We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rude, overpriced, dirty!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quality Inn Umatilla
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Umatilla
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Rude, overpriced, dirty!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012

Our sheets were dirty, had "spots" on them, they brought us clean sheet....the frig was dirty so was the the floor and chairs. there was mold...nasty over priced place, Also over charged for our food that was tasteless and leftovers from the day before...owner got very rude with us. NEVER go to this place!!! Dog poop and cigarette butts in the grass to go to car, also watch out fro the holes. dirty dive run by rude people!

Room Tip: go to the Oxford in Hermiston!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank dawnt721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    9
    8
    3
    10
See reviews for
7
13
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

Umatilla has not a lot to offer so you are stuck in your motel. We had a friendly welcome and the room was clean but alas the rest was very behind our expectations for an Inn which advertises being next to the golf course with a swimming pool. For half the price we could have expected to have a room not updated, no landscaping and a small pool. It is a long time that a hotel charges me a price per person and you have the choice for the same price of having the view to the pool or the view to the parking lot with a kitchenette. The restaurant was dark and not welcoming. The air conditioning was noisy.

Room Tip: Do not choose any
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sunyrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Umatilla hotels

Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

Out of our long weekend, our few hours here were horrible. The neighborhood is rough and there was a 911 call alledgedly involving a knife during our event. i understand the owner called it in. the property was run down. Later we learned it as for sale. The staff was not pleasant, which for a catered affair would seemed to me to put off a bunch of potential future customers, plus insure none of us will be back. We planned to spend the entire evening but went to a friends early, right after the entree. Her house was a blast! What we had planed tobe at Desert Inn turned out to be at our friends back yard. I would not plan my next event at Desert Inn.

Room Tip: i doubt there is one given the public area
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lovely2012_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
235 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

We attended a reunion. We do not live in this vicinity. Dinner was to begin at 7 pm. Social hour at 6 pm. We were taking photos outside and it approached 7:05. A woman began pushing us to get in and sit down. She was rude. She became a bit hostile when people mingled as they took their seats. It wasn't assigned seating, so folks shuffled around a bit. I asked to speak with a supervisor as she complained. Turns out not only was she the supervisor, she was the owner. There was a disagreement involving a guest. She called 911.According to locals, this is typical. The owner is confrontational and unreasonable, they say. We left early as did most of the group, and had a great time with new and old friends with a gracious hostess at her home. I don't understand why the owner is in this business. I feel sorry for any bridal party or group trying to have a special event only to be met with the experience we had.

Room Tip: We didn't stay in a room. We stayed in Hermiston at Oxford Suites where we encountered nothing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank laurie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
75 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

This is a no-frills motel next to a golf course, and it was the closest one to the river in this region. The room was clean and comfortable, and it overlooked the greens of the golf course. The location is in a neighborhood and one block away is a bluff overlooking the Columbia, with a trail that goes down to the river.

We had dinner in the restaurant and the waitress was very nice and friendly. The salad was crisp and fresh and overall we were very happy with our dinner.

From the looks of the other places to stay, this was the best one in the town.

Room Tip: view of the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnotherHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherwood, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2008

We are celebrating our 25th family reunion this Labor Day. Most all of them have been at the Desert River Inn. Once we found this place there was only one time that we strayed (back in 1993) and we've been back ever since.

It's not the nicest hotel, and yes they have tiny frogs at night that climb to the lights on the walls (our kids collect them) and yes flys can get in your room if you leave the door open (we always take a fly swatter), but they are soooo accomodating and put up with 125 of us every year allowing us to almost take over their hotel.

The hotel is affordable, the golf is affordable, the pool is right next to where we all hang out so the kids are always close, your able to run to your room at the 8th hole, just to mention a few.

The only thing I would warn you about are the slicers who might hit your car with there golf ball when teeing off on the 8th. If that is of any concern, park behind the tee box :o)

Looking forward to being there at the end of the month again.

I just got done staying at an Embassy Suites and there were about 20 cigarettes on our balcany outside our sliding glass door. So the person who complained about the dead frog in the bathroom, remember, mistakes happen.

I would always recommend the Desert River Inn and Stephanie Rocks.

R. Smith
Sherwood, OR

  • Liked — Accomodating
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank rosmith9710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2008

OMG! So first thing I noticed is the dead, crispy, dry frog in the bathroom. When was the last time they cleaned this room?? I then called the front desk to complain and have them take care of it and what do they say? "Well, can't you just get some toilet paper and pick it up and flush it?" WHAT??? Then I noticed there is a bar of used Dial soap on the sink that isn't wrapped and come to find out, they don't use Dial, housekeeping put they soap someone else brought, used, and left, on the sink for the next person to use. And when I picked it up with toilet paper to throw it away there was a PUBE on the bottom! (Oh Also I'm from Washington where you can't smoke indoors anywhere and the place is reeking of cigarette smoke in the non smoking room.) Then my uncle staying down the hall calls and says he has to move rooms because there's no running water in his room. When he called the front desk they offered to give him a key to another room to borrow the shower! He insisted on getting a new room. I got more mosquito bites in the room than I did outdoors and the morning when we were packing up to leave I had to strip the bed to find my sister's lost toy and there was a beetle running around in the sheets on the bed we were sleeping in! Service in the restaurant was terrible and slow and the "hot" food was served luke warm/cold and there are not options for vegetarians. YUCK. It feels like a rain forrest in your room when you first walk in. The hotel is in a 100 degree weather pattern during the summer and they leave it up to you to start the AC when you get in. Why wouldn't they just have this on at all times or at least the morning of the day you're suppose to check in. This place was a HUGE let down. My mom was SO embarrased to have reserved these rooms for our extended family.

  • Liked — The close location to Mcneary Dam.
  • Disliked — The service and the cleanliness.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
Helpful?
5 Thank pslack327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Umatilla
2.1 mi away
Tillicum Inn
Tillicum Inn
#1 of 3 in Umatilla
3.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
9.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Hermiston
7.2 mi away
Best Western Hermiston Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Oxford Suites Hermiston
Oxford Suites Hermiston
#1 of 7 in Hermiston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
20.0 mi away
River Lodge and Grill
River Lodge and Grill
#1 of 2 in Boardman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
6.2 mi away
Oak Tree Inn - Hermiston
Oak Tree Inn - Hermiston
#3 of 7 in Hermiston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Umatilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Umatilla

Property: Quality Inn Umatilla
Address: 705 Willamette St, Umatilla, OR 97882-9404 (Formerly Desert River Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Umatilla
Amenities:
Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Umatilla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Umatilla 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn Umatilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing