We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must Stay Experience in Oregon”
Review of Timberline Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Timberline Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Must Stay Experience in Oregon”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed one night at Timberline Lodge during a quick trip to Oregon. The building has so much character--I spent a couple of hours wandering around looking at the unique, vintage features. The small exhibit and film about the building and history of the hotel is well worth your time (though the film is almost 30 years old, and could stand to be updated). We stayed in a room on the third floor at the front. While we were settling in, I noticed two sets of ear plugs. About midnight, I realized why they were provided. There is no a/c and no fans, so for ventilation in the summer, it is necessary to open your windows. Each room provides a screen/brace specially made for the purpose of propping your window open and securing it from flying critters. There was a brisk breeze, so the multiple flags mounted over the entrance waved and snapped--really loud--until the wind died down at sunrise. The bathrooms are small but nicely appointed--shower had fabulous water pressure--but there is no counter space. The faucet at the sink was unusually high; more than once I bumped my head on it as I was leaning over the sink. Our room was quite small, but comfortable. Nice touches included a "vintage" phone and an etched bottle of local spring water. We weren't wild about the mattress--it was extremely soft. The only service offered by the hotel that didn't entirely please us was the dining service. There is one main dining room, The Cascades. It doesn't open until 7 a.m. for breakfast. They offer a large breakfast buffet for about $15. It has many options, but disappointed that they didn't have a custom egg and pancake station. I would expect it at that price. You have the option of making yourself a fresh waffle, but I have that option at budget hotels. We also ate dinner the night of our stay. Menu is small; prices are not. You are pretty much obligated to eat there unless you want to eat pub fare in the Blue Ox Bar or the Ram's Head bar, or otherwise drive to the next town. Our food was good, but not worth the prices we paid. The dining room got very stuffy, it doesn't have great ventilation. It has low ceilings, so I suppose ceiling fans are not an option. I was looking at the windows, hoping they might consider cracking them a bit, and they were really dirty. They have blinds that were pulled up, and they were absolutely caked with dust. That sight almost ruined dinner entirely, not a nice sight to see that much grime near your food. We had a pre-dinner drink in the Ram's Head Bar, with a gorgeous view of Mt. Hood behind the hotel, and our tabletop was sticky. Some housekeeping in dining areas in dire need of attention. Overall, a memorable experience that I recommend despite a few drawbacks. Be sure to ask about the hotels St. Bernard mascots, Heidi and Bruno. Apparently they don't roam around the hotel much, but both times we asked about them, the staff let us in the office to see them stretched out on the floor. Be sure to take the time to walk around and admire this property--it is a national treasure.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Mt. Hood side of the hotel are probably quieter--they are not facing the flapping flags...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sb_osobailiando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

969 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    499
    301
    89
    58
    22
See reviews for
281
442
39
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

on 7/24/2014, as part of the columbia gorge tour. we stopped at timberline lodge, upon entering we were treated to a experience beyond belief. staff was very helpful and friendly. i t made our visit a very memorial one

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed at Timberline on a Friday night in July. The hotel was very full and I thing I got one of the last rooms available when I made the reservation the first week of June. I had not paid attention to the check in times and when we arrived at 3:15, our room was not ready (4:00pm check in policy). We took a walk through the lodge. The interior has just beautiful old wood throughout and it is very well maintained. We went to the bar for a drink and the desk called about 30 minutes later to say the room was available (3:45, still before the posted time). The bartender told us we were welcome to take our drinks with us.

We had a queen room that was very comfortable with nice touches. The hotel stresses that this is not a modern hotel and does not have modern soundproofing construction. The ask cooperation with the noise at night. You can here your neighbors but we were not disturbed by any noise all night and we were right across from the stairs. They do ask the elevator not be used after a certain hour. The room was warm and there is no A/C but you are able to open the window and there was a fan. In the closet was a screen you put in the window frame when you opened it. Leaving the next morning, I noticed almost no one else had used the screen. The room comes with a locker if you have ski or snowboard equipment.

I had ordered a picnic lunch. The $45 price for 2 was a little steep but I knew we would spend that in the restaurant also. The lunch was excellent - sandwiches, cookie, potato salad, water. The offer a picnic basket but we were hiking and just wanted to carry it in a backpack. The lunch ended up covering us for 2 days, there was so much food. With the quality and convenience, I would definitely order that again.

There is coffee in the lobby in the morning but they pulled it promptly at 9:00am just as I went looking for that second cup. I had not realized it was available until rather late in the morning.

Overall the location and the views are wonderful. The staff was friendly and the hotel and rooms are very clean and well maintained. It was very busy but efficient. The restaurant is pricey but the food was excellent. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We had a family room for 4people (3 adults, 1 kid) and it was wonderful. Had a fireplace. Love the historical aspects of it. Loved that you could ski in July. Dinner and breakfast at the lodge restaurant were also fantastic - who can resist an Artisan Bacon Sampler! Only stayed one night, wished we could have stayed more!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cpg829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livermore, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed one night as part of a bicycle tour of the area. The staff were extremely polite and helpful. There is a lot of history here and it was a pleasure to see the workmanship and art done through the WPA. Our small dormer-type room on the third floor was very comfortable - the bed was just right, the down comforter and down pillows were cosy, and, best of all - it was very quiet and the window had enough shades to give complete darkness at night. The only drawback for us was that the 'four-star' restaurant, where we spent quite a bit on dinner, seated a family with two very young children whose parents allowed them to cry, run back and forth and even grab things off of other tables. There was a busload of teens on a group trip, too, but after they checked in we never heard them again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the third floor (top floor) if you like a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PLynnP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

So I have spent the night at Timberline many many times. I usually get a queen room which is on the upper floors and love it. This time the hotel was full except for one room. It was a very small room with bunk beds and a sink. It had a shared bathroom down the hall. The room was fine, but it was loud on that floor. The room, room 4, was next to their "gym". (Not really a gym). But it was a popular place for kids to make a lot of noise and play with the wheelchair elevator.

Room Tip: Not room 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tulsadivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed @ the Lodge in June 2014. All of the original decor has been restored, including the rooms. A large amount of the original furniture remains in the rooms and the lobby areas. It was just built to last forever. The original artwork is installed throughout the facility. We stayed one night only, only to find about a foot of snow had fallen overnight! The staff is knowledgeable and very courteous. The food is very good, we ate in the restaurant in the evening, as well as for breakfast. The beds are comfortable, linens very soft, bathrooms are up to date. I highly recommend this lodge, especially if you are a history buff. This is a perfect example of the WPA, since it was designed and constructed during the Roosevelt administration, before WW2. There are historical details everywhere throughout the campus, including a short film and original artifacts. I highly recommend.

Room Tip: we had a corner room, at the end of a corridor, it was very quiet. I don't think you could have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olsenbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Timberline Lodge
3.3 mi away
Best Western Mt. Hood Inn
Best Western Mt. Hood Inn
#1 of 2 in Government Camp
508 reviews
24.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn
12.4 mi away
Whispering Woods Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Resort at The Mountain, BW Premier Collection
15.9 mi away
Sandy Salmon Bed & Breakfast
13.9 mi away
Mt Hood Village RV Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timberline Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timberline Lodge

Property: Timberline Lodge
Address: 27500 E Timberline Rd, Timberline Lodge, OR 97028-9709
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Clackamas County > Timberline Lodge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Timberline Lodge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Timberline Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Declared a National Historic Landmark in 1977, Timberline Lodge is one of Oregon's most popular tourist attractions, drawing nearly two million visitors every year. Considered an architectural wonder, it's still being used for its original intent-a magnificent ski lodge and mountain retreat for all to enjoy. Timberline Lodge is filled with amazing spaces that beg enjoyment. The main headhouse lobby features three fireplaces at the base of a 90 foot chimney. The outdoor patios offer the most stunning views in Oregon. The outdoor pool is heated and open year round. With so many places to explore all under one roof, you'll feel as if the Lodge is an extension of your guest room. Each room in Timberline Lodge has a unique rustic elegance, yet a modern and comfortable feel. All rooms have period furnishings, artwork and decor. Enjoy fresh powder feather beds, the year 'round heated pool, spa and sauna. Rooms range from premier fireplace rooms to European style bunk rooms. Regardless of which room suits you best, they all share an authentic sense of place found only in one of the Historic Hotels of America. Timberline offers the longest ski season in North America. The winter season typically begins early to mid-November and continues through Memorial Day. Our Palmer Express high-speed quad lift allows us to operate later into the summer season than anyone else (usually through Labor Day). Many years, we're open for fall skiing as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, TravelClick, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Timberline Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timberline Hotel Timberline Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing