We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Troutdale
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We were impressed”
Reviewed 25 April 2013

This hotel is not impressive as you drive up. A rectangle, 3 floors, looks like a million others. But inside all is updated. Latest furniture, bedding, carpet. Fridge, micro, ample plug-ins for electronics. Good lamps and pillows. Guest computer in lobby. Free breakfast is above average too. AND in late afternoons soup and cookies served. 1:00 PM ckout which is unheard of. Not one but two daily newspapers. Pleasant desk folks too. So much better than other medium priced places we've stayed. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tootsie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loree_Harrell, General Manager at Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway, responded to this review, 27 April 2013
You made my morning by mentioning the plug-ins... we had a terrible situation in the room with available outlets until the renovation. I thought the fix of outlets on the lamp bases was brilliant, and significantly more elegant than stringing orange extension cords all over the room : ).

I love our 1:00 checkout - most guests can't take advantage of it, but it's sure nice to be able to sleep in, and to not have to wolf down breakfast and pack to get out by 11:00 when you have the freedom of day to linger.

Thank you for staying with us, and for making the time to write. We hope to see you back next time you're south!

Best,
Loree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    73
    21
    4
    2
See reviews for
59
75
21
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

The Front Desk staff of a hotel can make the whole stay good, bad or just another bed on the trip. The staff here made the whole one night stay a treat. Recommended a good restaurant. Was very nice. Rooms were very clean, nice. Breakfast was more than just a waffle. Bacon, eggs, biscuits and gravy, fruit, yogurt,..... very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loree_Harrell, General Manager at Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
I'll be stealing your first sentence for the opening quote of our training manual, Pat. : ) I am very glad your stay was in the "treat" category, and appreciate you making the time to write the review - we're working every day to find something we can do just a little better, and it's lovely to get feedback that it's paying off. We look forward to having you here again next time you're this direction!

- Loree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utah
Level Contributor
102 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Booked this room after scrutinizing TripAdvisor reviews. We stayed here after driving westward through the Columbia River Gorge. We found it quite comfortable and pleasant, had no complaints at all, would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moniquepeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loree_Harrell, General Manager at Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
So glad you had the opportunity to visit our beautiful Gorge! Hope you caught it in the sunny spots between the spurts of hail we've had the past few days : ).

We're delighted that you found our hotel a comfortable and pleasing place to stay after your explorations - that would be the plan.

Thank you for making the time to write, and we look forward to seeing you next time you're up this way!

Best to you,
Loree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
161 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013 via mobile

This hotel is pretty basic, but it is good value. We had a family suite which was large, lots of room to spread out. Breakfast had choices for us all. Not a fancy hotel, but a good, clean, pleasant one.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMS75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loree_Harrell, General Manager at Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
Most happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. No, we aren't fancy, but we have worked very hard to make the most of our rooms, breakfast, and, especially, to do our best to make sure everyone who walks in the door feels welcomed and walks out smiling.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us - it's appreciated, and we hope to see you again the next time you're through our way!

All the best,
Loree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

I am only giving an average rating based on the room itself, housekeeping and breakfast.
the front desk was super nice and helpful when we called to reserve a room and upon arriving and leaving they were very warm and friendly!
we were told there were only 4 people staying in the hotel, so we would have peace and quiet on the 3rd floor. which was true. thanks front desk guy!
the room was clean however it had an old room, musty, kind of like the smell of old cigarette smoke.but its a smoke free hotel. so I am not sure what it was.
housekeeping: although we didn't have a do not disturb sign out I didn't expect housekeeping to be knocking on my door at 8:30am. I have never been awakened by housekeeping at any hotel that early. so I was a bit taken back by that.
and breakfast is a full hot breakfast with scrambled eggs, bacon, biscuits and gravy, waffles, and your choice of other continental items. they were plentiful. my only complaint is the eggs had been sitting awhile and were pretty rubbery, and the bacon was so crispy and crunchy I felt like I was eating bacon chips instead of strips. However i will give them that we ate at 9 and breakfast began at 6:30am-9:30 so we were catching the tail end of it.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glamma4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loree_Harrell, General Manager at Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Thank you for your feedback, it's appreciated, and I'm glad you had a good experience at the front desk.

No, housekeeping should never be knocking before 10:00 a.m., and your review went straight from first reading to my maintenance supervisor to reinforce that with housekeepers. Breakfast is renewed throughout our breakfast hours of 6 - 10, so it shouldn't matter when you come down.

We would have been happy (always) to make a room move or an adjustment on your room. Our expectation of ourselves is that all is right with your stay, and if it is somehow not, that we make it right before you leave. If you will contact me, I would be happy to make that adjustment now or offer you a complimentary stay next time you're in the area.

We hope to see you again - we aim for delighted guests, and it hurts when we miss the mark, so would love the opportunity to overwrite that Mixed with a Great!. : )

All the best to you,
Loree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alaska
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2012

The beds are very comfortable. We stayed two nights with a large group for a wedding. The rooms are nice, clean and quiet. You don't hear your neighbors. The suites are spacious and I like the fridge being behind the cabinet door under the flat screen TV. The staff is terrific. The manager, desk, housekeeping and maintenance were all so nice and helpful. This was a large wedding party with lots of rooms and they had everything we needed including a shuttle. We took over the breakfast room from 10am to 1pm arranging our flowers and they were very accomodating. Lots of parking too. Would highly recommend to anyone traveling up the Columbia River.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlaskaScubaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loree_Harrell, General Manager at Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway, responded to this review, 26 December 2012
We love winter weddings - nice to have a party in the house when we don't have five parties in the house. :)

Glad you found the frige - every once in awhile the response to "how was everything with your room" at checkout is, "great, but I wish you had a refrigerator". One gentleman had been at the hotel three days and had bought a cooler and been making trips to the ice machine to keep his food cold because that was the one door he hadn't opened. He actually went back up to his room to find it for next time when I told him where it was. :)

Most glad we made your celebration a little better - that would be the plan.

All the best,
Loree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
280 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2012

I stumbled onto the Comfort Inn Colombia Gorge Gateway by getting terrified at the Motel 6 across the highway while searching for a room at almost midnight. I had given up and was going to head on to Cascade Locks when I found the Comfort Inn.
Needless to say the Comfort Inn was an amazing find. The manager, Loree was helpful and friendly. We bonded over a South Pole chat. Loree was well informed and fun to talk to, but sadly, it was almost midnight and I was exhausted, so our chat was brief.
The room was clean, spacious, and comfortable with a flat screen TV, huge comfortable bed, and well lit mirror with several plug in options all over the room. I couldn't hear any road noise or any other clients at all. There was a hot breakfast in the morning with quite edible biscuits and gravy, toast, juices, bagels, cream cheese, and coffee.
I would have never intended to stay in such an oddly dodgy area, but now that I know about this little gem tucked away on the other side of the freeway- I would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: If all the rooms are as clean and comfortable as room 120, then you can't go wrong. Loree was ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piercedlibrarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loree_Harrell, General Manager at Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway, responded to this review, 25 December 2012
Well, you did absolutely just make my Christmas morning, thank you! I am glad you found us and most happy you enjoyed your stay. You were a delight in the middle of the night (which is a fair fine feat in and of itself), and I was looking forward to seeing you again in the morning at checkout. Sorry I missed you at breakfast, and do come back to spend some time in the area during daylight so we can balance that "oddly dodgy" fragment of your experience - it's actually a great little corner of the world. ).

Best to you,
Loree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troutdale
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Cascade Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portland East-Troutdale
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn Gresham
Quality Inn Gresham
#1 of 11 in Gresham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Camas Hotel
Camas Hotel
#1 of 1 in Camas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Parkersville Inn & Suites
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland East
Hampton Inn Portland East
#15 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway

Property: Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway
Address: 1000 Northwest Graham Road, Troutdale, OR 97060-9549 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Portland - East)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Troutdale
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Troutdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway! Our hotel is located 10 miles east of Portland International Airport at the gateway to the Columbia River Gorge National Scenic area featuring majestic Multnomah Falls. Activities and wonders abound in this land of rugged cliffs, sweeping vistas and cascading waterfalls. Start your morning out right with our complimentary hot breakfast including meat and eggs, biscuits and gravy, fresh waffles, plus a great selection of breads, cereals, muffins, yogurt, juice, and fruit. Spend your day hiking the Gorge, enjoying great food and shopping in Troutdale and on the river, or just relax and enjoy the day with a stroll by the Sandy River. Spend your evening wine tasting at McMenamin's Edgefield, featuring three restaurants with an onsite distillery, winery and a brewery. All of our guest rooms include a microwave, refrigerator, coffee-maker, and iron and board. We are a pet friendly facility and will be happy to give you directions to the best places to take the pup for a romp. Our pet friendly rooms are maintained to the same high standards as our pet free rooms. To keep you connected we offer free wireless high-speed Internet access and a business center in the lobby. Looking forward to having you in the house soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Portland - East Hotel Troutdale
Holiday Inn Express Troutdale
Holiday Inn Troutdale
Troutdale Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing