We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“weekend break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alsi Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alsi Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Waldport
Medford, Oregon
2 reviews
“weekend break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

Waldport's Alsi Resort, while in the throes of it's market entry growth demonstrates the resources to become a most desirable place of stay on the central Oregon coast. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the beaches both North and South are perfect, Cape Perpetua with it's hiking trails, Seal Cave, Devils Cauldron and other recreational sites are nearby, lending a multitude of options for your stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elbert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    27
    44
    16
    37
See reviews for
62
37
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

As one reviewer says it's not a resort but it was basically clean and at check in, friendly. It was $89 for a 2 queen room overlooking the parking lot. My wife asked about changing rooms to the bay side and was told we booked thru expedia and there would be an extra charge. Although the Alsi looks like it has alot of rooms I think they only have some of the rooms available. Forget the continental breakfast, it was coffee and 3 types of cereal with an empty milk pitcher and crumbs all over the small table. There are 2 small tables for 4 and a coffee table for your use. I suggest that you find somewhere else to eat breakfast. One hour before our 11am checkout my wife asked if we could have a little later checkout. The lady desk clerk said 'we have someone checking into that room this afternoon', so there goes the friendly checkin.
This could be a very nice place to stay with more attention by the owners.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mmetz105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun City West, AZ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

From the beginning (reservation) to the end of our 5 day stay, the staff (especially Rebecca) was most friendly, personable, and helpful... even the general manager was eager to assist... it is a quiet, attractive, comfortable clean property... restaurant was closed and continental breakfast was limited, but no problem for us... would we stay there again, absolutely... would we recommend it to our best friends, absolutely!!!

Room Tip: We had a corner suite, great view overlooking the bay and bridge... any room with this view would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

If this were advertised as a bare bones budget motel, it's right on. But to call it a resort...
They have made some obvious attempts at updating this old building. In fact, there was still a tape line with paint residue on the tiles in the shower. The frightening thing is that the paint wiped right off with a finger, so have they actually never washed the tile? The plumbing was interesting, pouring from both tub and shower simultaneously. Oh, and I was glad that only about ten rooms were in use, because when I came in from the beach, I knew my wife was in the shower. You could hear it from the end of the hall!
The onsite restaurant is no longer open, and their "breakfast" is cold cereal and stale mini muffins. Fortunately, they didn't advertise breakfast at all, or I would have really been irritated.
Bright spot. Recently redecorated and nice beds. We did get a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ray M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Waldport hotels

Damascus, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stayed the last weekend in July 2013. Very comfortable beds, very clean rooms with lots of sample soaps, mouthwash, sewing kit etc. Swimming pool area needs some work, but temp is wonderful even on a 70 degree day. Staff are helpful and friendly. The breakfast buffet is very basic, 3 kinds of cereal, milk and coffee (regular and decaf). There are picnic benches and BBQ pits in the lawn next to the bay and many people were crabbing and fishing then cooking their dinner. It sits next to a residential area and is very quiet. We will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the Bay side upstairs for the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LarryNLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

As I understand it this place is newly opened, yet I saw few staff. The bar and restaurant were closed, the morning coffee bar and breakfast consisted of yesterday's coffee (cold, in thermos)
and cereal. In the two days we stayed there the maid never visited our room-we had to ask for refills for the coffee maker. Our key card did not work on the door-creating much discord. This was the saddest place I have ever experienced.

Room Tip: Tip: know this place is very isolated-like the Overlook Hotel in the shining, and there are no servi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dollie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

It's nice to see that the new management and new name (Alsi) of this Waldport resort is bringing it back to the popularity it had years ago when it was the Bayshore Inn. The hotel is clean, the staff is nice, there's a continental breakfast included, and the location is perfect within walking distance of the bay and the ocean. Be sure to make reservations directly as it's cheaper than through search engines like Expedia.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OregonSwimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waldport
5.0 mi away
Deane's Oceanfront Lodge
7.8 mi away
Adobe Resort
Adobe Resort
#5 of 11 in Yachats
4.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
15.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport
12.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
7.6 mi away
Fireside Motel
Fireside Motel
#3 of 11 in Yachats
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alsi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alsi Resort

Property: Alsi Resort
Address: 902 NW Bayshore Dr, Hwy 101, Exit W. on Bayshore, Waldport, OR 97394-9534 (Formerly Waldport Beach Resort)
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Waldport
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Waldport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Alsi Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alsi Resort is an 80 room hotel is a beachfront resort on the Alsea Bay, a short walk from the pacific Ocean, with beautiful bay and bridge views looking into the coastal mountain range of the central Oregon Coast. Harbor seals and bald eagles can be seen, close to crabbing and clamming areas of the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Alsi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soul Vacation Hotel Waldport
Waldport Beach Hotel
Howard Johnson Waldport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing