We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Under Renovation even the OFFICE MOVED” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motel 6 Portland East - Troutdale

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Motel 6 Portland East - Troutdale
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Troutdale
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Under Renovation even the OFFICE MOVED”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Look Out For the "bad pot holes"on the Frontage road that leads to this motel.it was clean,everything worked.there are NO Vending machines but you can walk to the TWO truck stops close by.if you are a truck driver or pulling a travel trailer parking is limited and first come first serve.so before you go scout out the place.NO Elevators one woman and her escort turned around and left because she had asthma{can't spell}and did not wish to walk the stairs to their room.beware of train noises and road noises and a little airport across the street but PDX the flight path is right above.the good news no fighter jets scambling at the time.very peaceful stay GOOD LUCK AND STAY SAFE

Room Tip: under renovation no jack hammers,how ever train noises & aircraft noise.they do cater to people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christopher g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    17
    22
    16
    22
See reviews for
15
20
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Puget Sound
Level Contributor
91 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Motel 6 does not promise all the features that more expensive chains offer. Some Motel 6 properties fail to deliver what the brand does promise. The Troutdale Motel 6 in two visits, first in 2007 and more recently in 2013, made good on two key promises: the room was clean and the room was comfortable.

The location is at exit 17 of Interstate 84, not far from both Interstate 5 and 205, and at the western entrance to the Columbia River Gorge. There is franchise food within a short walk on the same side of the street, and more ambitious restaurants can be found up the hill in Troutdale itself.

For the bicycle tourist, Marine View Drive provides an easy and pleasant connection to the I 205 bike path. There are several bike routes from the motel to downtown Portland. The Historic Columbia River Highway is just the other side of the railroad tracks and can be reached by riding east one long block and then turning right up the hill and past the Outlet Mall.

The Troutdale Motel 6 is not a five star property but it does provide a comfortable night's sleep at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Recumbent_Tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
m60407, General Manager at Motel 6 Portland East - Troutdale, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
I want to thank for the review. I am sorry for the few items that you found wrong in your room. I hope that we will see you again so that you will see that that is not our norm and that we try to stay on top of these issues. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
70 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

We were here for one night attending an event at Camp Angelos. I can typically find a 2-3* hotel on priceline or hotwire for the same price as rack rate at Motel 6 but occasionally when I can't (like this weekend), I'll stay in a budget motel like Motel 6.

Our experience here was comparable to the half-dozen Motel 6's I've stayed at over the last 20 years. Beds were a little too hard for my taste, towels a little too thin, housekeeping good but not thorough (found some mold above the shower faucet). I don't like the shower stalls at this property as the shower head is difficult to move so you can't really get out of the water while taking a shower. Reception was a mixed bag (our clerk was surly/noncommunicative but the other clerk was quite pleasant and helpful (which can also be said of the clerk we had on checkout...quite cheery). Because we had the A/C running all night, I didn't hear any of the freeway noise that others complained of (and we were on the freeway side of the hotel).

My fellow travelers all appeared to be budget travelers and not drug dealers or homeless people. Our room was adequate (no smell of smoke). We noticed on plugging in our electronics that the outlet locations were awkward and that many of the sockets were loos-ish.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
m60407, Manager at Motel 6 Portland East - Troutdale, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
I am happy that we may not had been as bad as you may had expected but that you felt safe and the room was clean and most of the staff made you feel welcome. Thanks for staying with us. Come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

We Wanted To Stay Near Edgefield For A Concert. This Was Close But The Nonsmoking Room Reeked Of Cigarettes.The Police Busted Into A Neighboring Room And Hauled Out 4 Suspects With Their Find Drawn.The Neighbors Were Loud.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmom99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
m60407, General Manager at Motel 6 Portland East - Troutdale, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
I am sorry that this guest had such a bad experience. We do try our best to keep our guests safe but when we do not know about the problem we are unable to fix it. Again we have staff on duty 24 hours to handle these type of issues. We have a great relationship with our police and they do make tours around the property to insure we are preventing this types of issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Troutdale hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

went with a group and rented 2 rooms. Both non-smoking. Upstairs room smelled badly of cigarette smoke. One set of stairs blocked due to broken steps. 2nd set of stairs had cracked and badly cracked steps. In both rooms the smoke alarm was dangling by wires from ceiling.
Shower curtain too short and allowed signifcant water to pour onto floor creating a slipping hazard. Not enough towels to clean up mess and dry off. Management wanted to charge for extra towels to dry floor. Shower also drained VERY slowly.
All of the above issues were communicated to housekeeping staff, then front desk, then website contact. Nothing was done to remedy or address any of the concerns.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glittergirl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
m60407, General Manager at Motel 6 Portland East - Troutdale, responded to this review, 28 July 2013
I am sorry that this party had such a bad expierience at our facility. We do our best at putting non-smokers in non smoking rooms. What is sad is that we advise all guests what type of room they are getting but not all are respectful enough to not smoke in a non smoking room. When we clean we use a ozone machine for the air in the room but it does not help remove all the smoke smell from all the fabric in the room. When the smokers smoke in the room the mess with the smoke detector and cause them to fall off the bracket it is mounted on. As for the stairs we block off the stairs to prevent anyone from being hurt. At this time we had ordered 30 new steps but they have not arrived as of yet. Again I am sorry that they had such a bad expierence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012 via mobile

The clerk rented a room to us without informing us that the a/c was out. The room was wicked hot. She wanted us to wait around in that hot, dirty room for someone to come "fix" a/c and then reluctantly refunded us. Also, front of motel is right on the Interstate..that would be ok but back of motel has trains roaring by, so no escape from noise. Also, neighborhood appears very sketchy.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dannyosgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
m60407, General Manager at Motel 6 Portland East - Troutdale, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
I am sorry that you had a bad experience during your stay. I just want to say that if my staff is not helpful, please just let the manager know before you leave so we can resolve this problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington, United States
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

The problem with this motel is that it is scary. There appear to be several rooms that are inhabited permanently, so there are people everywhere. We saw people BBQing in the parking lot. There is a strong cigarette odor and there were many people in doorways and along the balconies smoking cigarettes and at least one other substance could be smelled in the air. My daughter cut her foot inside the room in the morning and I admit to looking to see if she cut it on a needle... it was a nail that was coming out from the bottom of the bed frame.

The AC was NOT on, the HEAT was on and despite the fact that we had the thermostat set to cool the room off, it was in fact doing the opposite. This was confirmed by the woman at the checkout counter in the morning. She did inform us that we could have called down for a fan. Sleep quality was poor because the room was so warm.

The room appeared to be clean enough, and the beds were comfortable enough but I would not stay here again. Even though the price was low, the cons outweigh that for me.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ging101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
m60407, General Manager at Motel 6 Portland East - Troutdale, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expections during your stay. With the rate being as low as it is it does draw the displaced person for temp lodging. If you are worried about something I do have staff availible 24 hours and I do hope that if they are called that they respond promptly and correct the problem. Again I am sorry that you had issues during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troutdale
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge Gateway
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cascade Inn & Suites
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portland East-Troutdale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn Gresham
Quality Inn Gresham
#1 of 11 in Gresham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
1.8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Gresham
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland East
Hampton Inn Portland East
#13 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Portland East - Troutdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Portland East - Troutdale

Property: Motel 6 Portland East - Troutdale
Address: 1610 NW Frontage Road, I-84 at Exit 17, Troutdale, OR 97060
Region: United States > Oregon > Troutdale
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Troutdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Portland East - Troutdale 2*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Portland East - Troutdale is conveniently located off I-84 exit 17. Portland Intl Airport is 10 miles. Historic Multnomah Falls 20 miles. Blocks to Columbia Gorge Outlets. Enjoy our modern rooms and seasonal outdoor heated pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Motel 6 Portland East - Troutdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Troutdale
Motel Six Troutdale
Troutdale Motel Six
Troutdale Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing