We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Base for Multnomah Falls”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Troutdale
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Good Base for Multnomah Falls”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

This is a basic hotel in a good location. It was very convenient to get here from Portland and then on to Multnomah Falls. Everything was clean and breakfast was tasty. The staff was very friendly and held our bags while we went to see the falls.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewName123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    72
    21
    4
    2
See reviews for
59
73
20
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

First things first, the staff is courteous and everything is kept clean and tidy. This hotel is also in a prime location which isn't too far from Multnomah Falls, places to hike and Portland. It's about 2hrs from Cannon Beach and Mt. Hood.

The bed was very comfortable and they offer two types of pillows which I thought was cool. They give you a choice of soft or firm pillows on your bed.

The continental breakfast was impressive and it's complimentary with your stay. Tons of delicious choices to choose from. At about 4pm they offer some complimentary food (cookies are also placed out and are freshly baked).

Overall I would recommend this place to anyone who didn't want to spend an arm and a leg while visiting Oregon. This is a prime locations, affordable, and clean hotel for it's price.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Ninjaeclipse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loree_Harrell, General Manager at Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you so much for making the time for such a comprehensive review! - it's appreciated, and, yes, location doesn't get a lot better than ours for being an easy jump out to the Gorge and access to the Mt. Hood Loop, or into Portland for the Saturday Market and gardens (and shopping, of course) : ).

"Impressive" is a great review of our hot breakfast, thank you. We're happy to have that available for you before you get out on your explore, and soup and cookies (5p) if you're returning or checking in early.

We look forward to having you back the next time you're in the area, and I am wishing you all the best of summer,
Loree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

close to the historic highway along the Columbia River Gorge and all the waterfalls. GRASS doggie area, full hot breakfast, (I had eggs, sausage and potatoes); and soup and cookies every night at 5pm.

Room Tip: has a laundry room too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mercouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loree_Harrell, General Manager at Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
It would never have occurred to me that some doggie areas might not be grass, but I gather you've come across at least one : ). Hope you found the great run through the fields and down to the river (right behind us) for the pup, too!

I'm glad you had a good stay with us and am sure you enjoyed your time at the waterfalls in the Gorge. We love being a half mile from the start of the Historic Highway - the best part of my day is that beautiful drive by the river up to my hike in the woods.

Thank you for making the time to write, it's appreciated, and we look forward to having you back soon!

All the best,
Loree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

The Comfort Inn in Troutdale is an economical and quiet place to stop for the night while travelling the beautiful Columbia Gorge country.
Staff are friendly, rooms clean, quiet and spacious. Breakfast is included, and although basic, it is fresh and helps to start your travelling day.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loree_Harrell, General Manager at Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you, Jeff - most glad we were a comfortable home base for your explorations in the Gorge (which, yes, is magnificent, isn't it?). Friendly, clean, and fresh are job one in their respective realms : ), so happy that was your experience.

Enjoy summer and we look forward to having you back next time you're in the vicinity!

Best to you,
Loree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Oregon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

This was a quick trip for us. Arrived late. Clerk very friendly and check in was very quick.
Room was nice and clean. Bed comfortable. Breakfast was very good. Lots of choices
and well stocked. Left early. If there was a pool or restaurant we did not use them

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elayne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

I love this place. It is clean and the people are nice. Love watching the small planes come in next door. Very Pet FRIENDLY.
Dairy Queen next door is great for an afternoon snack. Free Hot Breakfast and Soup and cookies in the afternoon

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eastcoas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
96 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We were so pleasantly suprised when we went to the hotel early in the morning (about 10:30am) to ask a question about our days activities and was asked if we would want to check in early. We were able to drop off our luggage and extra stuff so that it would not be unattended in the car all day.
Breakfast the next morning was just the ticket for a all day trek in the Columbia Gorge hiking.

Thank you for taking care of us!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirt E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troutdale
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Cascade Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portland East-Troutdale
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn Gresham
Quality Inn Gresham
#1 of 11 in Gresham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Camas Hotel
Camas Hotel
#1 of 1 in Camas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Parkersville Inn & Suites
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland East
Hampton Inn Portland East
#13 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway

Property: Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway
Address: 1000 Northwest Graham Road, Troutdale, OR 97060-9549 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Portland - East)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Troutdale
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Troutdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway! Our hotel is located 10 miles east of Portland International Airport at the gateway to the Columbia River Gorge National Scenic area featuring majestic Multnomah Falls. Activities and wonders abound in this land of rugged cliffs, sweeping vistas and cascading waterfalls. Start your morning out right with our complimentary hot breakfast including meat and eggs, biscuits and gravy, fresh waffles, plus a great selection of breads, cereals, muffins, yogurt, juice, and fruit. Spend your day hiking the Gorge, enjoying great food and shopping in Troutdale and on the river, or just relax and enjoy the day with a stroll by the Sandy River. Spend your evening wine tasting at McMenamin's Edgefield, featuring three restaurants with an onsite distillery, winery and a brewery. All of our guest rooms include a microwave, refrigerator, coffee-maker, and iron and board. We are a pet friendly facility and will be happy to give you directions to the best places to take the pup for a romp. Our pet friendly rooms are maintained to the same high standards as our pet free rooms. To keep you connected we offer free wireless high-speed Internet access and a business center in the lobby. Looking forward to having you in the house soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Portland - East Hotel Troutdale
Holiday Inn Express Troutdale
Holiday Inn Troutdale
Troutdale Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing