We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lilttle sarcasim goes a long way...”

Vickie's Big Wheel Drive-In
Ranked #11 of 20 Restaurants in Waldport
Cuisines: American, Fast food, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Baker City, Oregon
Level Contributor
248 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“A lilttle sarcasim goes a long way...”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Well, we've been living here in beautiful Waldport for several years now but obviously we're not recognized as "locals". We got the "snub" treatment last visit. When I say last visit, that's exactly what it was. We walked in after returning from a day of shopping in Newport and had Starbucks Iced tea clear tumblers. Immediately the attitude turned. Vickie asked "is there alcohol in those cups" really? and no smile just a crappy little tude.
Ray's has just as good burgers and prices are better so we no longer darken the doors here.
Better learn to treat people a little better in these tough economic times Vickie. Bad days can't reflect in your treatment of customers.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ratfink2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    16
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gladstone
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Old school diner!”
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

I have been driving past this diner for years and decided to try it out about a year ago. If you are craving a burger with fries and a milk shake this is a great place to stop in.

Helpful?
Thank IRAQVET12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waldport, Oregon
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best Hamburger in Town”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Vickie's sits at the foot of the Waldport Bridge as you come into town from the north. Parking and seating is limited, so avoid the noon crowd. It has a walk-up window, which helps for the locals on a lunch time schedule.

You want a good hamburger? This is the place to find it. Vickie's has an old time counter feel, like the malt shops of yesteryear. Any flavor of milk shake is possible; they even make my favorite, hot fudge!!

One of the best things about this place is the owner. Vickie not only puts out a good product, she is generous to Waldport. She steps up when solicited for donations for community events like Beachcomber Days and the new Crab Derby put on by the Port of Alsea, plus many more. She gives back to community that supports her.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peta_Warwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
181 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Just o.k.”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Had a coupon so decided to check out this small local diner. Not being a snob, but this place wouldn't survive in a larger community. Been to many local restaurants that serve awesome food, but unfortunately this was not one of those. Burgers were the best of what we ate and can recommend those. However, the fries and onion rings were mediocre and we didn't bother to eat these. Decided to try adding ketchup but it certainly wasn't Heinz. Milkshake was overly sweet but malt great. Total of 14 seats inside--two tables of 4 seats and 6 at the counter. Picnic table outside. Up to you, but we won't be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WesternGardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Charming people”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Vicki's Big Wheel is a very clean and friendly spot. During our trip to the area we stopped here twice, once to eat in and once to take out. The food was good, but it great. The portions are huge, especially the chili burger, but nothing really special. Having said that: the staff is incredibly friendly, they will make and customize your order if possible and the food was good. There is nothing ultra unique or special...there is no distinct flavor that you can only get here. As we ate our lunches, we kept saying, this is like we made it at home on a Sunday afternoon.....we wanted a more delicious experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Reese-Stewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vickie's Big Wheel Drive-In also viewed

Waldport, Oregon Coast
Waldport, Oregon Coast
 
 

Been to Vickie's Big Wheel Drive-In? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing