We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ambiance nice, little else”

Riverview Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Riverview Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 52 Restaurants in Troutdale
Price range: US$30 - US$40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, View, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Historic Columbia River Highway
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ambiance nice, little else”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We had dinner with good friends tonight and tried out the Riverview. The setting is nice enough, along the Sandy River. The dining room is pleasant with its wide open A frame with some fireplaces. A piano player added to the positive feel. Unfortunately then we ordered food. My cream of mushroom soup arrived colder than lukewarm. I sent it back to be heated and then it came back with a crust on top. My prawns and scallops dish I also sent back. The scallops were beyond rubbery and two of the shrimp had the consistency of mashed potatoes. My friend's chicken dish was way overcooked. The crab ravioli was the only entree that went down easy at our table of four. I would consider going for happy hour in good weather to be out on the deck. But I would order a drink with maybe a salad (the spinach salad that replaced my sent back entree was alright).

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Alec M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    35
    16
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice Location”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We made reservations to be there for sunset. Once you are in the dining room the ambiance is relaxing with views of the river and 2 fireplaces. Food was well prepared. Service was good...it would have been excellent except we had 3 different waiters attending to us and waited a bit between appetizer and main course. Good wine selection.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troutdale, Oregon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous River Dining”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Their Happy Hour is delicious and well priced. Great place for special occasions or a nice dinner for anytime.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Teregirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Ambiance”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

My wife and I have now been to this restaurant about five times and have never been disappointed. There is a romantic mood, with soft lighting, a fire in the fireplace, views of the river (sometimes with fishermen), good food, and excellent live piano, sometimes with violin, or bass, or you-name-it. The meals are cooked to perfection and the service is impeccable. And after the meal, a beautiful, relaxing, scenic drive home along the Sandy River back to Troutdale and beyond.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Looking for delicious food”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Was looking for a delicious meal, disappointed. No butter with bread, just white fluffed margarine. 10Cents worth of zucchini. We didn't care for salad or dessert. Atmosphere cold and tall thin backs on chair so uncomfortable. We don't plan on returning. The waitress service was excellent.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank katherine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Riverview Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Riverview Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing