We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of China Garden

China Garden
Ranked #13 of 53 Restaurants in Tillamook
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

While this place is nothing more than the standard American/Chinese it used to be pretty good. It's been a few months since I ate here something has changed or I picked an 'off' night. I loved their yakisobo noodles, tonight I got a pile of mush. The kung pao chicken was more of a meal of soggy peanuts and green peppers. As for the egg roll and egg drop soup ... I've had better out of a box at the grocery.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jack123abc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    24
    8
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockaway Beach, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good food, so-so atmosphere”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This is the best Chinese food in the Tillamook area!
Not the best I have ever had but it is very good.
They serve up lots of food, we always take leftovers home.
Service is always friendly and quick.
There is not much of a theme atmosphere, just basic decorations.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caligirlinUK
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Simple atmosphere but terrific food”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Had dinner with the family whilst visiting. It is a very plain restaurant, not very welcoming on the outisde. The staff were lovely though and the food was great. Huge huge portions though. It was wasted on us as we were staying in a hotel and couldnt take our leftovers away. The mongolian beef was excellent, as were the potstickers. Excellent value as well.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank caligirlinUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaside, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food at an Excellent Price!”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

This was my first visit to the China Garden but have herd great things about this place, before reading on Trip Advisor. I was a little skeptical because usually all Chinese food is the same, however; not the case for this wonderful place. The food was fresh and tasted much better than any other Chinese food I have had. I had the 3 piece combo with shrimp, steamed rice and another side which I can't remember but it was great! On a side note, the decor does need updating.

I did not visit the lounge, however, if I did I am sure it would have been the same quality as the wonderful food. I would recommend the China Garden for families and perhaps a date. I will be returning to have more of the wonderful cuisine.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dmnandrw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Late Dinner”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

The food was great and the service was fast! It was nice that they were open late. When we got back back from the beach/dunes it was about 9:30 and we were happy to have a restaurant so close.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank RavenCrestOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed China Garden also viewed

 
Tillamook, Oregon Coast
Tillamook, Oregon Coast
 
Pacific City, Oregon Coast
Tillamook, Oregon Coast
 

Been to China Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing