We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Open Thurs & Sat "OMG Good!"”

Pacific Sourdough Handcrafted Specialty Breads
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Waldport
Certificate of Excellence
Description: Pacific Sourdough is a small artisan bakery located next to Alsea Bay on the Oregon Coast. We create natural leavened sourdough breads, delicious pastries and specialty desserts.You can visit the bakery on Thursdays and Saturdays from 10 to 3 at 740 NE Mill Street in Walport's Old Town area. Limited hours, hard to find but worth searching out and getting something wonderfully delicious.Katie McNeil and Mike Smith, the bakers and owners of Pacific Sourdough also sell fresh baked breads and pastries at the Saturday Farmers' Market in Newport. Market shoppers will find a wide variety of handcrafted Pacific Sourdough breads and specialty pastries baked fresh that day (often still warm from the oven!) and can enjoy the seasonal offerings and inspirations of the bakers.
Restaurant details
Description: Pacific Sourdough is a small artisan bakery located next to Alsea Bay on the Oregon Coast. We create natural leavened sourdough breads, delicious pastries and specialty desserts.You can visit the bakery on Thursdays and Saturdays from 10 to 3 at 740 NE Mill Street in Walport's Old Town area. Limited hours, hard to find but worth searching out and getting something wonderfully delicious.Katie McNeil and Mike Smith, the bakers and owners of Pacific Sourdough also sell fresh baked breads and pastries at the Saturday Farmers' Market in Newport. Market shoppers will find a wide variety of handcrafted Pacific Sourdough breads and specialty pastries baked fresh that day (often still warm from the oven!) and can enjoy the seasonal offerings and inspirations of the bakers.
Waldport, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Open Thurs & Sat "OMG Good!"”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I love love love the seaded sourdough bread fresh and made that morning. They have the largest pecan rolls and sooo tasty! I have loved the pastries and the many sweets they have. They also sell in the local farmers markets. Either location get there early for a good selection.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    4
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waldport, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Best SOURDOUGH I have ever had......”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The absolute best home baked bread you will ever find....
The sourdough is fantastic, the owners are GREAT. I personally like the onion sourdough bread but it is not always available. The treats are wonderful too. The Almond cake is FANTASTIC!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Don G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kootenays,BC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

This place is amazing. If you are in Waldport on Thursday or Saturdays, run don't walk here.
Lots of yummy artisan bread and baked sweet treats to die for. All at reasonable prices too!
Highly recommend.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank kootenai-girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Thank you, TripAdviser." ”
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

We were browsing TA for eating places in Waldport and came across this little bakery. Since it is only open during the week on Thur we marked our calendar accordingly. Fortunately we arrived when only two customers were there ahead of us. When we left it was sardinely crowded.

It is not a sit down place, only a counter and a display case. But O the goodies on display! We got 2 round loaves of dark sourdough bread, 2 sandwiches, and 2 cookies.

We told the man behind the counter that he can thank TA for our business and he said, "We do the same thing when we travel."

I don't think our bread will last a week so next week we'll get 3 loaves.

My indicator thumb is pointing to the sky!

Helpful?
1 Thank mythumb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waldport, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Worth the Wait! Open to the Public Thursday and Saturday Only”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Pacific Sourdough's Bake Sale has become our Thursday ritual. We are not alone either! No matter when we arrive we find a line of eager customers. You need not worry. Katie's cheerful but efficient manner keeps the line moving quickly.
My children and I find the decision making process to be most difficult because we know that each item is delicious in its own way. We typically chose from the savory items such as the baker's lunch or the onion cheddar scones and the sweet items like tarts, brownies or cookies. We have not been disappointed yet!
Saturday, at the Newport Farmers' Market, we often buy a baguette or a pretzel roll. But if we cannot make it to the market we have discovered that we can purchase goodies at the storefront which is currently open on Saturdays too!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pacific Sourdough Handcrafted Specialty Breads also viewed

Waldport, Oregon Coast
 
Waldport, Oregon Coast
Waldport, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Pacific Sourdough Handcrafted Specialty Breads? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing