We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will go back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quality Inn Umatilla
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Umatilla
Dallas, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Will go back”
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

We found the Desert River Inn after searching others that would let us stay with our dog, without costing us an arm and a leg. It was so quiet, clean and very large. There is a golf course across from our room, a little grassy yard out a patio door. It is a little older than some of the fancier places, that probably has a lot to do with not even hearing other guests, but so clean. Couldn't have been more perfect for our needs.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank grannyjohnson531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    12
    8
    6
    12
See reviews for
11
15
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Thanks to the GPS, we found this place which is in or near Hermiston, OR. Pleasant & comfortable overnight stop with plenty of amenities, including restaurant & swimming pool. Courteous, helpful staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zarafa336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Our sheets were dirty, had "spots" on them, they brought us clean sheet....the frig was dirty so was the the floor and chairs. there was mold...nasty over priced place, Also over charged for our food that was tasteless and leftovers from the day before...owner got very rude with us. NEVER go to this place!!! Dog poop and cigarette butts in the grass to go to car, also watch out fro the holes. dirty dive run by rude people!

Room Tip: go to the Oxford in Hermiston!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank dawnt721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Umatilla hotels

Seattle
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Umatilla has not a lot to offer so you are stuck in your motel. We had a friendly welcome and the room was clean but alas the rest was very behind our expectations for an Inn which advertises being next to the golf course with a swimming pool. For half the price we could have expected to have a room not updated, no landscaping and a small pool. It is a long time that a hotel charges me a price per person and you have the choice for the same price of having the view to the pool or the view to the parking lot with a kitchenette. The restaurant was dark and not welcoming. The air conditioning was noisy.

Room Tip: Do not choose any
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sunyrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Out of our long weekend, our few hours here were horrible. The neighborhood is rough and there was a 911 call alledgedly involving a knife during our event. i understand the owner called it in. the property was run down. Later we learned it as for sale. The staff was not pleasant, which for a catered affair would seemed to me to put off a bunch of potential future customers, plus insure none of us will be back. We planned to spend the entire evening but went to a friends early, right after the entree. Her house was a blast! What we had planed tobe at Desert Inn turned out to be at our friends back yard. I would not plan my next event at Desert Inn.

Room Tip: i doubt there is one given the public area
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lovely2012_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We attended a reunion. We do not live in this vicinity. Dinner was to begin at 7 pm. Social hour at 6 pm. We were taking photos outside and it approached 7:05. A woman began pushing us to get in and sit down. She was rude. She became a bit hostile when people mingled as they took their seats. It wasn't assigned seating, so folks shuffled around a bit. I asked to speak with a supervisor as she complained. Turns out not only was she the supervisor, she was the owner. There was a disagreement involving a guest. She called 911.According to locals, this is typical. The owner is confrontational and unreasonable, they say. We left early as did most of the group, and had a great time with new and old friends with a gracious hostess at her home. I don't understand why the owner is in this business. I feel sorry for any bridal party or group trying to have a special event only to be met with the experience we had.

Room Tip: We didn't stay in a room. We stayed in Hermiston at Oxford Suites where we encountered nothing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank laurie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

This is a no-frills motel next to a golf course, and it was the closest one to the river in this region. The room was clean and comfortable, and it overlooked the greens of the golf course. The location is in a neighborhood and one block away is a bluff overlooking the Columbia, with a trail that goes down to the river.

We had dinner in the restaurant and the waitress was very nice and friendly. The salad was crisp and fresh and overall we were very happy with our dinner.

From the looks of the other places to stay, this was the best one in the town.

Room Tip: view of the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnotherHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Umatilla
2.1 mi away
Tillicum Inn
Tillicum Inn
#1 of 3 in Umatilla
41 reviews
9.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Hermiston
6.2 mi away
Oak Tree Inn - Hermiston
Oak Tree Inn - Hermiston
#4 of 7 in Hermiston
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Oxford Suites Hermiston
Oxford Suites Hermiston
#1 of 7 in Hermiston
601 reviews
20.0 mi away
River Lodge and Grill
River Lodge and Grill
#1 of 2 in Boardman
165 reviews
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Hermiston Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Umatilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Umatilla

Property: Quality Inn Umatilla
Address: 705 Willamette St, Umatilla, OR 97882-9404 (Formerly Desert River Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Umatilla
Amenities:
Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Umatilla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Umatilla 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Quality Inn Umatilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing