We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing evening in a beautiful, historic spot”
Review of Timberline Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Timberline Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2013

A relaxing evening at the historic and beautiful Timberline Lodge. There was snow on the ground this mid-October weekend (it turns out the upper ski slopes had opened early this year) and snow was falling as we arrived. We had reserved a fireplace room which was very nice. In the afternoon, as we waited for our room to be ready, we had a nice snack at the Ram's Head Bar - looking out the large window at the snow falling; browsed the gift shops and took in the artwork and handcrafted details of the lodge. Our room was nice with a king bed and a single bed. This was 1 too many beds for us (a couple) but I can understand the extra bed given the number of people who want to stay at Timberline. We had a nice dinner in the Cascade Dining Room and went back to our room to start our fire and relax. The lodges lays the fire out so, basically, all you have to do is light the match and we had a roaring blaze - perfect for a chilly, snowy night. The bed is extra comfortable with both a feather bed top, down comforter and wool blanket. Sunday morning the snow had stopped and clouds had cleared and it was a glorious sunny day with great views of Mt Hood.

Now some advice - the lodge is crowded during the day with tourists just coming to see the handmade craftsmanship of the lodge. But, in the evenings and mornings, the guests have plenty of time to look around without all of the people. Because it is a tourist spot, ski resort and lodging, parking is not always available right at the lodge. The furniture in the rooms is in the same handcrafted style as the original lodge - much of it is original. So, it is not always as comfortable as a modern luxury hotel. But, it is very cozy and the beds are REALLY comfortable.

Overall, a great, relaxing weekend.

Room Tip: Rooms on the mountain side don't always have views of Mt Hood because there are more trees on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrpeanut3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott S, Manager at Timberline Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. As always we will look for ways to improve our offerings thank you for taking the time to let us know. We hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,059)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

709 - 715 of 1,059 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2013

We stayed at the Timberline Lodge for 1 night in August 2013, in a room with two twin beds and a private bathroom, for $165.85 total. It was great fun, and absolutely worth staying at.

We did have trouble with directions. We used the Timberline Lodge address that was pre-programmed in our Garmin GPS, and it led us up a mountain gravel road near the lodge that we later found out hasn't been used for years except by campers. Another driver motioned for us to turn around, and we saw a few more family-packed cars driving up there after us. So don't turn onto any gravel roads - if you stay on the paved, curvy highway and follow the road signs, the lodge is easy to get to. It would be helpful if there were directions on their website.

Parking wasn't a problem on the day we were there (arriving around 1:30 in the afternoon), but at night the lot looked full and it wasn't clear how well they were enforcing the "hotel guests only" parking lot.

When we first arrived we took the Magic Mile Sky Ride (lots of fun) and looked around the lodge a little bit until check-in time 4:00. If it weren't for the 30-day cancellation policy, we would have considered cancelling our reservation because we thought we'd seen enough, but I'm so glad we decided to stay overnight. There's much to see and it feels like you're in another world. With all the stone walls, ironwork, arched doorways, windows with beautiful mountain views, stained glass, high ceilings, fireplaces, stairways, and many side rooms off the common areas, we felt like we were in someplace really special (it reminded us of Hogwarts) and it was great fun to roam around indoors and outdoors in the evening and early morning. There are restaurants, a game room, museum area, exhibits, the patio where FDR dedicated the Lodge, etc. - but even just looking at the architecture and decorating gives you plenty to see. Be sure to watch the video "The Builders of Timberline" that's continually playing in a room near the lobby - you'll learn the fascinating details of the building of the lodge and the interior design - it makes walking around the lodge even more fun as you pick up on all the details you learned about.

Our room was on the first floor, which is one floor up from the ground floor. We were concerned because we had a lot of heavy luggage and there is no elevator that takes you directly to the first floor. But we found we could get a cart and go from the parking lot into the side "handicap" entrance, take the elevator there up to the ground floor, then roll the cart through a few hallways to the ground floor main lobby, and take the elevator near there to the first floor. I think this elevator also goes to the second floor (but not the third floor (?)).

Our room was in a hallway that felt secluded, even though it was just off a large lounge. It was very clean but small, but we were able to fit an inflatable twin bed on the floor for our son. The twin beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was small (toilet, sink, shower - no tub). There was no microwave or fridge. It was very hot when we first arrived, with no air-conditioning, but in the closet there was a floor fan and a window screen we could use. Our room window opened fully and there were no bars on it, so watch your very young children. If the room had stayed this hot we wouldn't have slept comfortably. Fortunately there was a thunderstorm and hail that evening that cooled the room off a lot (and was a treat to watch).

The outdoor hot tub was not working. The laundry room has only one washer and dryer; they are free to use, but it is out of the way.

So overall there are some good and bad features to this lodge, but it's an incredible place to stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank backnforth2nfro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

First, the good news. The location is superb. You're literally on the slopes of Mount Hood.
Now the bad news. The parking situation was atrocious. There are spaces reserved for hotel guests only, but it doesn't appear to be enforced, so you have to park a lo-o-ng way away. I stayed in a Chalet room, which was pretty pricey for what you get. The rooms have shared bathrooms. The room itself had a sink, bunk beds, a table, two chairs, and a set of drawers. There's enough room to turn around, but not much more. The "window" was actually more like an air shaft. Definitely don't expect to get a view of that gorgeous mountain! But the worst part was the incessant noise. The walls are incredibly thin, and you can hear giggling, running kids going up and down the hallway at 1am. You can also hear every door that opens and closes. And don't expect to sleep in. The staff was up at 7am pressure-washing the bathroom and vacuuming the hallway. Not recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

The historic setting of the Lodge and the fantastic views make this place a must-stay if you can get reservations. It's a bit pricey and the rooms are TINY, but you're paying for the setting and it's definitely worth it. The Lodge itself is beautiful and full of history, lots of amazing wood and metalwork features. If you go in the summer (like I did) definitely take the lift up to the skiing area. I loved the oddness of walking around in snow while wearing shorts and a t-shirt. From up there especially, the views are spectacular. There are lots of little walking paths around the Lodge, and we even saw a few deer grazing. I highly recommend the Cascade Dining Room as well.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seasarawrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

The lodge is historic and gorgeous and almost frozen in time. The massive log timbers in the lobby are truly awesome, as is the wrought iron work, copper roof, mosaic tile, and carved balustrades. The view from our room was unbelievable, the air was beautiful and crisp and clear, and at night we could see a meteor shower. There are also some neat historical displays in the lodge (did you know the picture of the skiier on the iconic peechee folder was taken at Timberline?).

We stayed at Timberline overnight mid-week while our son was at snowboarding camp. We had tried to stay there in the past but it was booked, so you may need to book far in advance. The rate was reasonable. We ate at the bar, and the drinks were very good at the Ram's Head Bar (Moscow Mules in really cool copper mugs). Service was a little slow, so we were comped a drink round, which was courteous. The food was beyond expectations. We had the Northwest Artisan Cheese plate and also the Olympic Provisions Charcuterie; both were excellent. Breakfast in the Cascade Dining Room was fantastic (well above expectations). The buffet was plentiful and had really tasty options (slice your own sausage using an antique slicer, all sorts of cheeses and fruits, great coffee). I regret that we didn't try the bacon sampler.

The only downside was the room. To be nice, it was quaint and filled with old world charm. I think those are the words our real estate agent used when she listed our 1933 Seattle cottage. There were definitely lots of similarities. The room was tiny. It was supposed to have air conditioning but it was blasting heat that we couldn't turn off. The closets were very small (not necessary for us, anyway) and one couldn't be opened because of the way the bed and nightstand were positioned. The bathroom had sort of an odd configuration and the shower head was very low, but the bathroom was very clean. The room was wood paneled, like the lodge, and had nice amenities like a pendleton-style blanket. There was a very small window and a fan which we were able to rig up to provide some cooling. As I said earlier, the view was incomparable. The bed was also very comfortable, but I think it was a queen or double size. The TV was little and didn't get much reception (but did play some informative historical documentaries on the lodge and the history of skiing at Timberline).

So, there are definitely trade-offs, which frankly I was fine with. I loved the service, location, price, view, food, drinks, setting, and history. The room itself was small. I would definitely go back. I would bring my family too or go with friends.

Room Tip: There are rooms that share bathrooms, so be forewarned about that. Also, there are a lot of stairs w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jetlager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed at the Timberline Lodge in early September for one night while on a road trip around Oregon. The long road leading up to the Lodge and the backdrop of the snow-capped peaks of Mt Hood made for a lovely setting.

I love old, historic hotels so this lodge was right up my alley. The public areas befit a grand old lodge.

We had a queen-size room, and it was small but very functional for our stay. (If I had been on a winter ski trip, I would have found the room to be too small for two people and would have needed to get a larger room.) Our room was quiet and clean. It was warm during our visit. Since the rooms have no AC, we had to prop open the window a quarter of the way and insert a small screen. That provided enough airflow for us to sleep comfortably though it let in some flies.

Since we had arrived early, our room was not ready. A forest ranger stationed in the lodge recommended that we hike part of the Timberline Trail while we waited for our room. The trailhead is right at the lodge. We did a 2-3 hr hike to Zigzag Canyon and back. The entire trail is a 4-5 day backpacking loop which makes the Timberline Lodge a convenient starting and ending point.

There is small heated outdoor pool and hot tub, but we did not use it. Nothing fancy. We ate in the bar and had a nice light meal (after many days of large meals.) The food and drinks were very good.

I am happy that I had the chance to visit and stay at the Timberline Lodge. But I think I would have begun to feel a bit cramped in the queen room if we had stayed more than one night. So I would recommend either staying one night or getting one of the larger rooms.

Bottom line: Worth staying here for one night to experience the ambience of this historic lodge. While I enjoyed my stay, since I love old hotels, I probably will look into accommodations in the Columbia River Gorge region (Hood River, possibly) the next time I am in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deb G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Arrived at Timberline in early afternoon. Unfortunately there was light snow and very poor visibility so we saw nothing but the parking lot and lodge. Our room was a queen room. We knew it was small when we booked it but wanted the experience of staying in this historical place. However, the room and hallway had a bad odor that permeated everything. Old, stale oil or something. We tried to rest, we explored the lodge, had a cup of hot chocolate ( very good) and then the altitude sickness began. Neither of us have had altitude sickness previously. We tried to make the best of it but decided we needed to get down the mountain before dark. So that ended our stay at Timberline. Rethinking this trip, we should have made Timberline and Mt. Hood a day trip. There's really no reason to stay overnight unless it's summer and you can hike or you're a skier. Even then, the lodge is not updated to be truly comfortable for long stays.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Timberline Lodge
3.3 mi away
Best Western Mt. Hood Inn
Best Western Mt. Hood Inn
#1 of 2 in Government Camp
537 reviews
24.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn
12.4 mi away
Whispering Woods Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Portland
Comfort Inn Portland
#62 of 144 in Portland
156 reviews
12.3 mi away
Resort at The Mountain, BW Premier Collection
15.9 mi away
Sandy Salmon Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timberline Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timberline Lodge

Address: 27500 E Timberline Rd, Timberline Lodge, OR 97028-9709
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Clackamas County > Timberline Lodge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Timberline Lodge
Price Range: £105 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Timberline Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Declared a National Historic Landmark in 1977, Timberline Lodge is one of Oregon's most popular tourist attractions. Considered an architectural wonder, it's still being used for its original intent-a magnificent ski lodge and mountain retreat for all to enjoy. Timberline Lodge is filled with amazing spaces. The main headhouse features three fireplaces at the base of a 90 foot chimney. The outdoor patios offer the most stunning views in Oregon. The outdoor pool is heated and open year round. Each room in Timberline Lodge has a unique rustic elegance, yet a modern and comfortable feel. All rooms have period furnishings, artwork and decor. Rooms range from premier fireplace rooms to European style bunk rooms. Timberline offers the longest ski season in North America. The winter season begins early to mid-November and continues through Memorial Day. Our Palmer Express high-speed quad lift allows us to operate later into the summer season than anyone else (usually through Labor Day). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, TravelClick and Ebookers so you can book your Timberline Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timberline Hotel Timberline Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing