We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cliff House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Waldport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Orland, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great stay!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

We had a great time at the Cliff House. Sharon and Glenn did an outstanding job. We met some very nice people at the fantastic breakfasts. We highly recommend staying at the property. The area is beautiful and very close and easy to access.
Aloha Sharon and Glenn,
Joey and Nancy

Room Tip: If available get the room that affords you a view of the entire bay! Fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffery S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    15
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
122
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

Driving home through Oregon to Seattle on the longer coastal route we realized we still had 6 hours to go and it was already 5:30pm. This dawned on us as we entered Waldport... and it took us just 1 minute to turn around and find the Cliff House, signposted a couple minutes back. What a great decision! Easy to find. Lucky to have a spare room for us. An outright stunning beach view from the house's clifftop deck. Really nice, interesting and accommodating hosts. Comfortable sleep. Charming rooms. Trific breakfast. (Souffles, scones, sausages, fruits!) A couple sweet, quiet dogs kept separately from the guests. We enjoyed our sudden stay so very much.

Room Tip: Next time I'd pick the one above the hot tub facing the beach. And second favorite would be the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

I laughed when I read the review which mentioned it was like staying at your favorite aunt's place...cottage we would add...with evening cookies to snack on. This place has the right location, the right views, great access to a large and long beach, really can't ask for anything more...well maybe one thing. We visited during the Olympics and our television was small and the image quality not that good. Sharon is a natural entertainer and has some real talents in the kitchen, the breakfast was delicious and bountiful.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank edouardhenri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

We spent 3 days here in early August and it was perfect! The house is just above the beach and the views are absolutely gorgeous. The setting is very romantic. Sharon and Glenn will take care of you from beginning to end. Breakfasts are very enjoyable with the other guests -- we all sit around a large dining room table. Sharon makes incredible homemade baked items. Scones & muffins are in abundance and there's always a special entree (we had an egg soufflé, cheese blintzes, and a baked egg/french toast like dish -- on different days, of course). The location is convenient to Newport and Yachats for very nice restaurants and all the usual Oregon Coast diversions. You can't go wrong here -- we can't wait to come back again sometime!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Alsea Room, which has great views of the bay and the ocean. Absolutely no complain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richtrubey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

This B&B packs lots of bric a brac and an initial abrasiveness but ends up giving you nearly everything you need. A typed note with a few intimidating rules greets you from the bed as you enter your guestroom. (Examples: Do not be late for breakfast... Check out late and you’ll be charged $20 for every 30 minutes…) But then get to know Sharon and Glen and their sweet dogs, and you’ll feel that they want you to enjoy yourself. And as other reviewers have attested, the beautiful oceanfront location – where the Alsea River meets the Pacific Ocean – can’t be beat.

“Pampered elegance” is the wrong phrase (prominently employed in this property’s marketing) but that doesn’t have to be a bad thing. I’ve probably stayed at 50 B&Bs, and this one is cozy, homey, lovely -- but not royal or refined or five-star. (Couldn’t a couple of bottles of water just be included in the room rate, rather than be marked 50 cents each?) You’ll wade through teddy bears, lace, framed faded items taking up much of the wall space, so-so bath products, and a bit of dust… but your guestroom will feature a very comfortable bed and fluffy towels, and your breakfast will be outstanding (with fruit and homemade muffins and scones before the hearty main course). The indoor and outdoor common areas are great for cozying up with a book or just watching the ocean and local creatures.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelinNic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

We stayed here for 3 days in July and can't wait to go back. Great ocean views and the best breakfast I have ever had. We had to tear ourselves away to go hiking everyday. Great for viewing wildlife from the comfort of your room or just listening to the ocean.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TandDonVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

We enjoyed staying at the Cliff House. When we arrived, Sharon had lemonade and home made cookies waiting for us as soon as we settled in. there is a glass enclosed porch, which lets you have a great view of the ocean. Ocean access is a little difficult, but my wife and I managed. After dinner we spent an hour in the hot tub on the porch. Breakfast was great. There was fresh fruit, home baked muffins and an egg souffle. You were not hungry after the meal. Our room was small without a view, but the porch made up for it.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCMike82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waldport
4.1 mi away
Deane's Oceanfront Lodge
6.9 mi away
Adobe Resort
Adobe Resort
#5 of 11 in Yachats
4.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
14.9 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Fireside Motel
Fireside Motel
#3 of 11 in Yachats
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
5.8 mi away
Silver Surf Motel
Silver Surf Motel
#4 of 11 in Yachats
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
14.6 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Cliff House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1450 SW Adahi Rd., 1 Block West of Hwy 101 (, P o Box 2076, Waldport, OR 97394
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Waldport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Waldport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cliff House Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CLIFF HOUSE Bed and Breakfast...Pampered Elegance by the Sea! A luxuriously restored historic home which overlooks the Pacific Ocean and the Alsea Bay. Each room uniquely decorated with antiques, Electric Fireplace/Heaters, luxurious robes, small refrigerators, WIFI, Flat Screen TVs, DVD/VCR and DISH TV & filtered air. Each with a unique view. A full home made gourmet breakfast in the ocean view dining room is included. 10 Miles of beach to explore! Enjoy Tea, Lemonade and cookies in the Great Room! Close to Light Houses, Beaches, Covered Bridges, Golf, shopping, and Great Restaurants! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Cliff House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing