We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kah-Nee-Ta Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Warm Springs
Santa Cruz
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice getaway”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I had the opportunity to get a great deal on a room and decided to take my husband for his bday. I read the reviews and wasn't sure what we would get. The room was okay and comfortable with a nice deck. Since there were not many people there it was quiet but I can see that if it was crowded it would be noisy. Thankfully for us it wasn't. We did eat at the resort and the food was good but pricey I felt. I don't mind spending a little extra but I expect great things when I do. We did dinner and breakfast there. I found the waitstaff to be so great both times. Front desk was okay, not very friendly or helpful, but got the job done and that was good. There was a general feeling of disorganization through out the entire booking process that continued on the resort grounds as well.

We spent most of our time at the mineral spring pool and spa. Since it was October the place was not crowded at all. We loved the pool and enjoyed our time lounging around it and in it. Very relaxing. I can see where it would not be fun when crowded but the day we were there it was heavenly. Sunny, cool day, with awesome 90 degree water to float around in. We also went to the casino at night and that was pretty fun. There was lots of people there in a good way, and we found it very entertaining.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caibo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    147
    124
    95
    86
See reviews for
251
142
4
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wishram, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I had found a rate of 89.00 for a village room & called to make a reservation. I was told that I had to do this online. After searching the site & finding no way to make a reservation I emailed the address shown & stated I wanted to make a reservation for 5 days after the email was sent. On the day I wanted to check in I was emailed back & told to send an email to a different address. By this time it was to late for me to plan my trip. Needless to say This is not the way to make or keep customers. Also NO FOOD ON PREMISES!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank brian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Warm Springs hotels

Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

this was a nice little trip. The room was very clean and the very nice. the deck off the room was great. The resturant at the lodge was a pricey but it was good. We had dinner there and then sunday morning breakfast. There was only three of us for the dinner and it was close to 160.00 (we did not have drinks just soda) the pool was wonderful. We did a little hiking while we were there. What a sight. Very nice.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We came to this resort for a golf event.After reading reviews were not really looking forward to the stay.From check in to the end of our stay we had great service.When we first got to room there was a light bulb out in one of the lamps,not that important usually but these were the only lights in the whole room .Stopped at front desk on way to dinner and call was made immediately to fix.We had dinner at the "fine dining" restaurant( I wouldn't consider it one) but Rob our server was amazing and made dinner such a pleasure.The salmon we ordered was delicious as well as the Indian fry bread.We also had a great time at the bar downstairs later in the evening where there was a young bartender(wish I remembered name) and then again the next morning when Rob was working again at the bar and made tasty bloody marys and offered to bring us more fry bread :).We asked for extra coffee in the room and that was also fulfilled right away.Overall, our low expectations were totally wrong and we had a nice experience

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rryan62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I scheduled 2 rooms for an upcoming to SAT night to celebrate my senior mothers birthday. Due to problems my aging mother had, we were unable to make the date. At the time of booking, I was advised that if we had to cancel, we would have one year in which to rebook and not lose money. When I called to cancel, I was advised that I had to pick a date and would be held to that date and would forfeit my money if I couldn't make it. It's hard to plan with an aging mother!! The person handling reservations admitted it was poor policy but out of her hands. She said I could take it up with the manager. Not ready to fight this yet as I don't what my plans will be. BUT THEIR CUSTOMER SERVICE SUCKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KBlum1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We loved our room and the fantastic view. The staff were great. We were very disappointed in the food service. Breakfast in the dining room was just perfect and included in the price. Dinner, however, was in a room with no windows, just a view of the pool tables and the slot machines. The prices, however, were for the dining room and VERY expensive. Not such a good deal. We'd have gone elsewhere for dinner, but it's a 12 mile drive to another restaurant.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere for dinner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos S, Manager at Kah-Nee-Ta Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed our view and service, but disappointed to hear that you were underwhelmed by your dinner with us, Richard. We're looking to upgrade our dining facilities, so we'll definitely consider your comments. Thank you for the feedback and I hope you'll stay with us again soon.

Till then:
Carlos Smith, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canby, Oregon, United States
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We have made many trips to Kah-nee-ta over the past 50 years, this time we were in the RV area, which is very nice. My main issue was with the pool. What really draws most people including us to this place is the wonderful warm mineral water in the lower pool. When we go to a hot springs we expect warm water. To our dismay the water was cool, no different than any other pool. Unfortunately, the Adult hot tub was usually very crowded, often with children. The whole pool area seemed not as well cared for as usual, with leaves and trash. Overall this was a disappointing trip, and did not make us eager to return. Sadly this has been one of my favorite places to go but is no longer.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbara N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos S, Manager at Kah-Nee-Ta Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
We love hearing from our loyal customers, Barbara. I'm very glad that you've been coming to us for so many years, but very disappointed to hear that your last experience was not your best. Customer feedback is very important to me, so I will definitely speak with the pool staff about keeping the accommodations clean and comfortable. Thank you for the review and I hope you'll give us another chance in the future.

Till then,
Carlos Smith, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warm Springs
15.1 mi away
Inn at Cross Keys Station
15.6 mi away
Quality Inn Madras
Quality Inn Madras
#2 of 5 in Madras
165 reviews
15.0 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Madras Chateau Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Motel 6 Madras OR
Motel 6 Madras OR
#3 of 5 in Madras
62 reviews
22.3 mi away
Imperial River Co.
Imperial River Co.
#1 of 5 in Maupin
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kah-Nee-Ta Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kah-Nee-Ta Resort & Spa

Property: Kah-Nee-Ta Resort & Spa
Address: 6823 Highway 8, PO Box 1240, Warm Springs, OR 97761 (Formerly Kah-Nee-Ta High Desert Resort & Casino)
Region: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Warm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Warm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kah-Nee-Ta Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kah-Nee-Ta Resort and Spa offers a variety of accommodations from suites and private view balcony rooms in the Lodge to Village suites and teepees and even a full-service RV Park. Every option is close to all the fun and diverse activities available at Kah-Nee-Ta.Kah-Nee-Ta Village was completed in 1964 and named for the Indian woman Xnitla, "Root Digger" who had owned the property. Xnitla was a scout and spiritual leader who used the natural hot springs and indigenous plants and roots for medicinal purposes and religious ceremonies. The Lodge and Convention Center opened in 1972Kah-Nee-Ta Resort is located on the 600,000+ Sq Acre Warm Springs Indian Reservation. It is owned and operated by the Confederated Tribes of Warm Springs. The Warm Springs Reservation was established by The Treaty of 1855 on a small reserve of land where our ancestors lived for thousands of years. In 1937 the Wasco, Paiute and Warm Springs Tribes organized as the Confederated Tribes of Warm Springs and became a sovereign, self-governing nation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kah-Nee-Ta Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kah-Nee-Ta High Desert Hotel Warm Springs
Kah-Nee-Ta High Desert Resort And Casino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing