open by July end. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Washington Square Hotel - Tigard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilo Inn Tigard/Washington Square Hotel Tigard
Tigard Shilo Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing