We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't meet our expectations”
Review of Pacific Restaurant - CLOSED

Pacific Restaurant
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
72 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Didn't meet our expectations”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Once in a while you go to a place highly rated by other TripAdvisor users and it's hard to see (or taste) what everyone else experienced. That was our feeling about Pacific.

The dinner prices were awfully high for a place with all the ambience of a small and old Shari's-style restaurant. Most of the entrees were in the low to mid 20s. We had the fifteen-dollar fish and chips and the seven-dollar spinach salad. The salad was fine, the fish and chips were disappointing, and not as good as fish we've had at many other coast restaurants. Our wine glass was smudged and dirty. It just wasn't a great experience, certainly not something that would warrant some kind of special notoriety as a top destination on TripAdvisor.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Reattig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    89
    16
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
VANCOUVER
Level Contributor
76 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“What a pleasant Surprise”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

My daughter pulled over here, I had eaten here years before and it was just another so-so place in Tillamook. But she was hungry so in we go and what a pleasant surprise. New chef-owners have transformed the menu to an almost gourmet level. Looking at the plates coming out convinced us to order creatively. Beautiful presentation and as claimed; local, fresh, and sustainable. We had soup and appetizers, shrimp and sturgeon, chips and pasta. All were well cooked and seasoned and beautiful to look as well as eat. The waitress was very personable and talked about the new changes and philosophy. We wanted raw oysters which weren't on the menu that day but the waitress comes back with a gratis plate of them for us. The building hasn't changed much but focus on the food and enjoy. I've always described Tillamook as a desert for food on the coast but it turned out the best place we ate at all week eating around Newport. Go, enjoy.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SCOTT W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dinner for hungry fisherman”
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Without trip advisor we never would have found this restaurant. It lived up to its reviews and more. Chef Philip Biermann came out to chat with us after a simply superb dinner. The oyster stew was constructed more like a clan chowder and was excellent. Followed that with the crab ravioli - outstanding!

Helpful?
Thank steelyelk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tigard
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Philip Biermann is a great chef. The food was outstanding. The oyster stew was great, and the seafood linguine was to die for.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockaway Beach, Oregon
Level Contributor
252 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

The food here is absolutely delicious!
We have been to this restaurant several times sampling our way around the menu and everything has been fantastic!

The service is very friendly, prompt, and continuous.

A biggie for me is the temperature inside a restaurant, so many these days are cold and I have to wear a jacket while eating. Pacific was comfortably warm and cozy. Thanks!

The only downside for me is that the atmosphere doesn't really match the upscale food. Its not bad by any means, its just average and the food is so good!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pacific Restaurant also viewed

 
Tillamook, Oregon Coast
 
Tillamook, Oregon Coast
Tillamook, Oregon Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing