We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT Mexican Food”
Review of Azul

Azul
Ranked #4 of 20 Restaurants in Waldport
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Waldport, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“GREAT Mexican Food”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The Food is wonderful, occasionally they have music, ( a great guitar player). The owner is a very friendly lady with the chops to back up her wonderful menu. The seafood chimichanga is to die for.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Don G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    41
    16
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Otis, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Home-made Goodness-Don't Miss This Restaurant”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

YUMMY!!!! To start with everything is made home made fresh. That in its self is almost unheard of these days. We found this yummy mexican restaurant while traveling on the coast.
The lunch specials are wonderful if you are on a budget $6.99. My husband and I both ate with sodas for $ under $25.00. The salsa/chips are TASTY and fresh. Warm chips and 2 kinds of salsa to chose from. The side of avacado dip was perfect and cheap, spice perfectly. We knew it was going to be good when the guest walking out told us the food was sooooo good - you won't be disappointed. The server was excellant and provided us with fast service. Thank you we will be back soon! Did I forget to say - the view outside the restaurant is beautiful...

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brianr1074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seal Rock, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“BAD Experience”
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We had heard so many great things about this place....As far as the food goes it is very good. As far as atmosphere, service.. well that was a totally different story. We went in on a Saturday and ordered. While waiting for our meals we had to listen to the waitress talk to another customer all about her personal life--no choice. When our meals came we were informed that we were given the wrong menu and our meals would be considerably more expensive since it was a weekend. Before we could react the waitress ( yes we already knew her life story) began to whine that we must pay the full price because she would get into trouble if her boss found out we got the wrong menu. Normally I would just pay the difference without a thought--I get it. And I did just pay it. However, when I asked to speak with someone about how this was handled, nothing was done. No one came to talk to me. In fact our waitress just kept saying how much trouble she would be in if we didn't pay. I live here and eat out a lot and no matter how good the food is, the whole experience is what matters. So when in Waldport if you want Mexican food for take out.....

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mklsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good food and live music”
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

We stumbled onto Azuls while driving around this little seaside town. We checked the reviews and decided to try it. Good idea! It was cozy, friendly and the food tasty. After munching on the wonderfully crispy chips we were entertained by a musician at an electronic keyboard playing light jazz and familiar tunes. Our waitress was terrific and all four of us enjoyed our meals. There is at least one other Mexican restaurant in town but it would have to work hard to outdo AZULS. My review thumb is almost strait up.

Helpful?
Thank mythumb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waldport, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Tasty Mex next door to Port of Alsea”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Azul is well-run by a friendly local family. Service is always with a smile, and the food offerings are tasty, basic Mexican dishes--and a great Margarita to boot! A great spot to relax and dine after a busy day on Alsea bay crabbing, fishing, or just enjoying the beautiful bay, one of the most pristine on the Oregon Coast!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Azul also viewed

Waldport, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing