We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's like a beer campus, so much fun”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
McMenamins Edgefield
Certificate of Excellence
Veneta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It's like a beer campus, so much fun”
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We went for our wedding anniversary, so much fun! We had the king suite, so we had our own bathroom. We've done the McMenamins in Portland and shared a bathroom for the floor, it actually wasn't that bad, but it is nice having your own. I believe that not all rooms have a bathroom, so something to check before you book. Giant room, comfy bed, no tub, but there are soaker tubs in the shared bathrooms and then you also have Ruby's Spa :) There's a brewery, distillery and winery on the grounds, multiple restaurants, and activities to do. The food itself has always been mediocre at any McMenamins, but you're there for the atmosphere anyways. Our favorite was the Little Red Shed. It was January, so it's cold, and there was a roaring fire. So quaint and fun. I would live there if that tells you anything about us possibly revisiting :)

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyOfTheJungle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    171
    69
    51
    31
See reviews for
112
273
25
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We have stayed here a couple of times. this hotel is different with tall ceilings, gorgeous architecture, stately and tasteful touches. it's an estate with lots of venues for a drink or a meal. the Spa is gorgeous and fun. We stayed in a room with a bathroom our second visit but the communal bathrooms are gorgeous and the price modest if you do not need a bathroom. Love this place!

Room Tip: Ask for the quiet section!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chessgirl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pekin, Illinois
Level Contributor
119 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Visited in March or April of 2009. We walked the grounds, drank some brew, ate at the Black Rabbit and then watched a movie in the brew pub. The restaurant was busy, service a bit slow, but the food was good. The beer was the highlight--Ruby Ale was my favorite and Hammerhead was my companion's fave. The grounds are beautiful--we sat around a fire pit for awhile and enjoyed the early spring late afternoon.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelso, Washington
Level Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013 via mobile

I was recently at Edgefield with my wife and friends. I found the service to be great. Bartender was very nice in every bar we visited, except the wine bar, the lady there was not a very happy person. However, great food and great little bars all over this property. I have never bar hopped in one little area before. I have not stayed the night here yet, we will be in July, I'm hoping it will fun. Anyway, great place to be with friends and have food and drinks.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodland, WA
Level Contributor
90 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013 via mobile

We live in the area and got away for a night at Edgefield because it is a different world. We reserved the last room which was a queen without a bathroom. "Stonehenge". It had the advantage of being in a hall behind doors off the main and away from the bathrooms. I can't imagine how loud it would have been otherwise. We had fun at Lucky's and the wine bar and the soaking pool. We went for a jog around the golf course in the morning and it is steep in places so beware. The bloody Mary's in the bar near the Black Rabbit restaruant have bacon in them. You just have to know what to expect going in and keep an open, whimsical mind!

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tlcjunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, WA
Level Contributor
99 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013 via mobile

Please try out this hotel! You will have fun. The rooms are whimsical with paintings by local artists. Comfortable beds. Do not stay on the 1st floor due noise level. The Administrator's cottage is a nice alternative to the main building. Have dinner and a movie at the Power House. Have breakfast at the Rabbit. Great place to stay if you plan visiting Mt Hood or the Columbia Gorge.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthwestSensei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

What a GREAT place! Just about everything you could ask for, and then some! This was my first experience with a McMenamins property and I was not disappointed. True that you don't have a bathroom in your room, but the overall exceptional atmosphere is ENHANCED by this fact. The McMenamin staff ensures that the entire property (all buildings and gardens) are extremely well kept and extremely clean! Kudos to them all!

This would have been a glowing 100% perfect review, however, on Friday evening in the Black Rabbit restaurant, our waiter, who was very capable of doing an exceptional job, tried to play 'show off' and failed. He took our dinner order along with drink order without writing anything down (I certainly wouldn't have been offended if he would have) and then proceeded to an adjacent table for their order. My dining companions all commented on the fact that he didn't write anything down and we actually laughed about taking bets about what he was going to forget.... Which of course he did (my entree) so he had to come back and ask! FAIL. He also forgot that one guest asked for a bowl of soup WITH his dinner, which of course ended up as a bowl of soup with salads. Our waiter tried to cover this up in a humorous manner by saying he was going to 'split' the soup course.. One now and one later.... FAIL! Was it a bad experience? By no means, and the meal was great as well as the service being very good, but because of one small decision (not to write an order down, and try to take another tables order before putting ours in with the kitchen) he compounded his problem, making an exceptional experience, mediocre.

Thanks for a great time! We WILL be back.... Just that next time PLEASE write the order down!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WaynefromMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troutdale
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cascade Inn & Suites
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portland East-Troutdale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn Gresham
Quality Inn Gresham
#1 of 11 in Gresham
201 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland East
Hampton Inn Portland East
#15 of 141 in Portland
474 reviews
3.4 mi away
Camas Hotel
Camas Hotel
#1 of 1 in Camas
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McMenamins Edgefield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McMenamins Edgefield

Property: McMenamins Edgefield
Address: 2126 SW Halsey St, Troutdale, OR 97060-1026
Region: United States > Oregon > Troutdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Troutdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — McMenamins Edgefield 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your McMenamins Edgefield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mcmenamins Edgefield Or

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing