We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Timeless history”
Review of Timberline Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Timberline Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Timeless history”
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Just spent a night at timberline lodge where history and craftsmanship are inspiring. Staff was great but that is not the reason you go here. It was cold and rainy with snow on the ground but worth every minute exploring the lodge. Of course the winter sports fans were enjoying the snow. Could not stop appreciating the craftsmanship and timelessness of this special place.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank scott s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    498
    301
    89
    58
    21
See reviews for
279
442
39
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Beautiful, comfortable, and affordable! The service & staff were amazing, and very friendly. I really appreciate the privacy and comfort we had, it was like a home away from home. Being right across the street from the Lake was also a huge plus. Beautiful sceneries all around.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The proximity to Mt. Hood and the views are amazing. If you plan to hike or ski this is a great location. You can walk over to the lifts about 100 yards from the lodge. There are hikes that start in the lodge area and are accessible with proper footwear and gear for snow. I agree with the reviewers who say that if your expectation is of a lodge and not a 5 star hotel you will be pleased. The lodge does try to add a few touches like bath robes, spring water and nice bedding. There is an outdoor, heated swimming pool, hot tub and a Sauna. The rooms are older and small. The showers do change temperature. We stayed on the third floor near the kitchen and the smells were bothersome and sour. I expect that in an older hotel each room location has its quirks. The food is expensive and not worth the price. There are restaurants in Government Camp offer good choices at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Not near the kitchens because of the smell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaW4090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagstaff, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We spent 2 nights here in the 'chalet' wing (bunk beds; shower/bath down hall). Wonderful good sized room w/Pendleton blankets and comfortable mattress; window to a snow bank.($115 @) Architecture is incredible .. built in 1937 and lovingly cared for. My only problem is that most meals in the dinning room are buffet and expensive. But, there is a Ram's Head Bar upstairs with an interesting menu; also across the parking lot, a cafeteria which was great for breakfast. Skiing year round but about 10 miles away are hiking/fishing around lovely lakes .. Our
favorite was Trillium Lake nearby. Great photo of Mt. Hood from this lake and a 2 miles hike around it teeming w/wildflowers! We absolutely loved being there.

Room Tip: There are, of course, rooms w/bath if you want to pay the premium. There is also a sauna, and a wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonneannee741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2014

My wife and I celebrated her 65th b-day by checking in to the Hotel early, sleeping until midnight, climbing the mountain, and then going back to bed with a late check out of 1pm. What a perfect experience, we got to acclimatize, soak in the hot tub and pool, bask in the ambiance of old world Timberline lodge, a brunch that could not be beat, and the staff were not only helpful and eager to meet our every need, they even put a happy birthday wish in our room. We plan on going back just to have a relaxing weekend. Thank you Timberline Lodge Staff!

Room Tip: Top floor facing the mountain or the S. Cascades are equally beauthiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeGay E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Methuen, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2014

With an honest expectation for what a lodge stay will be like, do be prepared to be totally impressed. The artwork, service, setting, and amenities were all top-notch and far exceeded my expectations. This stay was part of our honeymoon and the front desk sent us a bottle of wine to mark the occasion. I look forward to staying again next time I am in the area!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeannette, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I stayed at the hotel because I've always loved the look of it from The Shining. I had one of the queen special rooms during the week and it was quaint and comfortable - they walls are thin, but they provide earplugs. The woman at the desk I interacted with was very nice as well as the bartender and all the woman in the gift shops. I was on a 14 day road trip at the time, staying mainly in motels, so it was great they let you do you laundry for free there and give you detergent! I had a few drinks in the bar, their craft beer was excellent. I didn't have dinner there since I don't like eating on my own. Great quality of soaps and lotions in the bathroom and the view of Mt Hood from my room can't be beat.

My only complaint was that I'm a smoker and there are of course no smoking rooms here. I saw one smoking station around the back and asked the woman at the desk if that's the place to smoke. She called (I assume) a manager over that was walking past and I asked her if that's the preferred place to smoke. She said in a rather snooty tone that they don't have a "preferred" place. But the girl at the desk did say, thank you for asking, after the manager left. I found a nice isolated place were no one could see me. I understand people find smokers disgusting, but I'm still a paying customer with 25 years experience in Customer Service and don't like to be talked down to - you pretend you have empathy for the customer and do you best to accommodate them. For this reason alone, I won't give 5 stars.

So if you're not a smoker, this is the place to stay near Mt Hood. Beautiful architecture, furniture, views, mostly friendly staff, and the bed is very comfortable. If you smoke... I'd suggest staying somewhere else.

Room Tip: Keep in mind that the hotel is open to the public until 11 PM, so there are a lot of tourists about.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CH1ONE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Timberline Lodge
3.3 mi away
Best Western Mt. Hood Inn
Best Western Mt. Hood Inn
#1 of 2 in Government Camp
506 reviews
24.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn
12.4 mi away
Whispering Woods Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Resort at The Mountain, BW Premier Collection
15.9 mi away
Sandy Salmon Bed & Breakfast
13.9 mi away
Mt Hood Village RV Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timberline Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timberline Lodge

Property: Timberline Lodge
Address: 27500 E Timberline Rd, Timberline Lodge, OR 97028-9709
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Clackamas County > Timberline Lodge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Timberline Lodge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Timberline Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Declared a National Historic Landmark in 1977, Timberline Lodge is one of Oregon's most popular tourist attractions, drawing nearly two million visitors every year. Considered an architectural wonder, it's still being used for its original intent-a magnificent ski lodge and mountain retreat for all to enjoy. Timberline Lodge is filled with amazing spaces that beg enjoyment. The main headhouse lobby features three fireplaces at the base of a 90 foot chimney. The outdoor patios offer the most stunning views in Oregon. The outdoor pool is heated and open year round. With so many places to explore all under one roof, you'll feel as if the Lodge is an extension of your guest room. Each room in Timberline Lodge has a unique rustic elegance, yet a modern and comfortable feel. All rooms have period furnishings, artwork and decor. Enjoy fresh powder feather beds, the year 'round heated pool, spa and sauna. Rooms range from premier fireplace rooms to European style bunk rooms. Regardless of which room suits you best, they all share an authentic sense of place found only in one of the Historic Hotels of America. Timberline offers the longest ski season in North America. The winter season typically begins early to mid-November and continues through Memorial Day. Our Palmer Express high-speed quad lift allows us to operate later into the summer season than anyone else (usually through Labor Day). Many years, we're open for fall skiing as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, TravelClick, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Timberline Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timberline Hotel Timberline Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing