We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly Staff, Comfy Clean Rooms!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Troutdale
Certificate of Excellence
Springfield, Oregon
2 reviews
“Friendly Staff, Comfy Clean Rooms!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

My husband and I stayed here over the weekend. It's a great location if you are looking to do some hiking (Columbia gorge area) or head into Portland for some dining/shopping, we did both. The staff was incredibly nice and friendly and the room was so comfy and very clean! I super loved the 1pm check out time!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alaina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loree_Harrell, General Manager at Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
That sounds like a perfect weekend - spring green Gorge, shopping, and good food - well done! : ).

I'm glad we gave you a comfortable and friendly place to come nestle back in to at the end of the full days, and , yes, the 1:00 checkout completely rocks, doesn't it?

We hope to have you back in the house soon, and thank you for making the time to write - it's appreciated.

All the best,
Loree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    72
    20
    4
    2
See reviews for
58
73
19
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
65 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I spent 7 nights in a king room. We thought the room was good sized. The bed was very comfy. The sink area is separate from the shower/toilet area so it made it easier getting ready in the mornings. The sink area had been remodeled with a granite counter. The housekeeping staff did a good job refreshing our room each day. The breakfast is your normal hotel breakfast - nothing too great but edible. The breakfast staff did a good job keeping the food well stocked and the area clean and organized. If we had neighbors in the room next to us, we didn't hear anyone but we did hear the people above us when they walked. You do hear train whistles several times each night. We liked coming back each evening and having freshly baked cookies available - it was a nice way to end the day. The front desk staff were friendly. We liked being outside the busy Portland area in this quieter area rather than being on a busy street but yet it was only a short drive into Portland. My only complaint is some maintenance issues: We opened our drapes and saw that the wallpaper had been stapled to the wall in what looks like a fix to a water leak, a wallpaper seam was peeling, some nails/bolts(?) showing in the ceiling, old/worn shower fixtures. Even with these maintenance issues, I would still stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TerreWheeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loree_Harrell, General Manager at Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for spending the week with us and for making the time to write and give us your feedback. I particularly appreciate getting your input on the daily housekeeping refresh, as that’s something I don’t have the opportunity to inspect, and guests rarely mention.

We have moved the remaining fixes on the eastside windows to the top of the list after you mentioned the issue in your room at checkout, and they’re in process now. We had all those windows replaced late last fall, and didn’t get all the cosmetics completed before winter, so have made it a priority now that spring is here and windows are opening again : ). Thank you for the bump, and for not letting that skew the overall positive of your stay.

We look forward to having you back, and hope that you thoroughly enjoy your spring into summer.

All the best,
Loree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
243 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 338 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

And the end of a long day of driving through eastern Oregon, and through the Gorge, Comfort Inn in Troutdale was just what I needed. We had a king bed room bed was super comfy and I slept great. When I checked in they told me check out time was 1PM, Seriously 1PM!!!! That is the latest check out time I have ever seen at anywhere in the Choice family

Due to my choice rewards status, they provided free bottles of water (which were already chilled!!) and a choice of a goodie from their goodie basket, Very nice. Front desk staff was super friendly, energenic and very personable. She knows how to provide hospitality.

Hotel is close to the freeway, but I didnt hear much noise from the freeway, any major noise is from the neighboring airport, but wasn't an issue until the morning. Lots of shopping and food options nearby due to being near 2 major truckstops.

Breakfast was well stocked with many hot and cold options, and plenty of food available. Being it was still early spring the hotel was not super busy, but come summer months this place gets crazy busy. Needless to say I will be back when I am in the area again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KJ9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hood River, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

I've stayed here frequently on business, and tonight I was on a personal trip, just returning home up the Gorge, when I was stranded by icy weather. The manager Loree was welcoming, warm, and so helpful. I've had a comfortable evening watching the Oscars in a quiet, very clean and comfortable room and am looking forward to their usual ample breakfast in it's a terrific small hotel all the same. Rates are economical, parking easy, wi-fi reception strong and free, and the refrig and microwave are always very helpful. In better weather the outdoor spa would be enjoyable. BTW, the Choice Privileges club is definitely worth signing up for and keeping current.

Room Tip: East side upstairs rooms have privacy even with curtains left open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripper10234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Snow and ice caused major traffic jam on 205 north so had to stay in Troutdale where I work. Luckily there was a room available.

1) Service upon arrival was pleasant and quick. Even had fresh baked chocolate chip cookies
2) Given upgrade without asking.
3) Room very clean, organized and well appointed
4) I get up very early and even though the continental breakfast did not start for 1.5 hours the GM, Loree, was at the desk and was very gracious to offer to create a "to go" lunch bag with an apple, banana, orange, bagel, cream cheese, yogurt and muffin. Wow!

I definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brucewashere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Wonderful stay! Front desk super nice! Mindy I think was her name.. She was amazing and incredibly nice! Very helpful! I liked how they gave free soup and cookies! The rooms were really nice! Clean and beds were comfortable! I love the pillows and I don't sleep with pillows ever! The rooms smelled new and nice! Just wish it wasn't so much! I'd defiantly come back to this hotel if I was in the area! Oregon is such a beautiful place and has the nicest people I've ever met! I've been to just about every state! Oregon by far has the nicest service anywhere! Thank you Mindy for being so nice! You are awesome! :)

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Starburstkayla07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kansas city
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Just a very well run hotel. clean, well managed and staffed really shows!!! If you need a hotel in this area, right off I-84, book it. Could not find anything to be improved upon.
1-clean, clean
2-friendly and quality staff
3-nice quick breakfast area
3-easy parking and entry
4-great bedding and comfy bed
attention to details really show.
(fyi to front desk staff-the larch mnt. view top, road is closed in winter, so that little tour didnt work out for us!!)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dwhaley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loree_Harrell, General Manager at Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Thank you so much for making the time to write - I am most glad that you had a good stay with us. I will, however, be shaking my head for a couple more days about us sending you to Larch Mountain in January - we didn't mention that you'd have to hike in the last seven miles? : ) It is, however, a magnificent view - maybe next time you're out this direction on the opposite side of the year. Meanwhile, I hope you got a good block of time in the Gorge!

Always happy to see clean and friendly on the top of the list - we work very hard to make that true. I will pass along your appreciation to staff, and we looking forward to you coming out west again someday.

All the best of this new year to you,
Loree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troutdale
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cascade Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portland East-Troutdale
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn Gresham
Quality Inn Gresham
#1 of 11 in Gresham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Camas Hotel
Camas Hotel
#1 of 1 in Camas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland East
Hampton Inn Portland East
#13 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Parkersville Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway

Property: Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway
Address: 1000 Northwest Graham Road, Troutdale, OR 97060-9549 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Portland - East)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Troutdale
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Troutdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway! Our hotel is located 10 miles east of Portland International Airport at the gateway to the Columbia River Gorge National Scenic area featuring majestic Multnomah Falls. Activities and wonders abound in this land of rugged cliffs, sweeping vistas and cascading waterfalls. Start your morning out right with our complimentary hot breakfast including meat and eggs, biscuits and gravy, fresh waffles, plus a great selection of breads, cereals, muffins, yogurt, juice, and fruit. Spend your day hiking the Gorge, enjoying great food and shopping in Troutdale and on the river, or just relax and enjoy the day with a stroll by the Sandy River. Spend your evening wine tasting at McMenamin's Edgefield, featuring three restaurants with an onsite distillery, winery and a brewery. All of our guest rooms include a microwave, refrigerator, coffee-maker, and iron and board. We are a pet friendly facility and will be happy to give you directions to the best places to take the pup for a romp. Our pet friendly rooms are maintained to the same high standards as our pet free rooms. To keep you connected we offer free wireless high-speed Internet access and a business center in the lobby. Looking forward to having you in the house soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Portland - East Hotel Troutdale
Holiday Inn Express Troutdale
Holiday Inn Troutdale
Troutdale Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing