We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Staff, Aging Property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shilo Inn Suites - Warrenton
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Warrenton
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice Staff, Aging Property”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We were originally given the room (108?) right next to the breakfast room. No thanks. The lobby reservationist very kindly changed our room to the top floor, in the handicap room. She said it was the only one left. Although I was glad to get out of "traffic central," this room was smelly. The woman at the front desk said it wasn't used much, so she asked the staff to deodorize it, which helped for about an hour. On our second day they didn't deodorize it. I had asked them to change out the bedspread, hoping that would help. If it did, it wasn't noticeable. The elevator posters (from 1980's) boasts a restaurant. Turns out it's at another Shilo Inn, as the one at this location is now closed. We weren't acquainted with Shilo Inn as a chain, and found them to be on par with older La Quintas or less. This location isn't near much scenic. Google maps will show it's on a busy highway and near a local airport. If you're on a road trip, this would be fine. We were on a coastal vacation and we wouldn't choose this location if we could have found something closer to the coast. My husband commented that the only thing that salvaged this room was that it was on the corner of the building and we had two windows to air it out. Which it needed. Desperately. Plus side was that the lobby desk personnel were very nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DenverGal_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn Suites - Warrenton, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Dear DenverGal_12

I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. As you noted, the staff did their best to accommodate you with the limited space we had available during your stay. I know the owners are looking at a remodel, hopefully very soon. So check us out the next time you are in town.

Sincerely,

Elsbeth Kenoyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    53
    38
    25
    4
See reviews for
44
56
11
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Beaverton, Oregon, United States
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2013

My wife and I took our 8yr old daughter her friend there for the weekend. It is an excellent location and the rooms were nice and clean for the money. There is a sink and refrigerator in the room which was awesome for family snacks. The hotel is older, however the most important things (for families) were there; the rooms were clean (no bugs or stains/etc), there is a small pool in the lobby that is great for kids, staff was friendly and responsive. I didn't see any 'crazy' folks there which was also nice too. We got a room on the top facing the bay which was serene and quiet. Lots of birds/ducks for the kids to see. They have a continental breakfast in the morning till 9am which is great to feed the starving little ones. There is a chinese restaurant about 20yrds from the side door. I am usually scared by unknown Chinese restaurants, but this one had great food by the way! If you drink get a vodka tonic they don't skimp on the Vokda! Across the street is a Fred Meyer, Subway and a Starbucks.

Room Tip: Higher floors on the west side face the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn Suites - Warrenton, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Dear Ben P.

I am glad you and your family enjoyed our family friendly Shilo Inn here in Warrenton. The 24 hour pool is always a success with the kids and grown ups alike. Wildlife such as ducks, birds, otters or an occasional herd of elks make it an unexpected treat. Thanks again for choosing our Shilo Inn Warrenton.

Sincerely,

Elsbeth Kenoyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrenton, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

This was a relatively long-stay place for us while we relocated to the area, so we had a room with a kitchenette. The dishwasher and toaster made the kitchenette better than at some other places. Also, our room looked out on a slough thru some trees, so it was usually quite quiet and there was water fowl to watch.

Desk and housekeeping staff were all quite friendly and helpful. The breakfast is nothing special. As someone else noted, the place is stuck in the past in some ways, especially that ancient poster in the elevator! We didn't appreciate the close proximity of dogs in the hall a couple times and the barking we could sometimes hear. Also, the computer in the lobby, which we needed to use to print some things, never did work during our stay.

The location is convenient and much easier to negotiate than the many places in Astoria. However, perhaps because it's almost the only motel in town (the other is a dumpy place in Hammond), the rate increases for holidays are truly egregious even if the place does fill up in spite of them.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn Suites - Warrenton, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Dear AM

I am happy to hear that the entire staff was friendly and helpful throughout your long term stay. Indeed the business center was down for nearly a week due to a hard drive failure, however, all has been repaired since your last visit. We will see you again on your next visit to our great little town.

Sincerely,

Elsbeth Kenoyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Or
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We had a great stay at this Shilo. The location is convenient to parks, Astoria, and convenient shopping. Breakfast was good, many choices. Our room was clean and in good working order. Staff was friendly and helpful. Decor is dated, but everything is well maintained.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovegorillaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn Suites - Warrenton, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Dear Lovegorillaz

Thank you for the wonderful review on TripAdvisor. I am always happy to hear when guests acknowledge our wonderful staff and their efforts in such a public way. They all do their utmost best to provide excellent Shilo service at all times. Thanks again

Sincerely,

Elsbeth Kenoyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Shilo inn gets a bad rap sometimes, but we had a very large room, king bed at a great rate. We had fun in the pool and hot tub, which are both very clean! It may be an outdated decor but this staff keeps the place looking sharp. I have stayed in Shilo Inns since their first one was in Tacoma , 30 or so plus years ago. I have always liked the room layout. The staff here were great! I have been to other Shilo Inns where it's not so good. I would suggest if they did any upgrades in the near future to invest in new flat screen TVs. The old CRT TVs need to go. I used to work in Warrenton and still have lots of friends here and this hotel is my go to place to stay for my visits.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Bob Maxfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn Suites - Warrenton, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Dear Mr. Maxfield,

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay once again. Thank you for sharing your positive experience about the service our staff provides. The staff and I also appreciated that their hard work was noted. Again, Thank You for sharing. Hope to see you on your next visit to our Warrenton Shilo.

Sincerely,

Elsbeth Kenoyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Staff was very helpful; provided us with a baby bed, set it up, added blankets so it was padded better and put the sheets on it for us. The front desk clerk made recommendations for places to eat (EXCELLENT/HUGE egg rolls at the Chinese/American Restaurant in the same parking lot!) As for the decor ~ straight out of the 70's/80's... great view of the bay. The walls are paper thin so we heard the neighbors when they left their tv on all night.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn Suites - Warrenton, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Dear Laura W,

Thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor. I am happy to hear that your stay was enjoyable and our staff provided the excellent service Shilo is known for.
Hope you will visit us again soon.

Sincerely,

Elsbeth Kenoyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

The Staff were friendly and helpful. This place was very Kid friendly. They were knowledgeable of nearby food,drink and attractions. Our room had a great view of the bay ( beautiful!) They serve awesome continental breakfast from 5 a.m.-10 a.m. There is a Walgreens right next door which came in pretty handy. Nice clean indoor pool and weight room. The beds were clean and comfortable.Need extra anything?? No problem! Housekeeping is at your service super fast. We had a great time here.Just minutes from the Pacific Ocean. Very reasonable price. 2 queen room 99$.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor facing the parking lot. Great view from there.Really beautiful in the morni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank truesotrue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shilo I, General Manager at Shilo Inn Suites - Warrenton, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Dear truesotrue,

Thank you for the fabulous review for our Shilo Inn Warrenton on Tripadvisor. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff takes great pride in their work, so it’s great to see that their hard work is noticed and appreciated. Again, thanks for taking the time to post a review. Hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Elsbeth Kenoyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warrenton
2.2 mi away
Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel
2.7 mi away
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
Astoria Riverwalk Inn
#8 of 14 in Astoria
637 reviews
4.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Columbia River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria
2.9 mi away
Cannery Pier Hotel
Cannery Pier Hotel
#1 of 14 in Astoria
1,156 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shilo Inn Suites - Warrenton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shilo Inn Suites - Warrenton

Property: Shilo Inn Suites - Warrenton
Address: 1609 E Harbor Dr, Warrenton, OR 97146-9689
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Warrenton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Warrenton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shilo Inn Suites - Warrenton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shilo Inn Suites - Warrenton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilo Inn Suites - Astoria / Warrenton Hotel Warrenton
Shilo Inn Warrenton
Shilo Inn Hotel
Warrenton Shilo Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing